We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trailer on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jolly Oyster

The Jolly Oyster
San Buenaventura State Park, Ventura, CA 93001
8057984944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 402 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: the freshest clams and mussels I have ever tried. Basically farm fresh, sold from a concession in the beach side state park. BBQ yourself - superb!
Monrovia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trailer on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife had read an article in Sunset Magazine about this business. This is a place where you shuck your own oysters and steam your own clams. I stocked up with oyster knives, cooking pots and a butane stock and with friends we drove to Ventura on a warm Saturday afternoon. We entered the State Beach park and drove to the far end of the parking lot. Here was a Trailer and several picnic tables and bbq stands. We ordered oysters and clams. They were large and very tasty. It was fun to steam our own clams in a broth with wine we had pre-made.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fcd4usc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Carpinteria, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've lived on the Central Coast for a long time and I've eaten a lot of oysters. I had only heard second-hand compliments about the Jolly Oyster. I finally made my way over there on an abnormally chilly, Sunday afternoon. This place is literally a trailer in the parking lot at the state beach. I chose to park outside the state beach and walk in (it's not that far). Mark who runs the place was really friendly and laid back. He shared some info about the owner, where the oysters are farmed and let me try an oyster on the house - which was nice fresh, a bit salty and very tasty. The price was what you'd usually expect to pay - about a $1 each. I was taking my order to go so didn't stick around to enjoy the picnic area. But it was very nice with benches, and a bbq. All of the oysters I took home were outstanding. This is my new go-to place for oysters...they have clams too and I'm going to get those next time. If you can get here you should...cool spot helps makes Ventura unique.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_dreamer__103066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilwell, Kansas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“As much an attraction as a great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a setting in a park on the beach. Bring a bottle (or two) of good central coast wine, buy some oysters, some sides and settle in fun a great picnic in a wonderful setting. They have everything you need. Of course you can bring some of your own side dishes. What a fun change of pace.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amfpvks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best little seafood shack ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

You have got to try this place. It is not a resturant in the traditional sence. They are more of a sea food wholesaler. They sell two types of oysters and manila clam. You cook or shuck them right there on the beach. There are picnic benches and BBQ grill provided by the state park. 10$ parking for day use. Everything is amazing you really just need to try this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bse2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROME
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“excellent oyters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Well what else I can say, the oysters are extremely fresh, and the quality is exceptionally high. I use to eat oysters in France but these are really good. Mark, the person in charge, is simply outstanding. He's always ready to help you and give you some advice. I look forward to come back. Thanks again Mark.
P.S. this is a "do it yourself" place, so come with all the equipment and accessories, like wine, oyster's knife, lemon..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALBLONDIE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Oyster also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing