We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find, Good Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Anaheim, California
1 review
“Great Find, Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

Had a great weekend trip to Ventura and stayed at this hotel.
It was close to the beach and the people were very helpful.
We had free breakfast and the room was nice and clean. I would definitely go back to stay again.

  • Liked — cleanliness of room and service
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    266
    90
    22
    13
See reviews for
196
213
48
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

This was a great place to relax. The rooms were spacious, clean & comfortable. They were comparable to many 4 star places I stayed at. However, the rates were very reasonable & the internet and Dennys breakfast were included. The staff was warm & courteous & knowledgable of the area. This place is a short drive to Ventura Pier & downtown. I really feel Ventura is a great place. I prefer it over Santa Barbara. I will be staying here again.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

When I first went into my room it was new and updated... The location was great, if you are a teen like myself... It is walking distance from the beach and fast-food restaurants.

There were only two bad things: First off the freeway noise is really loud, only if you have your window open. Secondly, some of the rooms weren't as updated as the others, and looked bad...

  • Liked — How clean they keep your room...
  • Disliked — The breakfast...
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2008
I am glad to hear that our property suited your needs. True the 101 freeway can be a bit noisy during mid-day and busy weekends but our double-pained windows do reduce the noise. By evening there is a decrease in traffic.

Since your April visit we have added some updated furniture and have newly carpeted the halls and guestrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

I have stayed here several times mostly business, but sometimes pleasure, it has always been a fine place to stay without problems. The rooms are clean and well kept. The only downside is that some of the rooms have dated colors and furniture, but that is not a big deal.
The very last time, I had a problem with room and was immediately upgraded to another room that was more spacious. The staff was very professional and helpful. I will continue to stay here.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — older furniture and decor
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2008
We are pleased to have you as a returning guest. We will continue to do our best to meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you for the positive feedback on my staff. I will be sure to pass it along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

This property is old, dirty, musty and in major need of renovation. My partner chose to drive somewhere for the else the night due to how disgusting the room was. I was too tired and just flipped the gross conforter off of the bed and slept in the darkly lit room. This hotel is right off the 101 freeway which makes people think it's accessible and i guess it is....who cares. Drive a few blocks down to the Marriott or Crowne Plaza.
Still have nightmares about that bad expereince.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2008
Currently the guestrooms and hallways are newly carpeted. Upgraded furniture and new bedding has been placed in all the rooms.

100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Please let us know if there are any issues with the room when you notice them. We will do as much as we can to take care of any issues you may have.

We are a clean and affordable alternative property compared to our upscale competitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

False Advertising - I had a terrible experience at another Comfort Inn on Century Blvd near LAX - see other review.
I decided to give this chain another chance. I presented a coupon to this hotel in Ventura, for 64.99. Note the coupon was not expired, nor was I trying to stay Fri or Sat, nor would I have exceeded the 2 person limit. The coupon was not honored. Based on my experience, not once but twice, Comfort Inn does not honor their word.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2008
We are a 42 room hotel and limited in the number of rooms I will discount. These coupons are honored at the hotel. It is based on availability. These coupons are not negotiated by phone. The traveler must have it present upon arriving at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

We were passing through Ventura and found this hotel in the AAA book. It had given it a 2 star rating. When we saw the hotel, we felt that it was definitely worth 3 stars. It was modern, clean, with a very helpful staff. Our room was a good size and had everything in it that we could possibly want, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, AC, etc. The furniture was more upscale than we usually find in hotels and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side, but who cares??!! The elevator and luggage trolley came in handy. The breakfast was very good. The hotel policy is that all food must be indivually packaged. Breakfast consisted of cartons of assorted juices, milk, danishes, pop tarts (with a toaster to heat them), muffins, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, tea, coffee,etc. There was a medium sized breakfast room off the lobby if you didn't want to take the food back to your room. The hotel was an easy on/off to Highway 1. We were able to walk to the beach in about 5 minutes. There were at least 4 assorted restaurants within a 2 minute walk of the hotel. We really enjoyed the hotel and felt that it was an excellent value. If we are in Ventura again, we will definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2008
I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. Your comments and suggestions help us to keep up with the special request of our guest.

We now offer a new breakfast program at our property. Our guest now receive vouchers to a local eatery walking distance from our hotel. The voucher offers a hot cook to order breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.