We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Our Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cambria, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ventura was a stop along our yearly trip to Cambria, CA. We decided to stay in Ventura before going into Santa Barbara for the day and found the Comfort Inn online. The hotel is very conveniently located off of Highway 101 and easy to get to. Parking is convenient, well lit and the hotel nicely landscaped. We were greeted immediately as we arrived and the gentleman at the desk who turned out to be the General Manager, upgraded our room to the jacuzzi suite when we told him that we were celebrating our 25 anniversary. WOW! The entire stay was the best that we have ever had at a Comfort Inn. The service throughout our stay was at the same level whenever we encountered any hotel staff, friendly and respectful. The breakfast at Denny's that is included was a very nice amenity.

Room Tip: Clean rooms, well maintained property, second floor preferred. Beach access two blocks north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear pdgpcg,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at the Comfort Inn Ventura. Twenty five years of marriage is such a special occasion and we were delighted to have the opportunity to make it memorable. Thank you for noting the highlights our hotel has to offer: convenient location, free parking, a complimentary Denny’s breakfast, and most importantly, superior guest service. We hope you had a terrific anniversary weekend and we will see you again next year and the twenty five follow!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    286
    93
    22
    13
See reviews for
210
235
53
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Sandwiched in between the 101 freeway and Harbor Blvd, wouldn't exactly say that this was a quiet location. Room was clean: nice carpeting, TV and beds. Some chipped paint in the bathroom. Could see the dry wall taping in the ceilings, so that was kind of tacky. Our 'view' was of the In-n-Out next door, which of course is handy, if you like double-doubles. Service desk was nice, but when I asked for a quiet room, I got placed across from the ice/laundry room. The help loved to chatter away in the hallway outside my room. Pluses include the complimentary breakfast at Dennys and the fact that it is under a 10 minute walk to the beach, which is beautiful much of the year. Parking is limited and cramped, particularly a problem as all the rooms were taken. For what we had and considering it was midweek, I thought that the price was a bit excessive. I doubt if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear ww11hort,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on your experiences. We appreciate your ability to be objective and share what you enjoyed and where you felt we fell short, which gives us a great opportunity for our continued progress. We’d like to begin by apologizing for your room assignment. In the future, our front desk will gladly assist you with the room change to further your enjoyment. With regards to the condition of the room you occupied, it pleases us to share that we are in the midst of upgrading all of our accommodations. Nonetheless, we are glad you were still able to notice the superior conditions our housekeepers maintain for our rooms. We’d like to invite you to reconsider and visit us again so you can experience our new look!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I travel primarily for business, and in the price range I have to stay within I'm usually happy if the door to the room doesn't look like a SWAT team was the last user.
This little jewel made me smile
The check in staff was so efficient and friendly that I felt at home right away. The room was nice and very clean, quiet, and best of all the wireless Internet worked great.
On both mornings I was awaited by Jerrica, a stunningly pretty young woman whose smile was warm and genuine, her manner friendly and capable.

I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Atomaker,
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Ventura. We are glad to hear we were able to provide superior accommodations from what you are accustomed, and at an affordable value. Our staff really goes above and beyond to ensure our guest’s are welcomed, feel comfortable in their rooms, and depart with warm sentiments such as yours. Each of our team members has been selected based on their abilities to execute this mission and we are glad you felt the benefit. We hope you will be back in the area soon and we’ll have the chance to be your host again!

Respectfully,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Comfort Inn. The room was clean. Also the breakfast at Denny's was
very good. The clerk at the front desk was VERY friendly and helpful. I would stay there again. My
Husband had a problem with sleeping due to road noise, but my friends who stayed in the room
next to us had no problem sleeping. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Swissmisshiker,
Thank you for taking your personal time to leave us a review. We appreciate hearing your feedback and our staff is very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are proud to provide our guests with clean rooms, friendly service, and a hot breakfast at our neighbor, Denny’s! We’d like to take a moment to apologize that your husband’s sleep was interrupted by road noise. We understand how important a full nights rest is so to eliminate noise disturbance we have installed double paned windows in every room. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to meet you again soon!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

From check-in to check-out we had a great stay and breakfast included was a nice touch, bravo!!!! These not-so-little touches enhanced the quality of our stay. The staff were helpful in regards to attractions and services in and around the area. With these useful hints, navigating around town seemed less of a chore for newbies, thanks.

Irene and Rob

Room Tip: Keep your eyes open for Comfort Inn, you and your party will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear jazzargy,
Thank you for such a kind review! It is so useful to hear what qualities our staff possesses that can make a traveler’s stay a true success. As you noted, when staying in a foreign town it is really helpful to have insight into the local dining and entertainment. Our front staff is here to cater to you and they are glad to provide directions and suggestions. We hope you loved Ventura as much as we do and will stay with us again when you decide to return!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family and I had a great stay! The coffee in the lobby every morning was excellent! Much better than Denny's across the street ;)

We had a minor security issue with the door and as soon as we informed the staff they immediately addressed the issue and moved us to another room.

The rooms are in decent shape and you can't beat the location. Beach, freeway, In-n-Out and many other amenities within walking distance.

The customer service beat every hotel I've stayed at in the past few years across the U.S. The staff is so friendly and really want to improve your visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Jeremy T,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. It is rewarding and very encouraging when our staff is able to hear that their efforts are valued. Each of our team members is mindful to make meaningful connections with our guests because it is in those moments we learn more about you and how to better serve your needs. We hope you will be returning to Ventura and we will have the opportunity to interact with your family once again!

Respectfully,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had some reservations about staying at this hotel, which under previous management had left a lot of room for improvement. Apparently those improvements were all made, and made with great results! I spoke with the manager the night before checking in, and both he and the entire front desk staff were friendly, courteous, professional and went out of their way to help me.
I would like to ask the people who installed the double-paned windows to come add them to my own home, they were that effective in quieting any street or highway noise.
The room was clean, the bathroom immaculate, and it helps to have free parking and breakfast included. Close to the beach, Marina Park, the Ventura Pier, and an easy drive to downtown. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear cp31,
Thank you for your kind compliments! We are so glad you decided to stay with us and found a delightful difference. We have made vast improvements in updating our rooms, facilities, and service. One of traveler’s chief concerns is noise from the neighboring freeway, and as you can contest, we have equipped every room with double paned windows. We have found this remedy to be highly effective and our guest’s are able to enjoy a peaceful and quiet night. Some other improvements we have made include installing flat screen televisions, and light proof drapery in every room for added comfort. We appreciate that you were able to observe and acknowledge the hard work that has gone in to overcoming the reputation left behind to us, and to take the time to provide feedback that our efforts are a success! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Kindly,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#2 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.