We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine

Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine
574 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2629
805-652-1521
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 385 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Authentic yet unique Indian dishes served with gracious hospitality! We frequent many Indian restaurants in greater Los Angeles area, where we live, and our only regret is that Taj Café is so far away! Luckily, we come to this area regularly, and plan to return again and again as we were only able to savor a portion of the menu, alas!
P. S. My husband Reports the rack of lamb is juicy and delicious; pricey but recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    37
    6
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

i am indian. so its hard to find food that is as good as grandmas cookin. but this was fabulous. took my friend here to try it for the first time and the food was spectactular! not only that, the service was top notch. Michael the manager was very attentive and showed the true meaning of the customer first. I live 2 hours away from here and i will make the drive to come back again. absolutely amazing experience. and if youre reading this michael, i told you id write the review!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Service in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have eaten at the Taj a few times now and the service cannot be beat. The food is excellent, reasonably priced, and plentiful! For a wonderful dining experience where you are treated like a king and queen, go to the Taj Cafe!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Found this place by accidnet and glad we did. Absolutely delicios food. It was the aromatics wafting through their front door that drew us in and we feasted on Aloo Tikki, Shrimp Masala and the Chicken Tikki Masala combination. Exquisite layers of flavor in the sauces. This is at the top of our list when next we're in Ventura! Thank You for a lovely dining experience Taj Cafe!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite Indian restaurant in the LA area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The best Indian restaurant in Ventura county. We drive a half hour from the east end of the county for this restaurant. Excellent food - don't miss the warm tofu and mushroom salad. The more traditional Indian cuisine items are also mouth wateringly good - try their uttapam (I always get this item) and their Peshawari naan. We also love their korma. Hard not to like every item on the menu. Warm and friendly service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Cafe Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.