We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place should be shut down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelers Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Travelers Beach Inn to your Saves list
Travelers Beach Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelers Beach Inn
929 East Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 hotels in Ventura
oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This place should be shut down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

My husband and I flew from Oregon to attend our Aunt's Funeral and we were turned down by several hotels because of the State Fair,so when we finally found this one,we were relieved to find out they had a room.We paid for 3 nights but we were told that our room would not be ready for an hour so we left to be with family.When we returned it was about 11:30pm we grabbed our bags and TRIED to walk upstairs to our room however it appears that families actually live there and we were stopped at the middle of the stairs by this group of people who would not allow us to pass,they were staring us down as if to intimidate us we finally were ALLOWED to pass,we opened our door and the odor about knocked us off the balcony! We were so tired and exausted that we just proceded to ignore the smell,we put our bags down and looked around, the bathroom was disgusting the shower was covered in grime and rust the toilet was so dirty I put toilet paper down before I used it! We went ahead and tried to sleep but the other patrons kept us up until 3am yelling,blasting their music,slamming doors,etc We finally fell asleep and woke up around 7am And I was in tears I could not spend another night in this DUMP we tried to get someone to come to the window so we could return the key but no one would answer th bell And thats when we saw the sign on the outside window thats off to the side of the office door that says NO REFUNDS! At that point we were so angry we left and found another room on the beach at the Comfort Inn it was great! So travelers beware this place sucks and later on in our stay, I was told it is known as "THE HOOKER MOTEL" that explained everything!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    7
    1
    15
See reviews for
1
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lv
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

This place was sketchy from the time we pulled in. Let me start with the room, it was dirty, there were shoe prints all over the wall and door where it looked like someone was trying to hold the door from someone trying to break in. The sink didn't work, there was a bloody palm print on the back of the door. The room in all was disgusting. I saw a drug transaction take place as well as hookers being picked up at the store across the street and heading back to the hotel. This is a place where local drug dealers and hookers live full time. But what REALLY took the cake was the crash we heard at 6:30 am, we later found out that a lady jumped out the window to avoid harm. There was blood on the curtain, window and wall. Avoid this place if you value your life.


  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

IT was late at night and I needed a cheap room. I figured anything would do, and since it was right by the beach I thought it wouldn't be that bad. This is what I saw and heard while at the motel: scruffy and noisy little children running around and biking, women with tattoos and one missing front teeth, a man on a bike with plastic bags full of aluminum cans, loud music and loud vehicles. And the thing is that these people all LIVE HERE! My room was a basic motel room, but walk outside and it's awful. There is a sign in the office that reads "No Refunds". No kidding...you don'[t need to wonder why that is posted.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

I totally enjoyed my stay at this motel - the manager was very nice, totally reasonable and upfront, and my room was big, simple and clean. Great cable TV too.

Things you should probably know about this hotel: the clientele is a little bit lowbrow, and it can get noisy. I slept fine on Thursday night but needed earplugs for the weekend.

That being said, if you want a very cheap stay in Ventura with no frills but nice management, this was a great place, and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelers Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Beach Inn

Address: 929 East Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelers Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Beach Hotel Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelers Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.