We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clam Chowder Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar

Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar
1559 Spinnaker Dr, Suite 200, Ventura, CA 93001
805-639-0865
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 389 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a casual seafood house that is located right on the dock in the Ventura & Santa Barbara Harbor. You'll find a bustling scene of fisherman, young professionals and sand-sprinkled beach-goers nearly every night of the week at these true-blue waterfront institution. Dungeness crab cocktail, oysters on the half-shell and fried shrimp round out the "small" menu offerings. Fresh fish specials, such as grilled white sea bass from local waters, mahi mahi dusted in Cajun spices and pan-blackened local yellowtail, are highlights on the "long" menu. No matter what, libations are always in order at this locals' favorite gathering place. Everyone is welcome at Brophy's, hope to see you soon.
Chardon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I ate at Brophy Bros. on Tuesday March 26th. This is a boisterous restaurant with what seemed like a mostly local crowd. The clam chowder was outstanding and the seafood was excellent quality and well prepared. We wish we were not tourists and had a place like this back home! Great food and fair pricing. I would return if in the area again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    110
    35
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ate dinner here on a Friday night. Very crowded, but well worth the short wait for a table. Ordered the swordfish and my husband ordered the white sea bass. Wonderful! Reasonably priced for great seafood. Will eat here again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quintessential California views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the spot to go to for a quintessential California coastal lunch or dinner. It is in the marina with a lovely patio and nice bar. The clam chowder, fresh fish sandwiches and the shrimp/crab salads are all lovely!
If you are just in Ventura for a day trip or are passing through - check this spot out for lunch!

Jimmy was at the bar and took good care of us and made some to-do/to-eat suggestions.

My only fair warning - $3 charge for avocado - yup we spent $6 on an avocado. It was a lovely avocado - but whoops.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun place at the harbor with good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I would have to rate Brophy Bros. "Very good" for the overall experience. Even from below the stairs leading up to the restaurant one can hear the sounds of the crowd urging you on. You might have to wait a bit for a table as this is a very busy place, We were fortunate to find two seats at the end of the bar, where we watched mussels, clams, shrimp and oysters being prepared -- a show in itself. The server was accommodating in offering us tastes of wine before we made our final selection -- always appreciated., Soup or salad accompany the dinner, and the salad is enough for two to share. One of us had sea bass and the other seafood pasta. The pasta was delicately dressed with white wine, garlic, lemon and basil . . .none of which overpowered the scallops and shrimp. There was a lingering desire to have ordered the cioppino so that many fish flavors could be enjoyed. Next time! There is a large deck on the harbor side; and sitting at the high seats at the bar made it possible to see the harbor. I would definitely return to this restaurant next time I visit Ventura. Wish they had one in the Seattle area!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good dinner with a great harbor view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Enjoyed a Caesar salad with a very tasty seafood pasta. The setting was comfortable with a harbor view; the service was good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar also viewed

 

Been to Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.