We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heat Stroke” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Santa Maria, California
1 review
“Heat Stroke”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The hotel was very nice with one exception, the air conditioner wasnt working properly and we where miserable all nite long, didnt get a good nite sleep because of the heat in our room. Told the desk and they just told us the would see that it was fixed for the next guests, what about us, we paid full price for something we didnt enjoy or get a good nite sleep, WHAT IS THE DEAL WITH YOUR FIRM?????

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you very much for your words on your experience at our hotel. We are disappointed that we were not able to provide you with a quiet, restful atmosphere. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences we created with our maintenance. It is our goal to provide great, timely service to all our guests, and we are disappointed that we did not perform our job as we should have. It is our commitment to ensure that every guest is satisfied and that every situation is rectified. We would like to invite you to give us a try again on your next trip to Ventura so we can have a chance to make it up to you by providing you with the high standards of service which we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    266
    90
    22
    13
See reviews for
196
213
48
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Having read other reviews of this Comfort Inn, it looked like an okay place to spend the night. The price was right and the location suited our needs. It surprised me to find the experience better than expected. I asked for a quiet room and though we were right next to the freeway, we slept soundly. Secondly, we were easily able to take a satisfyingly long walk on the beach because the hotel is less than half mile away from wonderful beach frontage. Also, the city of Ventura has good restaurants and a nice wine bar less than a 10 minute drive from the hotel. It isn't luxurious but doesn't need to be. It is clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations - as it is our goal to exceed the expectations of every one of our guests. Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Ventura Beach your best vacation yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Andreas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We enjoyed our room, but most of all, the people at the front desk. They gave us good directions to local restaurants, were friendly to our small children, and always had a smile and a kind word.
They truly made the Comfort Inn experience a great pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that our staff treated you with warm hospitality. We take pride in knowing that we were able to make your Ventura Beach vacation a pleasant experience. Please come visit us again soon. We will be delighted to be your gracious hosts again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The Comfort Inn is relatively new with nice rooms and a moderate price. The breakfast at Denny's is close and better than most chain's in-house buffet. Be prepared for bearable traffic noise from the street or highway. A connecting door to the adjacent room proved to be problematic as four loud girls could be heard clearly until after midnight. If there is a room without a window on a street and without a door, request it. This is a great location for visiting the Channel Islands.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share about your stay. I'd also like to thank you for posting a couple of pictures of how our rooms look. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our facilities and amenities, and that they were a great value for you. Being in a beach area, we cater to a lot of families on a daily basis and that does create a level of noise at certain times of the day. We are disappointed that we were not able to provide you with a quiet, restful atmosphere. Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Ventura Beach your best vacation yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I chose this hotel based on the recommendations on Tripadvisor, and thought it (mostly) lived up to expectations. The room was clean and comfortable, a good size for us - and our shopping!! - and the staff were extremely helpful. The loan of a corkscrew was much appreciated! :-)

The only downside was ongoing problems with the wireless internet; it seemed to be down pretty much most of the 3 days/2 nights we were there. This gave us a problem trying to check in for an international flight, but the receptionist gave us access to her PC so that we could check in.

The manager fixed our room phone within seconds and due to the problems with the internet (and user error with the aircon) did not charge us for our late checkout.

Overall I would say this was a good hotel with an excellent manager and very obliging staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Thank you for your kind response. It's great to hear that we met your expectations and helped to make your stay enjoyable. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service. I'd like to apologize for problems with the internet during your stay. It sounds as though everything was able to come together and I hope your trip was not affected in a negative manner. Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to make your next trip to Ventura a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I picked this location for its proximity to Island Packers, which provides transport to the Channel Islands. The hotel was a 5-10 minute drive away. My room faced East Harbor Road and I could hear the traffic from my room. The alternative side of the hotel was probably not much better since it backs up to Highway 101. The hotel room itself was clean and spacious. The coupons provided for breakfast at the Denny's across the street provided a nice hot breakfast each morning. The staff was very courteous. The hotel is a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Thank you for taking time from your schedule to let us know how your trip went. Our staff and management take pride in knowing that we were able to make your Ventura Beach vacation a pleasant experience. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service. I'm glad our arrangment with Island Packers worked out well for you. It's a very convenient packet that we have put together for trips to the Channel Islands. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Had a great two night stay in the 2 bedroom suite. It was a fantastic room for the price. Would have payed much more at other hotels for smaller room. The suite had a spacious separate living room with fireplace, sofa and chair, refrigerator, microwave, and TV. The bedrooms with queen size beds were comfortable and away from adjacent hotel rooms so were very private and quiet. Liked the free parking and WiFi in the room. The free breakfast vouchers to Denny's was okay since the restaurant was within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is pretty basic and does not have a pool, jacuzzi or fitness center. We didn't miss these things since we were busy with activities such as kayaking and hiking at Channel Islands, and we only wanted to relax in our room when we got back. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Ventura.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave a response and let us know how we are doing. It's nice to hear that you found our suites to be so accomodating. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service. Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to make your next trip to Ventura a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.