We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for my needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Saint Paul, MN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great for my needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was in town for the Ojai to Ocean half marathon and the Comfort Inn was just fine for my needs. Clean and quiet, short on ambiance but friendly. Near 101 and a grocery store. Biggest challenge was making a left on the busy street from the one exit and one needs to go left to access most major roads, stores, attractions. Front door was only exit and entry and a person at the desk 24 hours -- good security. A very busy In-and-Out Burger right next door which is quiet unless cars waiting in the drive-in have radios blasting. I returned from dinner at 9 pm to find the battery on my room's hotel lock died which meant no access except for master key which owner keeps at his home. Efficient front desk called him at home and while I waited, she provided a vacant room where I could watch TV and rest. Staff was sincerely apologetic and offered nominal discount on that night's accommodations. They tell me this is one of those things they can't prepare for, though in retrospect one might recommend regular battery strength testing or wholesale battery replacement x number of years as one does in smoke detectors as it appears there's no warning. If I had been locked out that next morning, I would have missed the boat to a kayak trip at the Channel Islands as travel time for the owner to get to the Comfort Inn was one half hour away.

Room Tip: Might avoid smells from In-and-Out Burger by getting a room on second or third floor and towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Samcat1,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. All of our staff remembers the inconvenience you experienced with the dead battery in your door and we’d like to take this opportunity to apologize a second time. We appreciate how patient and understanding you were regarding the situation, and we are very sorry for the incident. We are so glad we were able to resolve the issue promptly that night so you were able to enjoy the adventures you had planned for the weekend. As you mentioned, the Channel Islands are an incredible getaway to take advantage of during the summer months where you can partake in kayaking, hiking, swimming, or even just pack a nice picnic lunch. Ojai offers our guests many other benefits as well with small town diners, boutiques, and a great bike or walking path that connects the town to Ventura. We hope you will return to the area soon where will be delighted to host you once again.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    202
    71
    20
    12
See reviews for
148
166
37
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Eleonore G,

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to leave a review. We thank you for your kind words, it brings our staff great satisfaction knowing we made a good impression on you. We are happy to hear your compliments on how “clean and comfortable” our rooms are and that you were at peace. Our housekeeping works very hard to ensure all of our rooms are in immaculate conditions upon your arrival. It is a pleasure knowing we can expect a visit from you in the future and we welcome you with open arms!



Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Only a few minutes from harbor if you touring one or more of the Channel Islands. Moderate priced older hotel, friendly receptionist.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Tramel,

Thank you, so much for leaving us a review, it is always a pleasure hearing from our guests. We are equally happy to hear that during your stay you were able to enjoy a tour of the Channel Islands. As you noted we are conveniently close to the harbor. Touring the Channel Islands is one of many great and fun ways to spend your time as one of our guests. We are happy to hear that you found our front desk to be amiable . All of our front desk agents strive to be as welcoming as possible so that you feel welcomed as soon as you enter our facilities. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a room with two queen beds. The beds were very uncomfortable and the location is terrible. You could see the In and Out drive thru line from our window, and the motel is right next to the freeway. There is a free breakfast at the Denny's down the street but we didn't have time to check it out. Overall I'd say there are better options in Ventura.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear stephhatchman,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We have read your review and are deeply saddened your visit was not to your expectations. We apologize for any discomfort our mattresses may have caused you during your stay; In the future if you incur any discomforts with our arrangements please alert our front desk personnel immediately and we will resolve the issue promptly. We are sorry to hear our location was not ideal for you; being that we are close to the freeway. However we have taken extra precautions to ensure our guests are not disturbed in any way by installing double paned windows in every room. These blocks out any and all noise, allowing our guests a peaceful nights rest. We thank you once again for your insightful feedback and hope you will reconsider staying with us next time you are in Ventura.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, friendliest staff we have had on our trip. Breakfast at Denny's through the hotel is a great idea. Only negative was it was advertised as "walk to the beach", but even as a walker I would consider this quite a walk, especially with beach gear. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Schnzr4me,
Thank you for sharing with us about your recent visit to the Comfort Inn Ventura. We appreciate you taking your personal time to leave a review and our staff enjoyed hearing how we were able to meet your expectations. We work extremely hard to keep our facilities in a pristine condition. We are glad you were able to benefit not only from our clean accommodations, but the warm reception our front desk personnel provide as well. We’d like to take a moment and apologize that you felt mislead about the distance to the ocean. You are correct, a couple of blocks might be quite a walk if you need to carry accessories, however, we have found many of our guests find it is the perfect distance for a morning or afternoon stroll along the beach. We are very glad to hear you will be a returning guest and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were impressed with the friendly and caring attitude of the staff. They were also helpful in suggesting excellent restaurants and providing driving directions. This is an older facility, but it has been remodeled. It is located close to the beach, pier, shopping, Main Street, Ventura County Fairgrounds, etc. Our room on the third floor was small, but it was comfortable and in good order. Whether we are staying at the Ritz Carlton or a small motel, we always clean and disinfect the room before we unpack our bags. We found that the maid had done an excellent job of cleaning and dusting this room prior to our arrival. We had a positive experience here and plan to return for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear 2SeniorMoments,
Thank you for sharing with us and our readers the wonderful experience you had during your recent visit. Our staff was so excited to hear that you were pleased in every way possible. We appreciate you making a note of how clean our rooms are kept and the thorough service you received from our personnel. When staying in another city, it is always a treat to experience the local shops and restaurants. As you mentioned, our staff is very knowledgeable on where to direct our guests and our central location makes it easy to find your destination. We look forward to providing you with the same great service on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulare
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here one night for a beach weekend with my husband and our 3 year old. Our room was right around the corner from the reception desk and across from the ice machine which I didn't mind because this made for easy access in and out of the room to the parking lot and we never heard the ice machine being used. Bed was clean and comfortable. Everything worked fine. The view from our room was of in and out burger but the plants they have outside the window are nice enough to distract you from that. We didn't indulge in the Denny's breakfast because you have to use your voucher before 9:00 a.m. and we were pretty wiped out from our beach day before to be up so early on Sunday. If I had any complaints I would say the carpet was definitely worn and a little dingy looking. Also, the walls, particularly in the bathroom, could use a good wipe down, otherwise I really have no complaints. If you just want a comfortable nights sleep with no bells and whistles this will do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnVenturaGM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Ibkatg,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experiences at our facility. At the Comfort Inn we strive for excellence, and we are very sorry to hear you found your accommodations only satisfactory. We have been working very diligently over time to improve the building and individual rooms which results in a very proud staff. Our front desk agents strive to be welcoming and accommodating, while our housekeepers each maintain a goal of providing spotless, comfortable rooms for our guests. Each of our team members will review this feedback and incorporate your experience into their daily work. We’d like to welcome you back to the Comfort Inn Ventura next time you are in town and we guarantee you will have a superior visit.

Respectfully,
Comfort Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ventura
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Inn Ventura
Ventura Comfort Inn
Address: 2094 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located between the Ventura Harbor Village where you'll find many unique shopping and dinning options and Downtown San Buenaventura where you can experience the vibrant cultural environment and nightlife known to this beautiful coastal gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.