We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clam Chowder Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar

Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar
1559 Spinnaker Dr, Suite 200, Ventura, CA 93001
805-639-0865
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 345 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a casual seafood house that is located right on the dock in the Ventura & Santa Barbara Harbor. You'll find a bustling scene of fisherman, young professionals and sand-sprinkled beach-goers nearly every night of the week at these true-blue waterfront institution. Dungeness crab cocktail, oysters on the half-shell and fried shrimp round out the "small" menu offerings. Fresh fish specials, such as grilled white sea bass from local waters, mahi mahi dusted in Cajun spices and pan-blackened local yellowtail, are highlights on the "long" menu. No matter what, libations are always in order at this locals' favorite gathering place. Everyone is welcome at Brophy's, hope to see you soon.
Chardon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I ate at Brophy Bros. on Tuesday March 26th. This is a boisterous restaurant with what seemed like a mostly local crowd. The clam chowder was outstanding and the seafood was excellent quality and well prepared. We wish we were not tourists and had a place like this back home! Great food and fair pricing. I would return if in the area again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank noland-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ate dinner here on a Friday night. Very crowded, but well worth the short wait for a table. Ordered the swordfish and my husband ordered the white sea bass. Wonderful! Reasonably priced for great seafood. Will eat here again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BMWJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quintessential California views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the spot to go to for a quintessential California coastal lunch or dinner. It is in the marina with a lovely patio and nice bar. The clam chowder, fresh fish sandwiches and the shrimp/crab salads are all lovely!
If you are just in Ventura for a day trip or are passing through - check this spot out for lunch!

Jimmy was at the bar and took good care of us and made some to-do/to-eat suggestions.

My only fair warning - $3 charge for avocado - yup we spent $6 on an avocado. It was a lovely avocado - but whoops.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErikaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun place at the harbor with good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I would have to rate Brophy Bros. "Very good" for the overall experience. Even from below the stairs leading up to the restaurant one can hear the sounds of the crowd urging you on. You might have to wait a bit for a table as this is a very busy place, We were fortunate to find two seats at the end of the bar, where we watched mussels, clams, shrimp and oysters being prepared -- a show in itself. The server was accommodating in offering us tastes of wine before we made our final selection -- always appreciated., Soup or salad accompany the dinner, and the salad is enough for two to share. One of us had sea bass and the other seafood pasta. The pasta was delicately dressed with white wine, garlic, lemon and basil . . .none of which overpowered the scallops and shrimp. There was a lingering desire to have ordered the cioppino so that many fish flavors could be enjoyed. Next time! There is a large deck on the harbor side; and sitting at the high seats at the bar made it possible to see the harbor. I would definitely return to this restaurant next time I visit Ventura. Wish they had one in the Seattle area!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover_12203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good dinner with a great harbor view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Enjoyed a Caesar salad with a very tasty seafood pasta. The setting was comfortable with a harbor view; the service was good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky15-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar also viewed

 

Been to Brophy Bros. Seafood Restaurant & Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing