We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
1 review
“wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Room was not ready at check in.The people WHO DID NOT have a reservation got a room right away. The mgr was very helpful,she got us a room right away,Parking late at night was not good. The driveway into the motel was blocked because on the IN-An-Out, next to the motel. When we could get in, there was no room in the lot.

Room Tip: nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear David R,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at our hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered upon check in and with parking. We do our best to accommodate every guest’s needs and are truly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We invite you to please stay with us again on your next visit to Ventura so that we may have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    266
    90
    22
    13
See reviews for
196
212
48
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I came to Ventura to take a whale watching trip and this motel was so conveniently located. It's less than 5 minutes to the harbor and less than 5 minutes to downtown Ventura. The staff was fantastic and kept asking me how my stay was. Despite the fact that it's right off the freeway and right next to In & Out Burger, my room was really quiet. The voucher for breakfast at Denny's is a plus as well. Throughout the hotel, there are nice decorative touches. These touches along with the caring staff tell you that this is a well-run hotel. I'd stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear BeckyAZ,
Your feedback is truly appreciated! It is a joy to hear that our central location, staff service, breakfast option, and décor are much to your liking. Thank you for your patronage and time. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again on your next trip to Ventura Beach!
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights. Our room, #308, looked out towards the nearby freeway and the In-N-Out drive through, and I expected it to be noisy and difficult to sleep. Much to my surprise, we heard NOTHING from outside, thanks to double windows, and the black-out curtains kept out all of the drive-through lights.

It was a clean and comfortable hotel room, nothing fancy but very adequate. They do provide a selection of pillows (firm and soft), which was a nice touch. There are minimal toiletries provided, but the in-room coffee maker made surprisingly decent (and very hot) coffee.

What is notable is that every single staff member we encountered was exceptionally friendly and pleasant to deal with. And I do mean exceptionally. The front desk clerk, Rafael, was polite, professional, and proactively helpful. I can't remember the last mid-priced hotel I stayed at where I got a call from the front desk (after we'd settled in a bit) to make sure our room was satisfactory and see if we needed anything. Here, we got that call!

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear WeHeartToTravel,
We appreciate all of your kind words! We are overjoyed to hear that your stay with us was a most pleasant one! Every member of our staff works dutifully and diligently to provide every guest with an exceptional experience and it is our pleasure to have been able to accommodate you. It is a joy to hear that our in-room amenities and staff service exceeded your expectations. Thank you once again for taking your time to review our hotel, and we look forward to being able to provide you with yet another great experience on your next trip to Ventura!
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Clean rooms however could use a little updating, friendly staff and a great location, probably closest hotel to the beach. The cost was high for a Quality Inn though at over $200 Per Night unless it was just me they stiffed?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Chris M,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have recently renovated all of our rooms, as well as the hotel proper. It is a joy to hear that our staff service and central location were much to your liking. We appreciate your feedback and would like to invite you to stay with us again on your next trip out!
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America's Finest City
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you've ever stayed in a Comfort Inn then you know not to expect too much. The rooms are fairly basic (micro and mini-fridge included), beds are comfortable, and the staff was polite and helpful. It was VERY highway accessible (right off Hwy 101), and a few blocks walk to the ocean where there's a walkway that stretches along the coast line - which is excellent for those wanting a little exercise. Our room looked over the In and Out Burger. Even with all the noise around us, once we closed our room's window, we really didn't hear the highway noise at all.

The hotel is quite small, in fact they don't have room enough for the usual free continental breakfast. However, they have teamed up with the nearby Denny's (a very short walk) to provide hotel guests with a free breakfast using a modified menu. You can choose something from the menu (I had the grand slam) for free, or you can order something else from the regular menu and receive $5 off. It worked quite well for us. Other than the tip, my wife and I had a good breakfast and paid nothing.

While our price of $109 was, I think, a bit too high for a Comfort Inn, I understand that it is prime summer time and that Ventura is a destination within SoCal. Overall, I have no problem recommending this hotel as a good place to stay if you're not needing any place special. It served our purposes well.

Room Tip: There are only three floors. We had room 307 that overlooked In and Out. Nothing special about tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear SlyGuy21,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our facility. We are very pleased to hear that our central location, staff service, and breakfast option suited your needs well. We appreciate your feedback and hope to that you will stay with us again on your next trip out!
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Comfort Inn in Ventura suited our purposes perfectly. It is within walking distance of the beach and though it backs up to the 101 Freeway and a busy In & Out Burger place is right next door, our room was surprisingly quiet. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that the room smelled of some kind of cleanser or carpet shampoo, and I thought the odor was unpleasant. However, my husband didn't even notice it. He only complained when I sprayed a cloud of my cologne to cover up the chemical smell. He thought the cologne smell was too strong.

We only stayed one night, the eve of July 4th. But we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Patricia P,
We would like to thank you for reviewing your stay at Comfort Inn Ventura Beach. We are overjoyed to hear that our central location and staff service accommodated all of your needs. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered with any odors in the room. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to Ventura, CA!
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a newly renovated room. No complaints. It is a basic hotel but the price was right. We loved the Denny's breakfast. Staff were all very nice. There was a little bit of road noise but not bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sherb1,
It is a joy to hear that our staff service and breakfast option were much to your liking. We appreciate your feedback, would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and hope that you will visit us again on your next trip out!
Best Wishes,
Brandy J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.