We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lasagne was only surpassed by the atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Fiore Restaurant

Cafe Fiore Restaurant
66 S California St, Ventura, CA 93001-2802
805-653-1266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Fiore Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 387 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Santa Clara
Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lasagne was only surpassed by the atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were driving through Ventura and wanted to eat Italian. We stumbled on to the Café Fiore and were blown way by everything about it! Music spilled out the door to our car as we parked. We stepped inside to find out here was live entertainment - and good entertainment too! This guy could sing with the best of them and the musician was fabulous! We sat at the bar waiting for our table and the bartender made us feel at home. Great drinks! We sat at our table and the waiter was magnificent! Service was the best we've experienced in too long a time. The lasagna was out of this world delicious and all three platefuls were emptied. The spaghetti with veal and parmesan meatballs was great and I could not eat it all. The servings are plentiful. I cannot say enough great things about this restaurant. Definitely a jewel that the locals are keeping secret.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    67
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently ate here while on a girls weekend getaway. We first sat at the bar for drinks while we waited for our table. We ended up eating in the tree house lounge which was awesome! The waitstaff was very professional and the risotto with mushrooms was to die for, the pizza was pretty tasty as well. We left and wandered around looking for our next stop only to find our way back to Cafe Fiore where they had a live band.....we danced until they closed. It was a wonderful night!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still a favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent a 1/2 day in Ventura and stopped here for lunch. We had been here for dinner before and thoroughly enjoyed it. The same was true this trip. The bread basket came almost as soon as we were seated. We split a dish of butternut squash stuffed ravioli and had a wonderful lemon sampler to end the meal. Our server, Andrea?, was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family of four had a very good meal at this restaurant.
We really enjoyed both the interior and the food.
I like a good glass of wine, and here your could have a lot of good wines by the glass. Very special place indeed!

We had Pizza and Saltimboca - both very delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Eh, our experience not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We saw some good reviews for Cafe Fiore and gave it a try. While the ambiance is pleasant and the servers ok, the food was remarkably tasteless. Gluten free pasta with basil, tomato and mozzarella looked good but had zero flavor. Same with pasta bolognese -- tasteless. Same with seared tuna entree. Plus the gluten free pasta dish was swimming in oil. We were uniformly disappointed. You can do better in downtown Ventura.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fiore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Fiore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Fiore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.