We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok if you want food, but nothing else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ventura Harbor Village

Ventura Harbor Village
1583 Spinnaker Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
805-477-0470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Shopping in Ventura
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We love our Harbor! Our Facebook page is a place for our local community, as well as welcome tourists stopping through, to enjoy our views, to post and share what's happening at our Harbor: from a day on the beach, a beautiful sunset, whale spotting, bird and seal pictures, to restaurant, nightlife or new water excursions taking place at Ventura Harbor Village! Ventura Harbor Village is California’s seaside playground brimming with fresh seafood and a wide variety of cuisines to tantalize your palette, boutique shops and art galleries around every corner, SUP, kayak, pedal and electric boat rentals to get on the water and see the seals, family fun at the arcade, kite flying, or playing in the sand at one of the safest beaches in the County “Mother’s Beach” (Harbor Cove Beach), daily boat trips, as well as sailing and dive charters to explore the Channel Islands National Park, coastal fashion and décor, a beautiful walking promenade with daily Happy Hours overlooking the boats, and a comedy club boasting top celebrity names to put a smile on your face. Now you can see why we Love our Harbor!
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“ok if you want food, but nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a sleepy little village (if that's what you can call if) is a collection of restaurants and some mediocre shops. Great if you're going to dine, but not a destination for shopping. Save that for Main Street.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    82
    32
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and Breezy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have visited often and never left hungry or disappointed. There are many events throughout the year, wonderful restaurants, a museum close by, and wonderful sea breezes to clear your mind.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lg1955
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place for visitors-dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We always visit here when we are in Ventura, there are several restaurants to choose from and most allow dogs on the patio. Lovely view of the harbor and shops are nice too. The mosaics on the walls are really cool too. There is something for everybody to do.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great views and things to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I live in Ventura so I visit the harbor village often, expecially in nice weather. You can easily spend an entire afternoon at the harbor or just go in for a quick visit. This is a very pretty harbor and you can walk all around it for a nice long stroll. The harbor village has lots of small shops to explore and plenty of restaurants to eat at. A few of the restaurants, like Brophy Brothers, Margaritavilla and the Greek have seating with great views.

If you have kids, you will want to spend some time in the arcade and maybe ride the carousel. In good weather, you may want to rent a kayak or paddle boat and tour the harbor from the water. You can also take a short harbor cruise.

The harbor is just across from the beach so you can spend some time on the beach before or after your harbor visit. There are showers to rinse off the sand if needed.

Lastly, the Channel Island visitors center at the end of Spinnaker drive is worth a visit to learn about the islands and see the tide pool exhibit where you can see and touch tidepool animals like starfish. You can walk from the harbor village. Just follow the sidewalk all the way around the yacht club.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lots of small shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed walking around this harbor and looking in all the shops. While sitting on the benches to view the harbor your view is blocked by the hedges. They need to be trimmed down a bit. The ground were clean and well groomed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ventura Harbor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventura Harbor Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.