We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIE Ventura - Time for a Facelift” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1080 Navigator Drive, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“HIE Ventura - Time for a Facelift”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the second trip to Ventura this year and both times we have stayed here, but it is definitely time for some major improvements. Obviously the place cannot help its location just across the road from what appears to be a strawberry farm. The very strong odor from the fertilizer used is a huge turnoff. The rooms are clean, but just badly dated and in need of new furniture and carpeting. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating and the breakfast is standard HIE. It's just that the building doesn't seem to be cared for and it may well be time for a gutting and remodeling. As noted in another comment, they now charge $10 a night to park...ridiculous in view of the amount of parking available. Please HIE, get rid of the parking fee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear candirisk,
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. This is such a wonderful area to relax and enjoy. I am happy we were able to surprise you and yet disappointed we let you down. We will keep working to be the best place to stay. Happy Traveling.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    87
    29
    25
    12
See reviews for
42
83
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The frozen, fake "omelet" they provided was just terrible. I doubt there was any real egg or cheese in it - texture and taste was awful. I expect more out of Holiday Inn. They've tacked on a $10/night parking fee since the last time I stayed here. I will look for a different hotel next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Joel W,
We were so sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your review of our property. We try to provide the most comfortable and convenient stay for our guests. I will discuss your comments with our staff.
We have had a parking fee for over a year now so that we can provide guests a secure parking area. Being so close to the beach areas, it became a necessity.
Happy Traveling.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We were surprised and pleased to have been given a suite complete with kitchenette. As we were in a downstairs room the patio was tiny and faced a blank wall but the room was big enough so the patio wasn't needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The walk to the swimming pool next door wasn't a problem. Breakfast was the usual HIE, much better than in many other US chains. Would stay there again. $10 for parking seems a bit excessive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear PSkids,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and that you appreciated Rae Ann and Carmen. We try to make sure our guests are welcome and comfortable. You are special to us. I will pass on your compliments. Happy Traveling. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express at the Ventura Harbor is a great place to stay.
I come to Ventura for business and have stay at many hotels. The rooms are clean and have all the up grades. It is better then the Crown Plaza ( It is old and does not even have flat screen TV's)
When you check in, they greet you with smiles and are very helpful! Carmen and Ree-Ann make sure that your room is nice and accommodating to my needs. Kudo"s to them and the Hotel!

Room Tip: Nice to have a Harbor view
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Barbara H,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to our property. I am glad you enjoyed the area and dining. It is a great harbor area and has so much to offer for adventure and relaxation. The sunset views can be amazing. We do have a parking fee. Beach parking is at a premium with so many areas of activity near by, we have to insure it is open and available to our guests only. Come and visit us again. Happy Traveling. Catherine Stevens, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very comfortable room for our one night in Ventura. I chose this centre as it was further north of LA & on our way up the coast. Loved the view of the harbour, especially watching the sunset from the deck. Large bathroom was a plus also. We had a car & I must say I was surprised to have to pay for the parking - didn't even have to do that in downtown San Francisco. Pleasant place to stay. Had dinner at the Harbour restaurant which was an easy choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Barbara H,
Thank you for telling us sbout your stay in Ventura at our property. We have a great beach town and we love our Harbor, So many people are surprised we have so many attractions and things to do, but as you said, it is a great stopping off point as well. I Hope you will visit us again. Our beach parking is at a premium and we do have to make sure our parking lot is for guests only. I am sorry you did not know we charged for parking. Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Ventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Pros: rooms are large, come with microwave and fridge, hot breakfast included daily, great views with balcony,shuttle pick up to LAX at this location, connects to Four Points but is a small walk, easy walk to harbor for shops and restaurants

Cons:No restaurant on site (have to walk next door or to harbor),rooms a little more humid than Four Points due to being directly on the harbor, no down pillows (even though they claim as down), beds average, old hallways and elevator, intermittent wifi access, staff not as friendly as Four Points Sheraton next door, weak a/c which smelled like mold, TV doesn't swivel and is too small for size of room, breakfast not great but edible if you're not too picky.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Cindy O O,
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry it was not as pleasant as it should have been. We are in the process of plans to expand, upgrade and provide the services you suggest should be there. We are fortunate to be able to use the the pool, restaurant, tennis courts, Spa, and jacuzzi at Four Points until we have completed our full plans. Please come and stay with us and see the possibilities for fun when we have it all done. Happy traveling, Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

first you need to pay for parking, the place look like motel not like holiday inn. the smell of mold!!!miserly breakfest!!! breads tool is empty, no chocolate, no cheese!!! nothing to eat! even the view look like slopehouse. dont go there!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dera Noa1,
I am so sorry that your stay with us was unpleasant and that you were unhappy with the harborview Thank you for letting us know what you were disappointed in. We will review your comments with staff. I will pass on your suggestions on our breakfast area. We always hope our guests will be comfortable and enjoy their stay. I hope you have happy traveling and if you visit us again, please let me know.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Holiday Inn Express and Suites Ventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Address: 1080 Navigator Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.