We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“older hotel with decent remodel pretty happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1080 Navigator Drive, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“older hotel with decent remodel pretty happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Nice location with good harbor view on the view side. Rooms were clean and sleep was good. No coffee in lobby, no otis cookies, did not have time for the gym. A worthy place to stay if in the area. I did notice the harbor activity is fairly noise so dont expect to sleep with th screen open and fresh sea air.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Sacnvr218, Thank you for letting us know about your visit. We appreciate your comments and agree we do have a busy harbor. There is a wonderful Harbor Parade of Lights at Christmas that our guests love. Sorry about no cookie, try our cinnamon rolls in the morning. We hope you come to see us again. Happy Traveling. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    72
    22
    21
    10
See reviews for
33
70
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenson Ranch, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

i've stayed here on several occasions and find the room spacious and clean the staff is top notch always gracious and willing to help. the view of the Harbour with it's sunsets, pelicans diving for their evening meal, blue herron flying against the evening sky is a wonderful sight to take in.

as to the odor, it comes from the fields across the way and I've only smelled it in the morning on the parking lot side. I've never noticed it from the balcony with it's view and I feel is not a deterent to a pleasant stay.

As to the $10 parking fee, I think it is a mistake having recently added it and I can find no justification for it. The lot is over large and accomadates many other vehicles other then those staying there. I Feel it should be eliminated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Pat A., Thank you for your wonderful and thoughtful review. I feel the same way about the ocean, and the calm and beauty it can bring. We did add a necessary parking fee to our Guest Services. We provide night security and a much needed restricted parking area for guests only. Please come to see us again and enjoy the sunset. Best Regards, Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay. The odor, which probably fluctuates with wind conditions, really was a bother. I believe it comes from the sewage treatment plant that you can see from the hotel. For those of you considering the Sheraton next door, it would have the same problem. The room fine but not wonderful. The view was very nice. The hallways and reception area are below average. The breakfast was typical-neither good nor bad. The breakfast area was not appealing. We had a nice trip otherwise, but we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay, which we don't recommend, you might enjoy a room with the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Frair4,
Thank you for your review. There are off shore winds that do come occasionally occur. We are in an agricutural area and by the beach. It is a large area of waterfront homes, Harbor Village, hotels and a marvelous, classic, ocean front city. I apologize that your stay was not a pleasant one. We will be expanding out property and will have many more amenities. I hope you will try a stay with us then and we can give you a wonderful stay. Again, thank you for your review and Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

After reading a few of the recent reviews, after we had booked, it was with some trepidation that we arrived for our 2 night stay. We were pleasantly surprised with a room that was clean and spacious. It was a third floor king Harbour view & the view was perfect. Very peaceful. Although there was some traffic noise & at times we could hear some noise from the room next door it didn't interfere with our ability to sleep. The bed was super comfortable. There was lots of choice for breakfast and the room was nice to eat in, with a view of the harbour. The only problem I found was poor water pressure in the shower but other than that the bathroom was lovely. All in all a good stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear INOV8N,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us you had a pleasant stay at our property and for the review of what you would like to see improved. We are all happy we were able to leave you with a pleasant memory. We love our guests and our property and love to share the atmosphere of the beach, harbor and city of Ventura. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
299 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
501 helpful votes 501 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is an old wing of a Sheraton Hotel converted to an HIE with a tiny unappealing lobby and rooms with balconies that are unusable because of the odor coming from nearby fetid water.

Our room had a bland decor, but it was a good size and it was comfortable enough.

In addition to the stink, another indignity is an impossible-to-understand $10 fee for parking when parking a the nearby Santa Barbara downtown HIE is $9.

We would not have stayed except that our flight was delayed and we arrived late in the evening tired from a long day of travel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Wonderfulworld,
I apologize that your unexpected stayover at our property was uncomfortable for you. The property was the suite wing of the resort by us, which is why we have such a wonderful location overlooking the Harbor. Thank you for telling about your experience here. The occasional off shore wind can happen. We are planning to expand and redo, so come and visit again. We will wow you. Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We loved our room. Full kitchen, Harbor view, separate sitting area. Only downfall, printer wasnt working in lobby.

Room Tip: Harbor front suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear ITravel4Business,
Thank you for telling us you had a pleasant stay in Ventura. It is always so nice when we have made someone comfortable and happy. I am sorry the printer wasn't working. We have conquered the issue and it is in full operation. Happy Traveling! Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel about 5 times. The only thing that keeps me going back is access to the harbor and beach and the stunning harbor view.

The rooms look clean but don't necessarily feel clean (50% of the time)
Beds are very very firm
The bathrooms have a window that is basically a hole with a fan/filter metal looking thing covering it. In the winter it is freezing. I never feel like I have privacy while in that bathroom
The fridge is typically smelly
The lobby is non existent for the most part

The front desk staff is really ....really.... really....POORLY TRAINED
The check-in process is neutral on a good day. A warm greeting and a helpful attitude is mostly non-existent.
e.g. We noticed that a guest prior to us had open the bottled water in the room (a $2.50 charge) drank some of it and put the hotel price tag back on it. When I took it to the front desk to let them know what happened the staff at the front desk stopped just short of accusing me of drinking the water. It was very uncomfortable to stand there while they "speculated" on what they should do about this very suspicious situation.

On a positive note- the housekeeping staff is good to go!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear LC,
Thank you for your review. It is very distressing to us that you have had unpleasant stays at our property. I have already spoken to staff in regard to your comments. We are always trying to achieve the best standard and it appears we failed you. Thank you for taking the time to tell us. We have a wonderful location and are in the planning stages of a beautiful expansion. I know you will like it. Next time you are with us, please let me know. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Address: 1080 Navigator Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.