We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
City of Angels
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Just Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

1st: Although the bed was comfortable, the room's physical condition was shabby (see photos): the tiles were coming off the wall, the bathroom light had gaps around it in the ceiling, the wallpaper was coming off in several places, there was paint & wallpaper glue all over the frame of the sliding glass door.

2nd: Garden view (see photos)? Um, just a view of the bushes across the front of the patio.

3rd: Amenities (see photos)? 1 bottle of water for 2 adult guests, two awful teabags, Coffeemate. I had to ask for more water & there was a hesitancy before they agreed to give us more.

4th: The restaurant prices are very expensive. Room service charges not only a $3.00 delivery charge but an 18% gratuity on top of that! So a $2.50 glass of milk is over $6.00.

5th: Staff (My experience for 5 different stays); Restaurant staff are really the BEST, always kind & more than helpful, HOWEVER the Front desk staff talk down to people in a forced & phony honey laden voice, and are the Rudest ever.... The managers are also Rude, uncaring & uncompromising so this is obviously a trickle down effect!

6th: THEY CHARGE $10 Per Night for PARKING! There is no lack of spaces, there is no key controlled entry or exit (so if you lie, you get free parking)! The young gal @ the Front Desk said to my query: "Well its there with the directions & maps"... Since I don't need directions or a map, I missed that or I would have parked on the street! But the Morning Front Desk gal removed the fee.

7th: Your "SPG" point expire every 18 months? So why have them? They had no record of any of my 5 stays....

8th: I submitted my review (sans bad words) and it was rejected: "A reference to a hotel other than the one being reviewed – this may include other Starwood-branded hotels locally or globally." I stated: "I originally came here for two conferences".....

Bottom Line? Don't bother to waste your money.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Auntie-Nanuuq,
Thank you reviewing our property after your recent stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations for comfort or for service. Our staff wants to be the best example of customer service and we do appreciate your concerns. We are always upgrading and maintaining our property so that we can assure guest comfort. I am sorry that your previous stays were not found. During conferences the rooms are registered to a primary member of the group in each room, and then roommates. Always make sure that the room is registered to you so that you can claim the SPG Benefit and history. As a frequent guest to our hotel, it is especially unhappy to learn you were dissatified. I hope you continue to love to travel and have many enjoyable stays. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    110
    62
    27
    27
See reviews for
76
81
16
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

In a few experiencies of the L A area, I have to accept that rundown is the norm. The only "upgrade" to this property is the great staff. Located between town and the harbor(niether close), this is a high priced stay for the area. If you dont mind plugging in every appliance, light, and outlet, these are large and clean rooms. However, the latest upgrade was, I guess, 1980. I think this property exist by the Sheraton name only.

Room Tip: Stay at the Holiday Inn next door. It is less $, closer to the harbor, and more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear pat c,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our property. I was very sorry that we did not meet your expectations for your comfort. We did do a complete renovation in 2008, and are continually upgrading. If you are ever in our area again, please let me know. We would do our best to make it up to you. Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Four Points Ventura several times while traveling for business. The hotel itself is basic, nothing very fancy, consistent with its pricing. Rooms are nice size but without frills. Bath/shower are fiberglass inserts, common for midline hotels, TV isn't terribly large, etc. With that said, the rooms are extremely well taken care of -- very clean, well stocked and everything works. Wifi hooks up easily and is fast. Bedsheets and towels are all high grade. The location is very nice, just on the north end of Ventura and adjacent to the harbor. Fresh air and nice views.

What really stands out is the staff. The front desk folks are extremely friendly, joke around a bit, and get things quickly set up. Once in the room, you get a follow up phone call to make sure everything is the way you want it. You never get those blank stares or pauses as though the staff are tired of dealing with the public. Just the opposite -- they seem to take great pride in their property and want to make for an excellent experience. This even extends to the housekeeping service. Clean up is fast, and everything is replenished. Quick example: there's a selection of teas at the in room coffee maker. One night I brewed a specific kind of tea. The next day the housekeepers replenished the tea, and added extra bags of the particular tea I used. Now that's attention to detail! The manager of this hotel could run a clinic teaching other hotels how to treat their customers. Seriously.

Anyway, when traveling through Ventura, I will never hesitate to stay here. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear gmansc,
Thank you from our staff for your review of our property. We do care about our guests and the service we can provide to the many wonderful travelers who stay with us. It is very special to know that you noticed the extra touches. Thank you, of course, for your full review. All your comments were important to us. Happy Traveling. Come see us soon. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I can't comment on price - I am a rewards member and booked this hotel on points.

We were very happy with the accommodations and the staff at this hotel. Our room faced the marina (over a couple parking lots) and was clean and spacious. Our king bed was comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was refreshed, clean and had all the supplies we could want.

This size room is definitely big enough for a couple or a couple with a small child.
It is close to the marina and a few miles from the pier and downtown Ventura. We quite enjoyed walking along the strand in the mornings - there is parking at the pier for $2 or if you can find parking off pierpont (residential area) and it is about a mile walk to the pier - a lovely park is right there too.

This hotel is a bit older - not sure how it qualifies as a resort - but it does have a pool and a small gym. All in all this is a fine place to rest your head for a couple of days and the staff is friendly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear ErikaLosAngeles,
Thank you for taking the time to give our property such a thoughtful review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. We follow all our reviews and try to listen carefully to our guests. We think of our guests as family and appreciate it when a guest shares their stay. Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, e and not pricey at all. Excellent service, wonderful amenities but did not know about the parking fee. Kinda should be in the booking fees. The breakfast was yummy. Close to Harbor Village and a very knowledgeable staff who had some really good suggestions. Loved the balconey, the Hot Tub and the wonderfully manicured grounds

Room Tip: Cant speak for any room but our own. It was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear SybilleW,
Thank you for your great review after your 'Girl's Weekend'. You have a wonderful way of expressing yourself. I could feel your appreciation of your special weekend. I hope you have many more with many more terrific memories. Don't forget to take pictures! Happy Vacations!
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason93308@aol.com
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. The pool is walk right in warm. The jacuzzi dome is cool. The view of the harbor is nice. Over all I would recommend this place to all. They do charge $10 for parking which I think parking should come with all rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear iskidily-odo,
Thank you for your review of your stay at our property. I am sorry that we couldn't accommodate another night for you. It is always wonderful to tell the staff that we made someone so comfortable they wanted to stay again. Come and see us again and please stop by to say hello.
Happy Traveling. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just stayed here for MLK weekend. This is our go to spot in Ventura. Great location in between Downtown Ventura and Oxnard. Easy scenic non freeway drive to downtown. it's also right near Ventura Harbor.

Pet friendly with well manicured grassy area for dog walking. Great amenities (tennis courts, basketball courts, pool and jacuzzi). Hotel was full but never felt crowded. Got a great rate $112/night but self parking is an extra $10 overnight, no problem finding a spot in the outdoor open lot but given lot is not really "secured" or a structure, feel the parking fee is just excessive. Got wifi internet for free. No other acknowledgement of Gold Preferred status and no late checkout (not even 1 hour). Staff was efficient but not as friendly as in my past stays.

Room on the third floor was quiet, spacious and remodeled, with large bathroom with tub. The main room had a desk, a full sized couch and full sized coffee table, and a mini fridge that is empty so you can put your own groceries inside. Very much enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor room in main lobby building can be noisy in the weekend (near bar and conference rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Address: 1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on the Ventura Harbor, the Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor is nestled on 17 acres of prime coastal land along California's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor Hotel Ventura
4 Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Four Points Ventura Harbor
Ventura Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.