We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently during our California vacation because we had accumulated enough Starwood Preferred Guest points to receive 2 free nights; unfortunately, we were very underwhelmed with our stay.

On the plus side, the hotel has free Wi-Fi, and has a great location not too far off the freeway and right on Ventura Harbor. Our room was also fairly spacious.

Because Four Points hotels are the Starwood "discount" hotels, we didn't expect much in terms of room decor. However, we also didn't expect that paint would be peeling off the walls in the bathroom and the lower part of the door rotted away from water damage. We didn't care that our room was on the first floor near the lobby, but the walls/door were incredibly thin - we could hear so much noise coming from the lobby, guests walking through the hallway, and employees punching into an electronic keypad that we tried cramming towels under the door to block the sound (unfortunately this didn't work, and we had difficulty falling asleep at night and were woken up early each morning).

Additionally, the hotel doesn't have a modern heating and cooling system - instead each room (or our room at least) has a windowbox air conditioner/heater. Again, this wouldn't have been a big deal except that the thing sounded like a Mack Truck was going up a 45 degree incline right outside our window (this also made it difficult to sleep). Finally, if the air conditioner/heater sounded like a Mack Truck, the fan in the bathroom sounded like a 747 preparing for takeoff. Because of this, I inadvertently woke my wife up each morning while trying to use the facilities.

Also, be aware that the hotel charges $10 per day to park; this is pretty ridiculous considering that parking is not at a premium in Ventura - it's not like the hotel is located in a major metropolitan area.

It wasn't all bad though - the hotel did give us 1 free 16 oz bottle of water for the 2 days we stayed there, and also left us a small bottle of Heinz ketchup in the couch (we didn't take advantage of the last "gift").

Ultimately, if we ever make it back to Ventura we will not stay here again, even if we had enough Star Points to get free nights. In fact, we probably won't bother staying exclusively at Starwood hotels while we're on vacation anymore - if this is what we get for all of our points, we'd rather just skip the brand loyalty and go with whatever hotels offer the best deals.

Room Tip: Choose the Holiday Inn next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, we really appreciate you letting us know how your stay went as we constantly try to better ourselves. Needless to say I was disappointed with how your stay went and apologize that it did not go better. We are in the process of starting a complete remodel of all of our rooms as we too have noticed that our facilities are in great need of a little TLC and I apologize you found our rooms to be in disrepair. The air conditioning units, bathroom fans, fridges and all are going to be upgraded as part of this refurbishment. The first floor is very convenient for in and our access but it can be noisy, I am very sorry you found your room be this way and I hope if you stay with us again that you will notify the desk to put you on a quiet room on our third floor away any noises so you may have a more pleasant stay. Thank you again for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    104
    60
    26
    27
See reviews for
75
79
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is one of the better Four Points we have stayed at:
- great location right on the harbor in Ventura
- large rooms, all facing the harbor
- excellent management; they care about their visitors
- spotlessly clean rooms
- dining room on site, but you can also walk over to the wharf area
- convenient on/off Highway 101
We'll be back! An excellent property.

Room Tip: All face the water, but ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very friendly and personable staff! Rooms were clean and comfortable. This is a Catergory 2 hotel so it doesn't have all the finer amenities as the 4 or 5 hotels, i.e. plastic cups in bathroom to drink from (I prefer glass, what can I say!), built in soap, shampoo & conditioners in the shower/tub... Just there 2 nights and again, it was clean, close to the Harbor Village which was great fun strolling around looking with some great choices to dine at too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Four Points Ventura Harbor Resort is exceptional beyond words! The location on the Ventura Harbor is ideal: relaxing, idyllic and nearby to many local attractions. The ocean breezes and sunsets are magnificent! But the "location" is only in the top 2 or 3 of the best qualities of this hotel. #1 is the resort staff! They are friendly, welcoming, professional and always helpful. The front staff goes the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and answered all of my questions and requests in a sincerely helpful way. The rooms are extremely comfortable and most (all?) have a view of the harbor and/or ocean. My last stay was thoroughly memorable from check in to check out. I highly recommend this resort as it is a delightful respite and fabulous Starwood property in one of the prettiest parts of California!

Room Tip: higher floor (3rd) are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay on business. I booked a government rate and was in Room 336 with a view of the marina (over the parking area). All in all, I thought the hotel offered great value. Remember, it's a Category 2 Starwood. Don't expect fancy--because this hotel is not--but the room was spacious and very clean. Balcony was nice, even thought I couldn't find a light switch. Front desk staff were very nice, even calling me 10 minutes after I went upstairs to make sure the room was o.k. The room service breakfast was great for the price and would have easily cost double the price in any Westin. There is not much going on in the area but the little shopping village on the other side of the marina is a 15 minute walk and has enough choices for dinner or lunch. Free internet was nice as was the free coffee in the lobby. They gym was small but the equipment was modern. I've seen worse for the price. Not the Ritz Carlton by any stretch but well worth the price for a business or short family stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Four Points at Ventura Harbor. The staff greet you with a smile. Check in was easy and we were asked if there was anything we needed to make our stay more enjoyable. They have a nice bar area and serve local craft brews along with the normal fare. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a private balcony overlooking the harbor. Its a easy walk to the village and beach. I enjoyed my stay and will be back next time we visit Ventura.

Room Tip: Third floor has the best views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a great hotel in the Ventura Harbor area of Ventura, CA. The rooms were spacious, clean, and had everything we needed.
the front desk staff were freindly and informative. Room service was awesome for breakfast.
The Harbor Village shops and restaurants are just around the corner a short drive or nice walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Address: 1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on the Ventura Harbor, the Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor is nestled on 17 acres of prime coastal land along California's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor Hotel Ventura
4 Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Four Points Ventura Harbor
Ventura Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.