We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but over crowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Steakhouse

Aloha Steakhouse
364 S California St, Ventura, CA 93001-2824
805-652-1799
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aloha Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 379 restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Harbor Blvd.
Transit: Amtrak stop is at Fairgrounds, approximately 1/2 mi north of Aloha Steakhouse.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good but over crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

decent meal but tables were too close to each other so as to gain maximum revenue and disregarding customer satisfaction

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    52
    42
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“California Essence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Call ahead to the Ventura location and reserve a patio table. The pier, Surfer's Point, sunsets to die for, all part of why we live in SoCal. Oh yeah and the food is really good. The staff have all been there a long time and know their products really well. Steaks are as good as they get (teriyaki baseball? Yummy). Crusted fish are the best around Ventura. And if you overindulge the hotel is steps away.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big Kahuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have a week spot for this place. I love the prime rib. I was disappointed that they took the Big Kahuna cut off the menu.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Aloha is ono (THE BEST)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant is the perfect restaurant for a birthday, anniversary, or just a nice dinner out. The location next to the beach (park in the parking structure at the south (beach) end of California Street. Every time I have eaten at Aloha, my food has been delicious, drinks tasty, service flawless, and the atmosphere: beautiful! They recently expanded the dining area and moved the bar area into the area next door (still part of the space). Our server Claudette was attentive, friendly and helpful. I had the macadamia nut encrusted fresh salmon (way more delicious than any fish I've ever had) and my friend enjoyed his mahi mahi prepared with the macadamia nut encrusting also. We shared the aloha pie; tooo yummy to leave any on the plate. The only disappointment (and don't let this stop you from dining at Aloha) is that the women's restroom is BORING! Compared the beauty of the rest of the restaurant (creatively used mahogany, decorative glasswork, ocean artwork, etc.), the restroom needs the aloha treatment. I can imagine a sand-looking corian counter, shell-shaped sink, and an ocean-themed mural (like murals at the Victoria Avenue Trader Joes perhaps?). Aside from that, this restaurant exemplifies Aloha!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Long waits on Saturday for dinner without reservation, BUT you can eat in the bar and it was quick and great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had the seared Ahi which was fantastic! My business partner had Mahi Mahi. We both loved our food. Drinks are really good here too and they have an excellent selection. Would have preferred a table, but it was a 2 hour wait without reservation on Saturday so I recommend reservations. We just ate in their bar and it was good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloha Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.