We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
San Diego, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The rooms were a little bit rundown but, otherwise, no complaints. The size of the room was very comfortable, the happy hour was a nice touch, and it was a quick walk to the beach, nearby parks, and plenty of shops and restaurants. We were really impressed by the variety of breakfast options. Our room was on the side facing away from the freeway. No ocean views but it was nice and quiet. A great budget option in Ventura.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    119
    64
    26
    23
See reviews for
74
107
24
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel is a little worn but makes it up with great Breakfast and great spacious rooms. Definitely worth the stay. Room was great for my family of three and had lots of space for my three year old son. 42" flat screens in the room and great spread for breakfast. They even have a welcome event in the evenings.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We arrived a little early and the first room they gave us was sub-standard, especially the bathroom. Having stayed here before we knew to ask for another room, which was an improvement. We parked in the garage, but repeatedly had trouble using the elevator. It turns out the card reader has been broken for a while, and although we saw someone working on it later, it was still hit or miss after that. When we turned on the TV and many basic cable channels were missing (you can get Fox News, but not MSNBC) we had to resort to live streaming Rachel Maddow on their lobby computer. The staff explained they'll need to rewire the whole hotel to get more channels, and they can't afford the disruption that will cause. I tried to speak with the owner several times, but he was always "unavailable" and never responded. We finally decided to move to another hotel for the rest of our stay in Ventura.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every action to make sure that all guests are affected as little as possible during their stay. Thank you for taking the time in writing a review and we hope for another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had stayed here before and planned to stay often since my daughter now lives in Ventura, but never again . . . they have lost a customer for their entire chain.

We arrived at 11:00 at night, after driving 17 hours, to find that they had cancelled our reservation and given our room away. No empathy, no offer to help, no suggestions for other hotels. The front desk agent had a scowl on her face, no name tag, and NO customer service training (11:00 p.m. June 26th).

Apparently, when the hotel ran my VISA at 6:00 p.m., they received a notice to contact VISA. (Everything was OK, VISA said it just looked fishy because fuel was being purchased up and down I-5; we were driving from Portland). The hotel NEVER called Visa, never called my cell phone, and while they SAID they called my home phone, there was no record of the call and no message. They just CANCELLED the reservation with no notice. VISA said they received no call; if they had, they would have approved the charges.

I travel extensively, and have never had such poor customer service. . . ever! The front desk agent was rude! I asked her if she had another suggestion for a hotel, and her answer was "Nope."

Luckily, Marriott and Visa to the rescue. They booked me immediately, upgraded me, and VISA paid the difference in the hotel rate.

Just Say No to Ventura Country Inn & Suites. Stay at the Ventura Marriott or the Oxnard Residence Inn. Both are AWESOME!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and we apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every action to secure payment and contact the guest if there is an issue. Again we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose-Town USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The facilities are a little worn, the room was a bit dank, and the location was odd. That said, it was a decent hotel and served one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever had in a hotelnof this class. Very friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our family loves this hotel! We have been staying there since my daughter was born over eleven years ago. It is our spot! Walking distance to Main Street, free COMPLETE breakfast for each of us, free(minus the tip) happy hour with wine, beer, and snacks, big room with two big beds, clean hotel, two sinks, one inside the bathroom, and one just outside the bathroom door, perfect for multiple needs and children. I have used the second one to wash baby bottles and use my drying rack. You'll want the ocean side, because you can see the water and the palm trees in the distance if you look past the train tressle. It is not glamorous-it's not the Westin or the Hyatt--but you'll usually come in under a hundred bucks a night, sometimes $60-70, depending on when.
The same woman has been serving happy hour for over 30 years, as has the breakfast cook/server. We love Ventura and we love the Country Inn and Suites. It's also a short walk to the pier and beach playground for kids. Can't go wrong with this hotel!!!! :)

Room Tip: Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is right next to the freeway, but we had a room on the opposite end of the hotel and we did not hear much traffic. In fact, the freeway did not bother us at all. The rooms definitely need updating, but they were clean, of decent size and acceptable enough for our quick weekend stay in Ventura. There was a microwave, fridge and a flat screen tv in the room which was nice to have available. The pool was small, and there was a jacuzzi right next to it and the kids were happy using both. There is a nightly happy hour and a morning breakfast that serves a good variety of options. There was plenty of parking, including an underground parking lot. The hotel was fine for our quick stay. Met our needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Address: 298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Carlson, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.