We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

Romano's Macaroni Grill
4880 Telephone Rd, Ventura, CA 93003-5234
805-477-9925
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 387 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Eh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Typical chain restaurant quality. Service was very slow and food was mediocre at best.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Paula, California, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Food is good for a chain Italian Restaurant. Now like it better than Olive Garden. Excellent desserts!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great food and menu with great service. we go there a lot. Did not like the fish. they made me something else no problem. My personal taste not the fish.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard California
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Average Italian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This chain restaurant has been in Ventura for a while. I have eaten a couple of times before. My friends and I went here since I saw a commercial on TV with a bowl of pasta carbonera with an egg on top. It looked good on TV. When we got there, I immediately searched the menu for that dish. It wasn't on the lunch menu, so I asked the waiter. She stated it was on the dinner menu. I told her I would order that. When the bowl of pasta comes, it has the egg on top. The waiter says "to eat if properly, you need to cut the poached egg and let it run over the pasta to complete the meal". I said okay and cut the egg - it was almost hard boiled and did not run onto the pasta... bummer. I told the waitress and she took the bowl back to get a new one prepared. Hopefully the chef watched the egg this time. Well it came back and it all worked right. The pasta was very al dente, but I liked it - but I know many would not. It might need to be cooked a little longer.

You will need a little extra time to eat here since it does take a little while sometimes to get the meals.

Overall it is not too bad if you are in the mood for an Italian restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok, but much better Italian in Ventura”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The service was terrible tonight. The food was just OK. My husband ordered the Spaghetti and Meatballs and said it was alright. I had the Chicken Parmigiana. It was OK. My daughter in law had the Fetticini Alfredo with chicken and said it was good. The other 3 in our party had the Mama's Trio, which had chicken parm., lasagne, and a chicken cannolli. They all said the Lasagna was greasy and tasted funny. Two of the Cannollis were over cooked on the edges and had no filling in the ends so just pasta shell. We ran out of our drinks and it finally after a long wait and nothing to drink, my husband asked for refills when our dinner was brought. The waiter took 3 of the glasses and never brought them back. Finally after about 15 more minutes and almost done eating, my husband got up went over to the waiter and again asked for our drinks. He brought them to us when we were all done eating. My son asked for more bread, which was the best part of the meal, and we never received more. For $125, and no alcohol, I expect much better. I don't think I'll be going back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.