We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Pearblossom, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice hotel. Staff was friendly and very helpful! Location is close to freeway, main street/downtown, food, and beach! Altho located right next to FWY, no noise heard! I would recommend it and stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Swany530,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments and are pleased that you were fully satisfied with the accommodations we provide. Many guests are surprised to find they experience a completely quiet night despite our location adjacent to the freeway. All of our guest rooms have been retrofitted with double paned windows which do a superb job of deadening the outside noise. We are glad you found our team to be friendly and attentive. We look forward to meeting you again!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    249
    85
    22
    13
See reviews for
188
193
44
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped over on our Highway One road trip. Very comfortable, quiet room and good breakfast at Dennys diner over the road. Staff were very helpful and provided information about the local area. Convenient for the beach and a really good local pub - the Social Tap - just a couple of blocks away towards the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear LesF_8,
Thank you for taking your personal time to leave a review and highlight some our local attractions. We are very proud to have teamed up with our neighboring business, Denny’s, to provide our guests a complimentary, hot, quality breakfast; we are glad you were able to benefit. We are pleased you were able utilize our prime location and visit the fun shops and quality dining venues in Downtown Ventura. Our staff is very knowledgeable on all things Ventura and is glad to make recommendations or travel arrangements for any travelers looking for entertainment! We invite you come back to Comfort Inn Ventura Beach again soon!

Respectfully,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Small but nice hotel. Very clean and quiet with newly decorated room and very comfortable bed. When first entered room soft music was playing on the radio and a towel made in to a Swan was on the bed like on the cruise ships. A very nice touch. A couple minute drive to beach or could walk.There was no complementary breakfast but were given coupons that cover most of the breakfast at Dennys across the street. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Thomas S,
Thank you very much for sharing such kind words with our travelers! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the extra touch of the swan towel on your bed. This is a perfect example of how our staff is innovative and tries to find ways to go the extra mile to make your stay exceptional. All of our team members are perceptive to our guest’s individual needs and make it a personal goal to provide friendly and comprehensive service beyond your expectations. We are delighted you will be joining us in the future and look forward to meeting you again.

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Looking for picturesque - this is not the place. Looking for Ventura hotel that is clean, comfortable and a convenient location - this Comfort Inn hits them all. Located right off the 101, I mean RIGHT off the 101, it was surprisingly quiet. The room was clean and came equipped with both a fridge and a microwave - nice. Though a bit tight, the bathroom area did have two sinks with one located in a dressing area which made it easy for my wife to put on make-up etc, while I took a shower. And she commented that there was good light and a full mirror too. The bed and other room amenities were fine. No pool, no work-out room, and no deal with a local gym; that was too bad. They were repainting while we were there, so the odor was evident. But how often do they do that? And we just used the a/c unit in the room, which helped a lot.The breakfast at Denny's was a great option, though if the weather is bad, the short walk to the restaurant could be a hassle. Next door there is an In-N-Out Burger and across the street is 7-11. The beach is about a mile away and the walk is pleasant. We found the staff to be most friendly. A vacation spot this is not. But over all, a good place to stay a few days while on business or if you have a weekend family event.

Room Tip: We were on the Harbor Blvd side of the hotel. Not much of a view, but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Rob C,
Thank you for your review. Our staff was very pleased to hear your comments regarding our accommodations and your interactions with our agents! Thank you for highlighting a few of our greatest assets: convenient location, quiet nights, a clean, well equipped room, and most importantly our friendly service. We appreciate your ability to be objective about the renovations we are undergoing and your understanding of any trouble that was out of the ordinary. We strongly believe that when this project has been completed, it will be well worth the short term inconvenience. In the mean time, we have taken extreme measures to ensure all work is being conducted during reasonable day time hours and that each guest is fully knowledgeable about what to expect during their stay. We hope that you will return in the near future to enjoy our new accommodations!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Your location couldn't better. Walking distance to the beach and trails. We had family across the street at another hotel that was at a much higher price. Your staff was excellent! The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Loved having 2 sinks and the small dressing area. We did like the choice of going to Denny's for breakfast. However, we were in town with family so did not use it but once. We did love being next door to In-N-Out as well. Okay the down side. ( not much) The tub did not drain well. It did seem like some renovations were going on. The renovation part did not disturb us. Parking lot was small but OK. We would definitely stay there again. If you are looking for a reasonably priced space with great location, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Patti86405123,
Thank you for such a glowing response regarding your visit with us! Our staff loves the opportunity to be part of memorable and happy gatherings. Ventura is an excellent location for a family to come together and enjoy the year round sun and beautiful ocean scenery. Thank you for making a note of the renovations we are presently experiencing. It is important for travelers to be aware of the happenings in their accommodations and we strive to ensure each guest knows what to expect. In an effort to minimize any inconveniences we have scheduled all construction to be performed during the day-time hours when most people are conducting business or out enjoying the town. We are very excited about the upgrades being established and invite you to return in the near future to experience our new and improved facilities!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Loved the breakfast option at Denny's. Otherwise, the room and halls smelled bad, and I really missed a deck or patio or pool so I could sit outside when I had some free time. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great. It was inconvenient that the ice machine was only on the first floor, but that's not a big deal. Really didn't like the smell, though ;-( The staff was friendly and the wake-up calls in the morning worked well.

Room Tip: If there was a fitness center or pool I missed them! My room was overlooking In-N-Out Burger, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Pat W,
Thank you for taking the personal time to leave us a review, we greatly value our guest’s comments and concerns. It was delightful to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast arrangements we have made with our neighboring restaurant, Denny’s. All of our guests are provided with a complimentary restaurant breakfast and Denny’s does an upstanding job of taking excellent care of our clients. We’d like to take a moment to apologize for the strange smells you have noted experiencing. We assure you this is a curious scenario and not an occurrence we are generally presented with. However, in the future, if you feel another area of the hotel may provide more enjoyable accommodations for any reason whatsoever, our staff will gladly cater to your needs! We invite you to return to the Comfort Inn Ventura where our friendly agents are looking forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We did not plan on spending a significant time in the room or at the hotel, so Comfort Inn Ventura served our purpose well. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The Denny's breakfast vouchers were perfect. The staff was amicable. The only complaint that I had was the drain in the tub did not work well, so we showered in ankle-deep water. I notified the clerk at check out about the drain. Would stay there again, as a clean and comfortable room is all we need when vacationing.

Room Tip: This Hotel is not all about amenities, so it really doesn't matter what the location of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear ILovePina,
Thank you for sharing such kind words with us and other travelers! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and found the service we provide to be superior. Our front desk agents are renowned for their efficient efforts and friendly demeanors. Our team of housekeepers also does a remarkable job at maintaining the cleanest rooms in town! We are very apologetic that your tub did not drain properly. We are very thankful that you took the time to bring this to our attention so the situation could be remedied before the arrival of other guests. We are always appreciative when our guests communicate improvements or malfunctions as it allows us the opportunity to provide the best accommodations possible. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.