We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an okay hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Highland, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just an okay hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Everything looks old and outdated, not so friendly staff and the free food was not good enough to eat for free. I would definitely stay somewhere else next time. The only thing I did like was the tv and the air conditioning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    109
    61
    24
    21
See reviews for
68
99
23
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Let's start with the "B" health dept rating I saw posted in the breakfast area. Not a good sign -- they probably don't keep something hot enough (I didn't ask). My understanding is that for the health dept to give out a "B" instead of an "A," things aren't adding up to a good standard of cleanliness.

That being said, the rest of our stay was well above average. The staff is friendly, the rooms are well-equipped and spacious, and the location is fabulous. It's an easy walk to either downtown Ventura or the pier/beach. We had a room facing town -- so no views there -- but our niece had a room with a partial ocean view and balcony. But her balcony was noisy because of being near the freeway and the view was obstructed, so don't expect much as far as that goes.

Would I stay there again? Yes, because it's a perfect location and the rooms are nice. But I would plan to eat breakfast out because of that B rating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a really good value in Ventura. The rooms are large with a mircrowave/small refrigerator included. Breakfast in the morning was good, had lots of hot options including eggs, bacon, hash browns, waffles, biscuits and gravy and oatmeal. There was fresh fruit, muffins, toast etc. Apples were left out all day should you want a snack. In the evening from 5 to 7 there was free beer and wine. A nice touch, we thought.

Staff was friendly. Aaron at breakfast was always cheerful and front desk staff greeted us with a smile. While they don't have an exercise room on-site, just ask at the front desk, and you'll be handed a pass to use at the nearby gym on Main St. Very nice gym, clean with professional help should you desisre that.

My only negative would be that the hotel facility itself could use some freshening up. The carpet in the lobby area was held down with some kind of tape, running the width of the room. Not very nice. The borrow the book area had something like 10 useable books. The breakfast sitting area was pretty stark, maybe some flowers or something else to soften it?

Our room had a partial ocean view. We had been told at check in that it was noisy, she wanted to give us the quieter side, but we preferred having a view. You could definitely hear the train and the freeway, so if noise bothers you, you'll want to pack some earplugs or agree to the quieter side of the hotel.

It's an easy walk to Main Street, which is the heart of old town Ventura. About an 8-10 minute walk, past a very pretty park. Main Street is loaded with restaurants, pretty much any kind of food you'd want at any price point. Lots of cute shops too. The Ventura Mission is down Main Street, perhaps about 15 minutes once you get to Main and Chestnut.

If you're a fan of the fictional character, Perry Mason, his creator, Earl Stanley Gardner practiced law here. Google Earl Stanley Gardner and Ventura, and you'll find a small walking tour that might be of interest.

We would be happy to return to this hotel and feel that they do a good job.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the freeway and train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Love this place staff is very nice and attentive , rooms are clean my family enjoys staying here when we come to Ventura, I have only one complaint regarding the security guard and it has been bothering me I have a Handicap placard and parked in one of the stalls on new years eve( 3 am) and the security guard MADE me move my truck because " its too long " he said. I told him that cars can pass by fine if the cars parked in the loading zone behind me weren't parked there. He said "that's employee parking and the truck (white) is mine so you need to move. Oh i see i told him its an inconvenience for you to move your truck although i paid $ 177.00 to stay here I have to move.? yes he said you can park underground Hello do you know ADA ( American disability act) I might just report this to them also this persons actions are/were unacceptable besides him this hotel is a great place to stay I hope management addresses this employee

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Weekend getaway with the kids. Our first visit here, we had been to the one in Port Hueneme and the accommodations are very similar. Excellent value (it's off-season), great staff, wonderful hot breakfast. Comfy pillows, comfy beds, everything was nice and clean, no funky smells. Short walk to beach and pier. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I am impressed very spacious room, clean. I have a king bed a pull out couch microwave and mini fridge and still have lots of room in here. I have a partial view of the beach and walking distance to the pier. Freeway access and lots oif shops and restaurants nearby. Happy happy

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great value here. Walking distance to the beach and downtown. I always enjoy my stay here. They have a very friendly staff and serve a nice free breakfast in the morning. The rooms are big and clean. Always a jar of chocolate chip cookies at the front desk ( my favorite ). For the young families, the beach has a nice play area right there in the sand next to the pier. For folks with no kids, downtown is a great place to shop,eat, and hang out. The Bombay is real close, we like to go there to dance, hear live music and comedy.

Room Tip: Could here a baby crying next room over. Woke us up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Address: 298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Carlson, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.