We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but I got sick both times I ate here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
35 W Main St, Ventura, CA 93001
(805) 643-0795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 383 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ventura Avenue
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good but I got sick both times I ate here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We tried this place twice, once for its lunch specials and once for take out. Both times I got very sick after eating there, I think it might be that they use a lot of MSG which gives me migraines. I really wanted to like this place, the food was good but I can't eat at places that use MSG so this place is out for us! Bummer!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    30
    11
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Small Strip Mall Restaurant - Great Taste and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We decided to stop over at Ventura for lunch on our way back from the Bay Area. A quick yelp search showed us Himalaya. We were skeptical about the small strip mall restaurant. But the skepticism ended there. The food was excellent and the service prompt and good. The butter chicken (makhni) was excellent and so was the paneer masala. The portion sizes were really good. If you crave Indian food in Ventura this is a sure hit.Take it from the brown guy :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian And tibetan food in Ventura!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food here is so delicious. It is my and all my friends favorite restaurant. We love the little tables where you can sit on the floor. Of course, there are tables where you don't have to sit on the floor. They bring you a scrumptious soup to start. So healthful and a wonderful way to start a meal. Often we get vegetarian fare, but the chicken tikka masala is so good! Even my children who don't like Indian food like it. There seems to be something for everyone, in other words, not too spicy. I always feel great when I finish eating! Healthy wonderful place, with a warm accommodating staff, will not dissaapoint! They also have a system where you check in and after a certain amount of meals, you get a free meal. Awesome!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the location deter you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Himalaya may have arguably the worst location in the city, but don't for a second let that deter you from joining them for an amazing meal. The service staff is incredibly friendly and very willing to make suggestions if you are not familiar with Tibetan/Indian cuisine. They will also add the appropriate heat to suit your tastes using what they call the spice-o-meter, which ranges from 1 for kids to 5 for the very brave. I've had a few lunches and dinners there, and everything was thoughtfully prepared and delicious. They also have a little tienda to the side selling trinkets from the region. Don't miss an opportunity to dine in this little gem!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojai, california
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fine Tibetan food in surprising location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had lunch there today for the first time. It was a light luncheon, so experience was somewhat limited with their diverse food offerings, but very pleasing. Service was courteous and unhurried.
Off the Avenue in Ventura, one would not expect this family run ethnic restaurant there... but there it is! A nice surprise, at the opposite end of Vons, sharing their ample parking lot.
I expect to go back soon and try a lot more of their specialties!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.