We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Pool and $10 parking fee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1080 Navigator Drive, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Pool and $10 parking fee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very old building. Almost falling apart. Exterior corridors that you wouldn't feel safe. They charge $10 for parking. I stay at a Holiday inn exress every month. This one is the weirdest. We had to walk 20 minutes to a hotel next door to use the swimming pool. Desk agents could not fimd my reservation because they misspelled my name 5 times and made 3 different reservations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear goktug a,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Needless to say I was very saddened by your most recent stay with us. We are currently in the final stages of negotiations with the city, on expanding and renovating our hotel. I definitely understand that it is an inconvenience to be asked to walk 5 minutes to the other hotel on our property, to use the pool. Part of our renovation and expansion will be a Pool, Jacuzzi and Fitness Center that will be on our half of the property and will be for our guests only. We have overnight security that patrols our hotel and parking lot therefore keeping our hotel very safe. We hope that you will give us a second chance in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    87
    29
    25
    12
See reviews for
42
83
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is an average hotel - not outstanding, not bad. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom and the room were large. The AC worked well. The breakfast was an adequate fast-food type fare - pre-cooked omelets with Velveeta cheese, pancakes made by a machine - that sort of thing. The location is right by the Harbor Village - close to restaurants and the Channel Islands cruise boats. It's a quiet location and I didn't have any problems with the smells that others complained of. However, we kept our balcony door closed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Convenient Location,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very glad that you were able to get a good night's sleep and that you loved the bed. A lot of guests love our quick breakfast that we provide, especially our cinnamon buns. I am sorry that it was subpar during your stay. I have passed your comments on to our staff and we are working on trying to fix them. We hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Overall, we enjoyed our stay; the staff was excellent. However, we do have some suggestions. Our harbor view that we paid extra for was blocked bya tree. Breakfast room should remain open at all times so that small groups could meet and plan their activities or have pizza dinners together. Spaces in parking lot are small and made for compacts only. The pool is located at the hotel next door and not convenient for families with small children or older adults.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear DADouty,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately our breakfast room is open for breakfast only but we do have a large outside patio, with fireplace that anyone may use as long as it's not already occupied by a funtion. We are currently in the final stages of negotiations with the city to expand our property. In the expansion we will have our our pool so our guests don't have to walk to the otherside of the property to swim.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

These are NOT suites with a separate room, though they told us it would be when we booked... they are a normal sized hotel room with one bed and a couch where the second bed usually is. We have a baby and having a separate room was key to getting him a nap. They also told us there would be a crib available in our room and there wasn't. Our family stayed at a nearby hotel for less than half the price that was just as nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Hungry1197,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that the hotel room types were not explained properly to you. We do not have any 2 room suites in our hotel just larger rooms. Cribs are available upon request only and are not in the rooms already. I am very sorry that you were given missinformation upon booking with us. I have spoken to the front desk staff so that a situation of this nature doesn' t occur again.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you'll give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked a room for three as we had booked a Channel Island excursion and wanted a hotel that fit our price point and location criteria. I booked a room that slept four- king bed, pull out sofa, shared bathroom- better be good friends! There was an up charge for the extra person( per night) and a $10 dollar a day parking fee. The up charge for the extra person was explained to me upon booking. The parking fee was a surprise. The hotel is located right on the harbor with a large, open parking lot, so I felt this was a "gougie" kind of charge. Breakfast comes with the room. And it is exceptional. Be advised, however, if you are doing an excursion on the weekend, the breakfast room opens at 7am, not 6:30. They let us into the area at 6:30 and we were able to have cold cereal before heading off to the boat. All that said, this is a Holiday Inn and you know what you are booking. The price and location were great and they readily accommodated our need for an earlier breakfast. The staff was very helpful and the room though a bit tired, was clean. My experience was positive and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor harbor view...no noise..great view...small balcony to dry beach stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Hipandhopping,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that you had a great time and that you enjoyed our breakfast. I am very sorry that the parking charge was not explained to you upon booking the hotel. We charge for parking because we have security that patrols our parking lot throughout the night. This review has been gone over with the reservation staff so that we make sure to tell everyone about the parking prior to the guest arriving at the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is being renovated. I knew that going into it- I read the reviews. But I wasn't prepared to be awakened at 6 AM by a faulty alarm. It was pretty jarring!!
The carpets in the room were disgusting. Even though they looked clean, they felt very dirty. The room was OK - some little spots where there was no paint or wallpaper- I guess that is why they are renovating.
Breakfast was OK - lots of carbs. Not as good as Hampton Inn.
But they did give me a discount for having to suffer through the renovations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear DRR28,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding the situation of the hotel. We are under going renovations to make your future stay more comfortable and pleasurable. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

They were remodeling and it was a mess. No attempt to clean away some of the debris in the hallway that we had to walk through. No apology for the mess either. Used foodtray left in the hallway.
The little courtyard was a nice idea, except it had not been cared for. All there was, were weeds.
TV in the room did not work properly.
We were charged $10 for parking and I found a additional $2.50 charge on my credit card without explanation.
The room charge was in the high range for the poorest customer service we have had in any Holiday Inn Express and we have been in quite a few. Member PC 204740405.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Christian K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that we were under heavy construction while you were staying here. We do charge for parking because we have security that patrols the parking lot throughout the night. As for your $2.50 charge, we looked into it and it was the charge for the large water bottle in the room. We are crediting the charge back to your account.

We do value your loyalty and hope that you'll give us another chance in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Address: 1080 Navigator Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.