We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet safe, linens didnt seem clean.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shores Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shores Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Shores Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1059 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“quiet safe, linens didnt seem clean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I enjoyed staying there , great location, price was ok. The linens had a funny smell not sure they get changed everyday. A couple of blocks to the beach. Employees (Trevor I believe was his name) very friendly, and ready to help, made me feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    8
    0
    24
See reviews for
9
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have never written a bad review before but this one is bad. We were recommended this motel by their sister motel in the hills. We checked in and then 20 minutes later checked out and got our money back. The clientelle that were already staying there were yelling and screaming at each other - using foul and abusive language. Some rooms were quite clearly being used for very long term rentals by famliies that are happy to cook just using a mircrowave.

All that I could live with but the damp small that pervaded the air as you opened the hotel room was awful. My kids room had cigarette burns in the covers and to be honest I didn't even open the door or the bathroom which I believe would have been hideous - I just turned around and left.

Room Tip: Don't go here unless they overhaul their motel and change their clientelle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed there one night. It was dirty all over. The duvet is dirty and smelly, looks like haven't been washed for years. Microwave has spills in it. The fan in the room was so loud and mad me feel I am sleeping by a operating plane! I couldn't sleep at all, the noise, the smell invests.

Horrible horrible horrible place and need to be shut down!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This Inn/Suites is short of even being that. Yes, I looked by the beach, but the area is just run down. Just take a look at my pic's. For the price you pay, you are better off staying at the Holliday Inn or even better, take the 30 - 40 min drive and enjoy Santa Barabra. Much cleaner and the reception is welcoming. Don't try to negotiate a re-found, the Manager('s) don't return calls.

Room Tip: Holliday Inn guarantees the "Best Price" or your first night is free! Book early & sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Me and some friends stayed here a few weeks ago and lemme just say that for the price and location, it was perfect. We spent around 80$ a night for a few nights and recieved great service, the employees were very helpful, everything looked alot cleaner and better than the pix Ive seen others post, and I would live there if I had the chance.

Sincerely,
Joseph

Room Tip: Cant help you here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Employees of this establishment are horrible at best. The girl that worked on Sat 6/2, must be employed here, because she inn't employable at good establishments. Her attutide is just horrible. I guess she fits in with the rest of the place.

House keeping is non-existant. Room was very dirty and un kept. The room had one blind on half of the window, the other half was broken off. It looked like the walls had various items attached at one time, but were were now ripped off of the walls. It did have a TV but the remote didn't work. The little refrigerator looked like it hadn't worked for a long time and was filthy inside. The sink drains were pluged and smelled really bad. The bathtub was so filthy it wasn't usable. The main office was usually unaccessable during the day, as the folks working here were never there and the office closed around 10 pm. Familes and Couples, definitely DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!! Singles, BEWARE!!!! Hookers, recommended. (Just remember the walls are paper thin and all of your conversations can be heard by your neighbors...

Room Tip: No satisfactory Rooms available here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were a bit leary after reading some of the bad reviews but with it being a holiday weekend and everything booked we took a chance. It was just as expected, a motel. Nothing fancy but much better than we expected and being able to make our own waffles was pretty fun and neat too. Its very close to the beach and thats what we wanted. We will be back.

Room Tip: we liked our room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shores Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores Inn & Suites

Address: 1059 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shores Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Shores Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Inn And Suites
Shores Hotel Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shores Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.