We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really outstanding place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Social Tap

Social Tap
1105 South Seaward Avenue,, Ventura, CA
+1 805-667-8485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 385 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Focusing on fresh, house made food along with specialty craft cocktails and beer. Casual atmosphere with friendly staff. Family friendly.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really outstanding place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great place, great selection of beers, great food.
Casual atmosphere.
I was comfortable there with my 1 year old, but it is good for grownups too

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“BRUNCH- a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Went to Saturday brunch which we didn't know they had. Mainly couples and families.

Some interesting breakfast offerings including some things we had never seen. perfect sized portions of well made, great tasting food. Good, strong coffee-- the staff never let our cups get close to empty before they refilled them..

Service is great- they have trained their staff well & they work as a team, so several servers refilled coffee and took away plates. Wait staff seemed to be the standard micro brewery/sports bar servers--- nice looking, shapely early 20's girls in tight t-shirts and shorts-- with personality and who care about customer service..

We will not miss this next time: We did find out until we were finishing our meal, but a big brunch draw is the "Bloody Mary Bar": they give you a glass of vodka and ice-- and you make your own Bloody Mary choosing from the many "fixins": they have in their "Bloody bar"

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Can't Go Wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This spot has a really great selection of beers along with good food to match. I would strongly recommend going here (by foot) if staying in the hotels on this side of the park.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Sports Bar at the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Social Tap is a good sports bar within walking distance of the ocean. The staff is particularly excellent. A good place for the game or nighttime drinking and eating on the outdoor patio. The food is fine and drinks are good. A real addition to the Ventura scene.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

1. Great "upscale street food". Can't beat their tacos;
2. Great craft cocktails;
3. Nice outdoor patio, with heaters to warm you when the desert night turns cold;
4. Beautiful, friendly waitresses on two different occasions.
5. You know a restaurant is good when its staff comes back when they're off duty to eat, drink, and hang out with friends. On my second visit there, saw our waitress from a prior visit sitting with her friends, having a great time. Good sign.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Tap also viewed

 

Been to Social Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Social Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.