We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location; well-run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
708 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Fabulous location; well-run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is one of the better Four Points we have stayed at:
- great location right on the harbor in Ventura
- large rooms, all facing the harbor
- excellent management; they care about their visitors
- spotlessly clean rooms
- dining room on site, but you can also walk over to the wharf area
- convenient on/off Highway 101
We'll be back! An excellent property.

Room Tip: All face the water, but ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very friendly and personable staff! Rooms were clean and comfortable. This is a Catergory 2 hotel so it doesn't have all the finer amenities as the 4 or 5 hotels, i.e. plastic cups in bathroom to drink from (I prefer glass, what can I say!), built in soap, shampoo & conditioners in the shower/tub... Just there 2 nights and again, it was clean, close to the Harbor Village which was great fun strolling around looking with some great choices to dine at too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHANEOLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Four Points Ventura Harbor Resort is exceptional beyond words! The location on the Ventura Harbor is ideal: relaxing, idyllic and nearby to many local attractions. The ocean breezes and sunsets are magnificent! But the "location" is only in the top 2 or 3 of the best qualities of this hotel. #1 is the resort staff! They are friendly, welcoming, professional and always helpful. The front staff goes the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and answered all of my questions and requests in a sincerely helpful way. The rooms are extremely comfortable and most (all?) have a view of the harbor and/or ocean. My last stay was thoroughly memorable from check in to check out. I highly recommend this resort as it is a delightful respite and fabulous Starwood property in one of the prettiest parts of California!

Room Tip: higher floor (3rd) are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiKeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay on business. I booked a government rate and was in Room 336 with a view of the marina (over the parking area). All in all, I thought the hotel offered great value. Remember, it's a Category 2 Starwood. Don't expect fancy--because this hotel is not--but the room was spacious and very clean. Balcony was nice, even thought I couldn't find a light switch. Front desk staff were very nice, even calling me 10 minutes after I went upstairs to make sure the room was o.k. The room service breakfast was great for the price and would have easily cost double the price in any Westin. There is not much going on in the area but the little shopping village on the other side of the marina is a 15 minute walk and has enough choices for dinner or lunch. Free internet was nice as was the free coffee in the lobby. They gym was small but the equipment was modern. I've seen worse for the price. Not the Ritz Carlton by any stretch but well worth the price for a business or short family stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gringucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Four Points at Ventura Harbor. The staff greet you with a smile. Check in was easy and we were asked if there was anything we needed to make our stay more enjoyable. They have a nice bar area and serve local craft brews along with the normal fare. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a private balcony overlooking the harbor. Its a easy walk to the village and beach. I enjoyed my stay and will be back next time we visit Ventura.

Room Tip: Third floor has the best views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a great hotel in the Ventura Harbor area of Ventura, CA. The rooms were spacious, clean, and had everything we needed.
the front desk staff were freindly and informative. Room service was awesome for breakfast.
The Harbor Village shops and restaurants are just around the corner a short drive or nice walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwl1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your stay went! We appreciate the feedback, and the positive reinforcement is very helpful for our staff. When you come by again please let us know you're a returning guest and we'll do our best to get you in the best possible room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sheraton Ventura Harbor is in an extremely relaxing, beautiful location. The Ventura Harbor Village shops and restaurants are a relaxing walk away. The grounds of the hotel have a pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and bicycles to rent. Boats and kayaks are available for rent at the Harbor Village. There is a beach near the Harbor Village. Other restaurants, shops, and the downtown area are a bit of drive. The staff was friendly. The rooms are recently updated and clean. Being near the harbor the hotel does have some humidity issues.

Now to the quirks that need tweaking.

We were checking in and the clerk asked us if we wanted the "green" option for our room. She explained that the green option was where our room would not be cleaned or restocked unless we specifically asked for housekeeping or items we needed. My husband and I looked at each other in disbelief and almost started laughing at the absurdity. My thoughts were "Have they got a deal for us (sarcasm)" and "Are we staying at a youth hostel?" I found the "green" option pretty tacky. Don't try to sell me on a "green" option which is actually the hotel trying to cut the bottom line. I am perfectly capable of leaving the towels I don't need washed hanging on the racks and putting the "please change the sheets" sign on the bed. Do not expect me to have to call for housekeeping service or restock of shampoo and soap.

The parking. A major complaint from patrons as I see from the reviews. We paid $10 a day for parking. We are not talking a motel in the center of Manhattan or Tokyo where parking space real estate goes for premium prices. The clincher was when we came back to the hotel in the evening and there were no spaces because of a "Business Expo" being held at the hotel. We had to park quite a ways away from the hotel. As we crossed the parking lot I noticed none of the cars had a "parking permit" on their dash indicating they had not paid the $10 fee. We stopped at the front desk to complain about no parking. The clerk apologized and said they had an event at the hotel hence the lack of parking. So, I asked, why don't any of the cars attending said event have a parking permit. Her response was, "Well they aren't staying at the hotel." My immediate response (and I admit it was sarcastic) was, again, "Have we got a deal for you." They did credit our parking for the day.

I won't say that we will never stay here again as it is a gorgeous location with the relaxing harbor but we will look at other options after the "Have we got a deal for you" incidents.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desertescapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear desertescapee,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy you liked our location and were comfortable. It was unfortunate you here during such a busy time. We do have many large groups for weddings, parties and conferences. We only charge for overnight parking so that the parking is available to our guests only. That way we know that we are taking care of our guests and their security. We did not fully communicate that or the reason for Green Choice. Green Choice is a Sheraton (not just Four Points) Program. A Guest receives SPG points or Restaurant Credits for choosing green Choice. They can also decide to only use Green Choice one day or their whole stay. It is up to the Guest and is very popular.
Again, thank you for your comments. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
1.5 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#4 of 21 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 21 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Address: 1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on the Ventura Harbor, the Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor is nestled on 17 acres of prime coastal land along California's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Four Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor Hotel Ventura
Four Points Ventura Harbor
Ventura Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing