We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“cozy and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a great overnight stay here with my friend when we went for a mini vacation in Ventura Beach. It wasn't a new hotel but the you can tell that it's really clean and they keep it tidy. It was walking distance to the beach which is why we booked it.

the amenities are great considering the price. We had a big LCD TV (56-inch, i believe). We got the 2 queen-bed room and the space was great. We had a hair dryer, a safe, fridge and hot iron.

I love their complimentary breakfast too. Good money on the price of our stay.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    108
    61
    24
    21
See reviews for
68
98
23
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is the only Country Inn where I've stayed that was not built as a Country Inn. It is obvious this place used to be another chain. Partly because of that, you will not get the quality you're expecting. No cookies at the front desk like every other location has.

WiFi was not working when I stayed here. This is completely unacceptable in my opinion. It is 2014, and for what you pay, you are well within your rights to expect it to just work. Staff were aware of the problem, but had no idea if or when it would be fixed. Because of this issue, I had to find another hotel so I could get my work done. Needless to say, that was an immense hassle. (There was no wired ethernet in the room.)

Parking is terrible. You'll be lucky to get a space in the dingy underground area, but more likely you'll be forced into one of the disconnected side lots. Other people have noted how loud it is here. They aren't kidding. The building is VERY close to the 101 freeway with a sad concrete bridge blocking the view of the ocean.

Breakfast was below average for Country Inn. There were no DIY waffles, nothing like yogurt and granola. I'm amused at the other reviews lauding their "free breakfast." It isn't free; you ARE paying for it. I was given a meal ticket, which is another odd thing, and indicates to me that they've had problems with people wandering in off the street and helping themselves. It wouldn't surprise me in this sketchy neighborhood.

The room was reasonably clean, but dated. Carpet was stained in one place and the bathroom paint was cracked and peeling. Leaky, old shower head. The A/C unit was loud and rattled like crazy.

If you're looking for a cheap place in this area, this one may be acceptable. Just know what you're getting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our room was quite large, with a couch, refrigerator, two sinks, and flat screen TV. The hotel had a number of useful amenities, including an excellent free breakfast (with eggs, meat etc), free parking, a coin-op guest laundry (only one washer & dryer though), and free beer and wine at happy hour. Our room faced away from the freeway and was reasonably quiet.

A few negatives were the weird, flickering fluorescent lights of varying shades of yellow throughout the hotel common areas, and the ridiculously slow and noisy elevator.

Overall though, considering the price we paid (about $80), I feel the amenities make this hotel an excellent value.

Room Tip: The north side faces away from the freeway and is reasonably quiet (no water views though). Rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

the whole experience was just seamless, staff was accomadating polite and informative,the rooms were immaculate, very comfortable and spacious, it was very centally located which is wonderfulyi would stay again and again, the room rate was very economica,for what you get,im a very satisfied customerl

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Everything looks old and outdated, not so friendly staff and the free food was not good enough to eat for free. I would definitely stay somewhere else next time. The only thing I did like was the tv and the air conditioning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Let's start with the "B" health dept rating I saw posted in the breakfast area. Not a good sign -- they probably don't keep something hot enough (I didn't ask). My understanding is that for the health dept to give out a "B" instead of an "A," things aren't adding up to a good standard of cleanliness.

That being said, the rest of our stay was well above average. The staff is friendly, the rooms are well-equipped and spacious, and the location is fabulous. It's an easy walk to either downtown Ventura or the pier/beach. We had a room facing town -- so no views there -- but our niece had a room with a partial ocean view and balcony. But her balcony was noisy because of being near the freeway and the view was obstructed, so don't expect much as far as that goes.

Would I stay there again? Yes, because it's a perfect location and the rooms are nice. But I would plan to eat breakfast out because of that B rating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a really good value in Ventura. The rooms are large with a mircrowave/small refrigerator included. Breakfast in the morning was good, had lots of hot options including eggs, bacon, hash browns, waffles, biscuits and gravy and oatmeal. There was fresh fruit, muffins, toast etc. Apples were left out all day should you want a snack. In the evening from 5 to 7 there was free beer and wine. A nice touch, we thought.

Staff was friendly. Aaron at breakfast was always cheerful and front desk staff greeted us with a smile. While they don't have an exercise room on-site, just ask at the front desk, and you'll be handed a pass to use at the nearby gym on Main St. Very nice gym, clean with professional help should you desisre that.

My only negative would be that the hotel facility itself could use some freshening up. The carpet in the lobby area was held down with some kind of tape, running the width of the room. Not very nice. The borrow the book area had something like 10 useable books. The breakfast sitting area was pretty stark, maybe some flowers or something else to soften it?

Our room had a partial ocean view. We had been told at check in that it was noisy, she wanted to give us the quieter side, but we preferred having a view. You could definitely hear the train and the freeway, so if noise bothers you, you'll want to pack some earplugs or agree to the quieter side of the hotel.

It's an easy walk to Main Street, which is the heart of old town Ventura. About an 8-10 minute walk, past a very pretty park. Main Street is loaded with restaurants, pretty much any kind of food you'd want at any price point. Lots of cute shops too. The Ventura Mission is down Main Street, perhaps about 15 minutes once you get to Main and Chestnut.

If you're a fan of the fictional character, Perry Mason, his creator, Earl Stanley Gardner practiced law here. Google Earl Stanley Gardner and Ventura, and you'll find a small walking tour that might be of interest.

We would be happy to return to this hotel and feel that they do a good job.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the freeway and train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Address: 298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.