We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We did not plan on spending a significant time in the room or at the hotel, so Comfort Inn Ventura served our purpose well. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The Denny's breakfast vouchers were perfect. The staff was amicable. The only complaint that I had was the drain in the tub did not work well, so we showered in ankle-deep water. I notified the clerk at check out about the drain. Would stay there again, as a clean and comfortable room is all we need when vacationing.

Room Tip: This Hotel is not all about amenities, so it really doesn't matter what the location of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear ILovePina,
Thank you for sharing such kind words with us and other travelers! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and found the service we provide to be superior. Our front desk agents are renowned for their efficient efforts and friendly demeanors. Our team of housekeepers also does a remarkable job at maintaining the cleanest rooms in town! We are very apologetic that your tub did not drain properly. We are very thankful that you took the time to bring this to our attention so the situation could be remedied before the arrival of other guests. We are always appreciative when our guests communicate improvements or malfunctions as it allows us the opportunity to provide the best accommodations possible. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    266
    90
    22
    13
See reviews for
196
213
48
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grover Beach, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Staff was pleasant and competent. The hotel itself had shopworn carpets. The A/C did not work so we changed rooms. Surprisingly the nearby freeway noise did not intrude into the room. We received a Denny's restaurant voucher for breakfast which worked out well. Denny's was less than 100 yards away. The Inn has a comment section on the reservation form. I asked for a room away from the ice machine and elevators. They gave us this consideration without my having to ask when we checked in. A nice surprise.

Room Tip: The reservation form allows you to ask for a room location that you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Ranger93433,
Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about the Comfort Inn Ventura. It is great to hear that the competence of our front desk agents was immediately recognizable and your stay was improved by their efficient manner and keen eye to detail. We understand that there is an important reason behind our guest’s requests, such as your room specifications, and it our priority to honor them in any possible circumstance. It is regrettable that you did not find the quality of your room to your liking. We are in the process of renovating our facilities and this includes new carpets and bedding in the bedrooms! We invite you to return and experience our new furnishings the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Degerhamn
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was a walk-in and stayed there 2 nights. Hotels at the coast are not cheap, but this one was reasonably priced during the week during high season. Daytime staff was very welcoming, nighttime staff more reticent. The room was nicely sized, very clean and seemed to be newly renovated with soundproof windows. Convenient to the seafood restaurants at the harbor, Channel Island trips, getting on/off the freeway. It also had free onsite parking - I had stayed the previous night at an upmarket hotel across the street where you had to pay for overnight parking, so I appreciated this. The breakfast voucher at Denny´s next door worked well for me. I am an early riser so was served right away. You could order from the regular menu, from a special menu only for Comfort Inn customers, or put together your own breakfast from a selection of 15-20 individual items. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear ECP135,
Thank you for highlighting all of our finest qualities in your kind review! We love to hear back from guest’s who felt the value in our accommodations, convenience of our location, and the welcoming of our front desk agents. You are correct, we have recently undergone a renovation and our new rooms are stunning! We are glad you enjoyed the new look we have implemented. Our entire team of staff will be looking forward to greeting you on your next return!

Respectfully,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, IL
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed one night at the Comfort Inn Ventura. We arrived late and got up early to catch a ferry to the Channel Islands. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice; our room had two sinks - one inside and one outside of the bathroom.

There are no "fancy" services at this hotel such as a swimming pool. Breakfast is a voucher for Dennys where you can select four things off a list (i.e. Bacon, Toast, Oatmeal and Apple Juice); it worked fine. The Dennys is less than a block away, but there is a busy street to cross. There is an In-and-Out burger right next door which also had heavy traffic, but we did not notice this with our shades closed.

I wouldn't want to stay here long term because of the location right off the busy road; it worked for us though because we were just in for the night. We did drive the car down to the Vons Supermarket right down the street at night...walking after didn't seem appealing with all of the activity at the streetlight.

We were never really around in the daylight - so I don't know how close it was to the beach or other Ventura activities. The dock for the ferry was about 5-10 minutes down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear warrenville111,
Thank you for leaving a review for other travelers detailing your stay at our facilities. We are glad you found our accommodations comfortable and suitable to your needs. Taking advantage of visiting the Channel Islands is something every Ventura visitor should experience, but it is too bad you could not stay a day longer to enjoy our direct surroundings as well. We are located a block away from the beach, a mile from the county fairgrounds, and a similar distance to downtown Ventura. Just as you mentioned, the Harbor Village is conveniently a couple of miles up the road as well. We hope to meet you again in the near future!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory, Tennessee, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Arrived @1:10PM for my free night and was told by the room clerk there was a $35 early check-in fee prior to 2PM. As an experienced traveler and Elite Gold member, I have never heard of such a fee and there was no mention of said fee on my room confirmation. I asked to speak with the manager and was told he was on property. Rather than pay this fee, I left and returned after 2PM to check in. Once again, I told the room clerk to tell the manager I wanted to speak with him urgently; NEVER SAW OR HEARD FROM THE MANAGER!! The room was comfortable, but small. We declined the Denny's breakfast alternative based on past experience with Denny's re food, service, cleanliness, etc. Needless to say, I would never stay at this property in Ventura again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear dgpjap,
We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We greatly appreciate the continued loyalty our Elite Gold members bring the Choice brand and we would never wish to turn you away distressed. At Comfort Inn Ventura, our check-in time is set for 3:00 pm. We hope you will understand we have chosen to implement an early check-in fee at our facility because it is extremely challenging to have the rooms from the morning turned around and cleaned to our high standards by the afternoon. To provide our returning guest’s with a complimentary stay is a service we are happy to provide and we did not intend to surprise you with added fees. We appreciate that you took the time to bring this to our attention and we extend our apologies. We hope you will reconsider your recent experience and return to the Comfort Inn Ventura in the future.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

While the hotel itself was okay, it was very difficult to drive into and out of as it was situated right at a busy freeway on and off ramp. Also, instead of the usual choice hotels breakfast, we were given vouchers for a Denny's about a block and a half away. The Denny's food was okay, but be prepared for slow morning service. Friday morning breakfast was really slow. Saturday's was a little better.

As far as nearby amenities and attractions, a state park beach was within walking distance, but along a busy street. Fast food restaurants and convenience stores were within a block or two.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is on a busy street by freeway ramps, guests may prefer second or third floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear SunHope,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry that you had a difficult time with navigating in and out of our parking lot. Although the corner we are situated on can become busy during high times of traffic, we find our location to be very advantageous. Quick access to the freeway, beach, the harbor, and downtown are all at our guest’s fingertips! Many travelers find this to be a great convenience when they are unfamiliar with the area or looking to save time. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the nearby State park and we hope you enjoyed the promenade area as a whole! We’d like to invite you to return to Comfort Inn Ventura again soon.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My hubby booked the jacuzzi suite for our anniversary. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is very close to the beach and even though it is right off the freeway, the noise from the freeway didn't bother us at all. It was a great value and we loved that we got breakfast at Denny's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVentura, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear PamRiech,
Happy Anniversary to you and your husband! Our family of employees here at Comfort Inn Ventura loves to be a part of such special celebrations! As you noted, the neighboring freeway often arises concern in travelers regarding traffic noise. To put these worries to rest, we have installed double pane windows in every room which are incredibly successful at blocking out all exterior noise. Time and again we are rewarded with guest stories of what a quiet and restful night people experience. Thank you for taking the time to share with us and other travelers about your visit. We wish you and your husband many more happy years to come!

Warm wishes,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.