We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Only Found it Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allison's Country Cafe

Allison's Country Cafe
3429 Telegraph Rd, Ventura, CA 93003
(805) 644-9072
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 392 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“I Only Found it Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I decided to try this cafe on the recommendation of a friend. We had lunch. The food was just OK, the service was slow and not all that attentive and the atmosphere is claustrophobic. The cafe is long and narrow with a small counter, booths along the wall & two person tables on the other wall. They tucked a salad bar in behind the kitchen and some tables. This is not very appealing at all. The cafe seems to specialize in breakfast and their jams. Unfortunately we ordered sandwiches and perhaps that was our mistake. The Reuben sandwich was just OK but the side of onion rings were fried in a heavy batter and not that tasty. Coffee was OK but not memorable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Can't beat the breakfasts here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I found this restaurant by mistake and I've eaten breakfast there twice. We have had to wait about 20 minutes to get a table which is usually a good indication that the food is good. It is VERY good and they have awards going back to about 2005 from different local restaurant award services. The food is great, the service is very good and the price is very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier National Park, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Biscuits for all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fine, old time setup. The place is really small, so be prepared to wait if you go on the weekend, but the biscuits and strawberry jam are well worth the wait. I love their omelets and the service is great--even when they are busy.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Everybody at our table loved what they got”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I ordered the egg sandwich and it didn't let me down. Two others enjoyed their scrambles. The corned beef and hash guy liked his and my twin boys loved their shaped pancakes (even though one was bigger than the other). The jam was awesome and the waitresses are good on the eyes. We'll be back!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Home Cookn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've been to Allisons many times and the food is always the same as I had the time before and I like that. The people are mostly friendly all the time but there was a time when we weren't even acknowledged and they kept walking past us. Forgiven and forgotten, we will still go there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allison's Country Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Allison's Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allison's Country Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.