We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD and run down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Inn on the Beach
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1175 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Ventura B&B and Inns
1 review
“OLD and run down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have Never given a bad review anywhere I've stayed but This hotel/ Inn is in pretty bad shape. Run down and not so clean and smells. Sad I didn't read reviews before my husband booked our stay. Luckily it is only one night.
On the plus side the ocean view is beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    24
    25
    35
See reviews for
22
82
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location was unbeatable, the bed was comfortable, the sheets were clean, the room had an electric fireplace that made it cozy, the flat screen TV worked, the rooms facing the ocean had balconies and the price of a room facing the ocean was very reasonable. Other than that, the hotel was a complete mess. They were supposedly undergoing renovation, while remaining open for business. However, I didn't see any work being done. They said that our room already had new tile and granite put in the bathroom. If so, they must have had free help put it in. It was the worst workmanship that I have ever seen. The sink/cabinet was unstable or not bolted down, the toilet needed to be thrown into the dumpster, the carpet, walls and switch plates were disgusting and I doubt anything had been dusted or cleaned in the room, except for the sheets. Even my towel looked questionable. Nothing in the room would pass a black light test. Don't take your shoes off and definitely do not look under the bed! I was appalled at the apparent lack of maintenance. Nevertheless, the hotel had an outstanding location. So, if you don't mind the rest, you can get a room right on the beach, for under $200 a night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We told the front desk that our toilet was clogged, and they handed us a plunger. Not acceptable! Filled up the jacuzzi and a big clump of hair shot out of one of the jets. Yuck! On the positive side, the view is amazing and we slept with the sliding door open. It was amazing to fall asleep listening to the sound if the waves. The hotel badly needs some renovation, but once that happens the inevitably the prices will go out. We wanted a cheap stay at the beach and that's what we got.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really can't believe how many positive reviews this place has. We thought it was absolutely terrible and left early (something we've never done at a hotel)! If I had paid $60 or $70 for this place, it might have met my expectations, but it is not worth the outrageous rates they charge. It was honestly the worst experience I've ever had at a hotel, inn, or even hostel.

The entire place is covered in old, grimy, stained carpet and outdated floral wallpaper. In our room, the bathroom was dark and dingy. Our shower was moldy and had someone else's hair still on its walls. There were broken tiles around the fireplace. We heard a constant hum or noise that we couldn't figure out (maybe from the refrigerator?). No wifi. No breakfast.

There is a reason their website has few photos of the inside--it's outdated and dirty. The only good thing we can say is that the location great, truly right on the beach. Don't be fooled like we were by seeing it on a map!

When we left early, the man working at the desk didn't care at all to ask why we were leaving. So I called a few days later (when we had cooled down a little) to ask for a partial refund. The manager I spoke with was respectful and nice, but refused to give us any money back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights. It was not what we were expecting for the $$. We were on the first floor so our view of the ocean was a bit obstructed by dunes. There was no A/C and the screen door lock was broken so we couldn't leave the sliding glass door open to get a breeze and enjoy the sounds of the ocean. The patio outside is not private, they're all connected, and we didn't feel safe keeping the door open all night. The door on the antique wardrobe in the room didn't fully close and squeaked so loud we didn't even use it. The only nice thing in the bathroom was the tiled shower. There was a hole in the bathroom ceiling where the fan should be. The wallpaper in the room was peeling in spots. I felt like we were staying in someone's spare bedroom instead of an inn. Not many amenities. There wasn't even a luggage rack for our bags. The breakfast options were extemely limited and the breakfast room was dingy. The morinng we left, we had to be on the road early and no one was at the desk to check us out. It was posted that the desk was attended at 7:00am and we wanted to leave by 7:30am. We called for assistance twice, even left a voicemail, but still no one came to the desk. We ended up just leaving our key card on the desk and left. The breakfast room was also closed past the time it was supposed to be open (7:15am), so we didn't even get a cup of coffee before we had to leave (there wasn't a coffee maker in the room). Not worth the $$ in my opinion. The only thing you're paying for is the location.

Room Tip: If you're going to spend the money, spend more and get a room with a balcony. At least you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Located right on the sand, with unobstructed views of the beach and ocean from a small deck on the upper two floors, Inn on the Beach won't be the fanciest place you'll ever stay. Sure, it's in need of a facelift here and there, but the staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable, continental breakfast is included and you can't beat the location – especially if you're just passing through on your way somewhere else up or down the coast. You absolutely cannot beat the location. Recommended by friends from nearby Santa Paula, who often have taken advantage of its proximity for a special night away from home, it offers a perfect base for anyone interested in strolling along the water's edge in either direction, visiting nearby shops and restaurants in downtown Ventura, or just sitting outside your sliding patio door as the ocean breeze caresses your face. My wife and I loved it, and do look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: If either are available, the two rooms at the north end of the building on floors 3 and 2 are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beach front for under $200. Well don't expect the best room. They are old and dated. Some cleaning issues as well. But the staff there are very nice and a $200.00 view... I didn't complain about any issues. Because I only stayed one night and was out the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Address: 1175 S Seaward Ave, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Ventura
Beach Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.