We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food after a day diving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Cafe Bakery

Le Petit Cafe Bakery
1591 Spinnaker Dr Ste 112, Ventura, CA 93001
(805) 642-1191
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Bakeries in Ventura
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Good food after a day diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Waiting for the traffic to clear before a drive back into LA we went looking for a place to eat. We chose the Le Petit Cafe Bakery on the recommendation of 2 other diners, and we happy we did. It was a nice place to sit, enjoy the harbour views and sip some acceptable wine. The meals were reasonably priced and served efficiently. I retain the memory of some truly great bread, and a nice meal. Pleasant yes, but not really spectacular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    6
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“OK but nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Le Petit Cafe and Bakery in Ventura, CA is an OK stop while you are strolling around Ventura Harbor. The food is good but not great, and the wine list is limited. Indoors is a bit stuffy, so opt for the patio (weather permitting).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We went for authentic French food that was recommended by some friends. The food was delicious and the service was awesome. Being a person that lives in Mexico I am very patient. My waiter was very good considering all the tables he was servicing. The dessert was a real treat and I would god back to sample more of thee food. Great find for French food.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grass valley, ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mother's Day home run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was our first time here. We took Mom for Mother's Day, there were 6 of us....It's a quaint restaurant with only about 20 tables (?) and a full bar...so the noise level was not too much....It is right on the Ventura Harbor and has a wonderful patio right on the water and boardwalk. The food was great and the service was really great! Food...wonderful! The lemon desert was the best I have ever tasted!....and they have a great little bakery. I would recommend this restaurant! We will go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What kind of crazy person makes French Toast with a croissant?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Le Petit Cafe does, and it is incredible! We usually go to Ventura harbor in the afternoon, but were there at breakfast time this Sunday. The weather was chilly but beautiful and we sat outside in the sun (to stay warm).
I saw the French toast on the menu, had to have it, and was not disappointed. It really was fantastic! It came with a side of fruit - fresh and sweet that provided an excellent finish. My wife ordered the veggie omelette. It was good and the potatoes were superb.
I wouldn't say the service was slow, I would say it was pleasant. Besides, who is in a hurry on a gorgeous Sunday morning?
Overall a great breakfast experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Cafe Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Le Petit Cafe Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Cafe Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.