We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiest hour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar

Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar
1559 Spinnaker Dr, Suite 200, Ventura, CA 93001
805-639-0865
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 337 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a casual seafood house that is located right on the dock in the Ventura & Santa Barbara Harbor. You'll find a bustling scene of fisherman, young professionals and sand-sprinkled beach-goers nearly every night of the week at these true-blue waterfront institution. Dungeness crab cocktail, oysters on the half-shell and fried shrimp round out the "small" menu offerings. Fresh fish specials, such as grilled white sea bass from local waters, mahi mahi dusted in Cajun spices and pan-blackened local yellowtail, are highlights on the "long" menu. No matter what, libations are always in order at this locals' favorite gathering place. Everyone is welcome at Brophy's, hope to see you soon.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happiest hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The happy hour prices and food are great and can't forget the drinks. I highly recommend the Garlic baked clams, they were delicious! I would say there are no complaints about Brophy Bros. but you must get there early since happy hour is only at the bar area. If you can make it before 5pm you're more than likely to get a chair, otherwise first come, first serve.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    131
    45
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Bland is the best I can say about the food, but the staff was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went based on a referral and were not impressed. It wasn't bad, but can't say much about the food that would be good. The plus side: servers were very friendly and efficient. Ambiance is very nice, on the water, casual, but classy. And, they had very good music playing. Now for what we go to restaurants for - the food. Bland on all fronts. I had the fish sandwich - not bad, just blah. The tarter sauce was like eating mayo. The coleslaw tasted better after i added salt, pepper, lemon and Tabasco. I asked for extra crispy fries but got tough fries that were like potato jerky. My husband had the mahi mahi. The fish was tender, well cooked and bland. The mango salsa was to spicy and over powered the fish. The rice was flavorful, but cold. He also had the chowder and it was rich and creamy. The only plus in the meal. Living in Southern Californian, I fortunately have access to go seafood and this just won't rate up there with any place to recommend or return too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I ate at Brophy Bros. on Tuesday March 26th. This is a boisterous restaurant with what seemed like a mostly local crowd. The clam chowder was outstanding and the seafood was excellent quality and well prepared. We wish we were not tourists and had a place like this back home! Great food and fair pricing. I would return if in the area again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ate dinner here on a Friday night. Very crowded, but well worth the short wait for a table. Ordered the swordfish and my husband ordered the white sea bass. Wonderful! Reasonably priced for great seafood. Will eat here again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quintessential California views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the spot to go to for a quintessential California coastal lunch or dinner. It is in the marina with a lovely patio and nice bar. The clam chowder, fresh fish sandwiches and the shrimp/crab salads are all lovely!
If you are just in Ventura for a day trip or are passing through - check this spot out for lunch!

Jimmy was at the bar and took good care of us and made some to-do/to-eat suggestions.

My only fair warning - $3 charge for avocado - yup we spent $6 on an avocado. It was a lovely avocado - but whoops.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar also viewed

 

Been to Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.