We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrate dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
35 W Main St, Ventura, CA 93001
(805) 643-0795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 387 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ventura Avenue
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Celebrate dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We love taking out-of-towners here. It's delicious, different and festive - plus you can take your own wine for a modest corkage fee. Everything id good here.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine from the Himalayas in Ventura, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

An unexpected delight in a strip mall in a residential area of Ventura, 2 blocks from the Mission, but away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. The food was exceptional and authentic. Highly recommend the peanut masala as appetizer and Pishori naan as dessert (though it is not advertized as such). Good selection of beers to go with your food. We enjoyed the saag tofu entree' - done well and not overcooked into a mush. If you like your food spicy, try momo chili and the chili naan - we liked them both. Serving sizes were substantial, and we brought leftovers home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“First time but not the last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The last time I had Nepali /Tibetan food was in a small restaurant in Edinburgh just off the Haymarket Station. Walking into the Himalaya restaurant brought back fond memories of my experience in Edinburgh. The aromas wafting from the kitchen were mouthwatering. The Saag Naan appetizer was one of the best I ever had. My wife selected the Indian chicken Tikka Masala and I had Namche Lamb from the Tibetan side of the menu. Both were delicious. The service was relaxed and made us feel at ease. We will certainly be back to explore the other dishes offered.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Had a large group - most had lived/travelled in Nepal and we all loved it. Just outstanding food. Memos and chili chicken (done mild) were the highlight for me. Sol planned a family style menu and seated us Nepali style on cushions and low tables and had everything ready to go when we arrived. Can't wait to go back - may do so tomorrow! All I can say is: go - you won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Wanted something different, so, Indian food. Nice interior, greeted nicely. Ordered, and waited. Nobody asked told us that our order was coming soon or anything. Finally it came and it was wonderful. One of the best Indian restaurants we have eaten at. Service is a bit slow, but, have patience. It's worth the wait.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.