We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in the harbor area so far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhumbline

Rhumbline
1510 Anchors Way Drive, Ventura, CA 93001 (Formerly Scotch & Sirloin)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #189 of 387 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Schooner Drive
Transit: Ventura Harbor water taxi.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the harbor area so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've been searching for a good restaurant in the harbor area and this one was a nice surprise. It is away from most of the harbor traffic, but we were there on a Tuesday evening so it was quiet. The view was extra special. The restaurant was clean and the chairs were comfortable. And most importantly, our food was very good. My husband raved about the paella. We had a very relaxing meal and stayed for dessert, which was also excellent. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    12
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have tried this place three times and it was two times too many! This used to be the old "Scotch and Sirloin" which was a great restaurant in it's day with a wonderful view, but it needed an update. Most residents were thrilled that someone new was coming in and would revive it. Unfortunately, they haven't a clue what they are doing. The first time we went for just drinks with a group of friends - service was mediocre. Second time my husband and I sat at the bar for happy hour (pretty much the only people in there) and ordered some appetizers - poor.
Then we have waited a year and hoped it had improved - not. We went on a Saturday afternoon to enjoy the afternoon sun on the deck, have a glass of wine and we ordered ceviche. We each took a small bite and immediately spit it out. It was mushy and had ice crystals on it like it had been refrigerated too long, then taken out to thaw. The waitress apologized and didn't charge us, but I was really disappointed that the owner, who was wandering around with a cocktail in his hand conversing with his friends, didn't acknowledge it at all. We promptly went to a "real seafood restaurant" - Lure. The owner of Rhumbline should take a cue from them - consistently good food, great service and a great vibe. ALWAYS packed.
On another note - the clientele at Rhumbline doesn't match the decor and view. We won't ever be wasting our time there again - it's a shame.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food at Rhumbline is very good and reasonably priced. And they have wonderful views of the harbor and parked boats. Be sure to ask for a table by the windows.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice place, off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Rhumbline is a beautiful, comfortable restaraurnt with great seafood and a beautiful view of Ventura Harbor. The brunch is especially yummy. The one minus is that the area around it isn't very walkable so its hard to go for a stroll afterwards, like you can in so many other places in Ventura.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view, Ok food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was here for a group event so wasn't ordering off the menu. Ambiance is wonderful - right on the water. Easy parking, great view.
Food was so so -- I had Sea Bass with polenta and veggies - Fish was a bit bland, very large portion; veggies were a bit overcooked. Polenta was also kinda of bland.

If you are looking for somewhere to enjoy the view, this is it. If you are looking for amazing food, may want to try elsewhere (although I may give it another try and order something else...)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhumbline also viewed

 

Been to Rhumbline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhumbline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.