We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok not the Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine

Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine
574 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2629
805-652-1521
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 337 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ok not the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am a big Indian food fan, Samosa was good, but Chicken tikka was tough and dried, naan was ok.... Michael was good helping us pick the food.... It is in the heart of Downtown Ventura.. I would give it 4/5..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    41
    7
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great First Indian Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Last night my friend took me out for my first Indian dining experience. Our server was Michael and he was great. I told him it was my first Indian cuisine and he smiled and said he will make it the best for me. He offered his suggestions of the best meals at the restaurant. I got the chicken tikka masala and it was delish!! He had given us some of the potato pancakes to try and showed us how to mix the different sauces together. Very yummy flavors of mints, sweets, and sours. He then offered us a great rice dessert which was a perfect way to end the meal. Michael was sweet and walked me through the whole experience of eating Indian food. Everything was delicious and I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bad indian food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I don't understand other reviewers, food here is not that good, we ordered the rack of lamb and it was way overcooked, the shrimp masala was bland, and service was tooo slooowww.
No going back anytime soon

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have been frequenting Taj Cafe for almost a year now. Whenever I travel, Indian food is the only food I crave after Mexican. I gave all the Indian restaurant in Ventura a chance,( others being average), Taj has always been beyond my expectations. Chicken tikka masala is definitely one of my favorite dish & these guys make it the best. Nice & flavorful, creamy & perfectly balanced with spices. But then I was brave enough to try the coconut curry...... OMG... The lamb was high quality, not gamey at all. I usually don't eat buffet , but the server told me to try it. So i did. I think it's the best value for the quality you get. Great service always. Love this place. I wish I had an Indian restaurant as good as this in Denver. Having the movie theater right across the street is a big plus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“How did it rank so high”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Wonder why this place supposed to be the best indian food in town, service was ok. We tried the chicken tandoori and it was surprisingly bland with tough chicken, my wife got the Samosa which was just ok. We wanted to leave with something good and sweet so we tried the Gulab Jamun for Dessert, but it wasn't sweet enough. We'll give them another try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.