We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another satisfied customer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spencer Makenzie's Fish

Spencer Makenzie's Fish
806 East Thompson Boulevard, Corner of Ash & Thompson, Ventura, CA 93001
805 643 8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 382 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Voted best fish taco in the county.
Restaurant details
Description: Voted best fish taco in the county.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another satisfied customer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Take-out quick and friendly; steps from the Best Western. Small and tons of charm! Good value. We loved the fish tacos; lots of fresh veggies, hot sauces also available to buy by the bottle.
Easy to overlook - despite goofy boat-shaped exterior! Ths place rocks! Also - location excellent; walk to pier. Will be back !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California, United States
1 review
“Love Spencer Makenzie's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I love their Ceviche and the Ahi Pockets. My favorite restaurant in Ventura, funky and beachy with great food. Don't forget the Chile Fire Sauce!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lg1955
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We always make sure to eat here. It is a cute little "taco stand" with seating outside. You walk up to the window to order. Their specialty is fish tacos, we always get a fish and a shrimp taco. They are nice size so two tacos make a nice lunch. The iced tea is good too. It is usually crowded-it's fairly close to the beach-but service is good and even on a Saturday the wait wasn't excessive. Well worth the wait anyway!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“FISH TACOS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Glad I had a recommendation to go here. Value equation is high here. Low cost but great food. Looks like a greasy spoon, but don't let that fool you. I'm a big guy and had just one taco to fill me up. Walked out of there for less than $15 (with taco + app+ drink). Will go back again when I come back in town.
A hidden gem.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing fish tacos and amazingly good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was visiting Ventura on business from the East Coast and looking for somewhere with local flavor. This place has both in spades. Nothing fancy but welcoming staff, local atmosphere, lots of bar stools at the counter for single customers like me, even great music. But I have to save the praise for the awesome fish tacos. Simply the best you could ever want. So ditch the chains and come here when you find yourself in Ventura.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spencer Makenzie's Fish also viewed

 

Been to Spencer Makenzie's Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spencer Makenzie's Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.