We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1080 Navigator Drive, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Pasadena CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Well landscaped hotel has a good location between farm fields (and a road) on one side and the small boat harbor on the other.

My room was large, with a sofa, comfortable bedding, excellent shower, good bath amenities and an unused space which apparently is for opening up the sofa bed. As promised, it had a harbor view, and even better, a large private balcony with two chairs. Very nice to sit on in the morning. Beyond the boats in the harbor one can see the ocean and the coastal mountains in the distance.

My room was quiet because it faced the quieter side of the hotel.

Service was friendly and competent.

Breakfast room has a silly design, a rather narrow room with one window which does not take advantage of the hotel's view. The open air sitting area next to that is not pleasant or comfortable. If I were the hotel's owner I would redesign these areas.

All in all, a nice place to which I would like to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Peter_Smallhill,
Thank you for your review of our property and staff. It is always so helpful to have someone give us not only their review but suggestions for improvement. We are planning an expansion of our property and we do want to expand and redesign the breakfast room. I hope you have many wonderful adventures and safe travel.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Relations Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    79
    25
    22
    11
See reviews for
39
73
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July and October of 2012 and both times were very pleased with the hotel's service and amenities. All rooms have balconies overlooking the marina, a lovely view on a clear day. The rooms are large, and the bathrooms have a nice shower-tub combo with a good-sized shower head. Our request for a top-floor room was honored both times, and we were never bothered by noise. The breakfast is fine (love the cinnamon rolls) and would be even better if those every-other-day prefab omelets were taken off the menu. The mattress could have been a little more comfortable, but aside from the omelets, that's our only complaint. We love the location--it's such a peaceful area, and we enjoyed walking to Ventura Harbor Village every evening for dinner. Happy hour at the Greek restaurant begins at 2:00 p.m. and is a fantastic deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Taos_NewMexicoBeth,
Thank you for your lovely and thoughtful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stays with us. We are always trying to improve our service and I will relay your comments to all staff. I love the Greek Restaurant too. It has been a favorite place for many years. Good food and lots of fun.
Come and see us again. Happy Traveling.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the second trip to Ventura this year and both times we have stayed here, but it is definitely time for some major improvements. Obviously the place cannot help its location just across the road from what appears to be a strawberry farm. The very strong odor from the fertilizer used is a huge turnoff. The rooms are clean, but just badly dated and in need of new furniture and carpeting. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating and the breakfast is standard HIE. It's just that the building doesn't seem to be cared for and it may well be time for a gutting and remodeling. As noted in another comment, they now charge $10 a night to park...ridiculous in view of the amount of parking available. Please HIE, get rid of the parking fee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear candirisk,
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. This is such a wonderful area to relax and enjoy. I am happy we were able to surprise you and yet disappointed we let you down. We will keep working to be the best place to stay. Happy Traveling.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The frozen, fake "omelet" they provided was just terrible. I doubt there was any real egg or cheese in it - texture and taste was awful. I expect more out of Holiday Inn. They've tacked on a $10/night parking fee since the last time I stayed here. I will look for a different hotel next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Joel W,
We were so sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your review of our property. We try to provide the most comfortable and convenient stay for our guests. I will discuss your comments with our staff.
We have had a parking fee for over a year now so that we can provide guests a secure parking area. Being so close to the beach areas, it became a necessity.
Happy Traveling.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We were surprised and pleased to have been given a suite complete with kitchenette. As we were in a downstairs room the patio was tiny and faced a blank wall but the room was big enough so the patio wasn't needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The walk to the swimming pool next door wasn't a problem. Breakfast was the usual HIE, much better than in many other US chains. Would stay there again. $10 for parking seems a bit excessive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear PSkids,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and that you appreciated Rae Ann and Carmen. We try to make sure our guests are welcome and comfortable. You are special to us. I will pass on your compliments. Happy Traveling. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express at the Ventura Harbor is a great place to stay.
I come to Ventura for business and have stay at many hotels. The rooms are clean and have all the up grades. It is better then the Crown Plaza ( It is old and does not even have flat screen TV's)
When you check in, they greet you with smiles and are very helpful! Carmen and Ree-Ann make sure that your room is nice and accommodating to my needs. Kudo"s to them and the Hotel!

Room Tip: Nice to have a Harbor view
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Barbara H,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to our property. I am glad you enjoyed the area and dining. It is a great harbor area and has so much to offer for adventure and relaxation. The sunset views can be amazing. We do have a parking fee. Beach parking is at a premium with so many areas of activity near by, we have to insure it is open and available to our guests only. Come and visit us again. Happy Traveling. Catherine Stevens, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very comfortable room for our one night in Ventura. I chose this centre as it was further north of LA & on our way up the coast. Loved the view of the harbour, especially watching the sunset from the deck. Large bathroom was a plus also. We had a car & I must say I was surprised to have to pay for the parking - didn't even have to do that in downtown San Francisco. Pleasant place to stay. Had dinner at the Harbour restaurant which was an easy choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Barbara H,
Thank you for telling us sbout your stay in Ventura at our property. We have a great beach town and we love our Harbor, So many people are surprised we have so many attractions and things to do, but as you said, it is a great stopping off point as well. I Hope you will visit us again. Our beach parking is at a premium and we do have to make sure our parking lot is for guests only. I am sorry you did not know we charged for parking. Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Ventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Address: 1080 Navigator Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.