We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we stayed at on our West Coast Road Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Best hotel we stayed at on our West Coast Road Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was the nicest AND the cheapest place we stayed on a 2 week road trip up the coast. Their service is excellent. Breakfast is great. It is easy walking distance to the beach (in fact we could even see it from our room). You also get complementary use of a local gym nearby, which is way better than a crummy hotel gym. Ventura is a cute little town and the hotel is only a few blocks away from the main street. Couldn't believe the place was such a bargain!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    73
    48
    19
    20
See reviews for
45
71
18
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Overpriced, outdated, not clean. Balcony is not a balcony, it's an enclosed useless space. Rooms are large with a nice, large flat screen TV, breakfast is real deal with hot food, but that is end of good things. Train goes right by the windows in the middle of the night. Freeway noise is constant as this place literally sits on freeway. Parking is terrible if you arrive after 6PM. Elevator broken , had to use stairs - stairways filthy, even had beer cans on floor one night we returned after 8PM. Ice machine only gave about 10 ice cubes any time we used it. They don't replace glasses if you stay a few days and use up the cheap plastic ones they provide. Bathroom fixtures have finish worn off. Very dated in need of upgrade and cleaning. Had a floor lamp over in corner by itself, but no sitting chair to go with it. If its upgraded, hate to have seen it before. Stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: If you stay here, insist on room that does not face towards freeway. Lose ocean view, but gain quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room and the facility with our staff to ensure that everything is up to Country Inn and Suites by Carlson standards. We do hope for another opportunity in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The elevator is an issue. It was out of order both nights of our stay. (They did have it working during the days.) We were able to take the stairs. The breakfast was good, and the staff was very nice. The rooms were fine, although the "balcony" was a little unusual. We booked 2 rooms for two nights for a wedding in Santa Barbara. The price was better and the drive was not bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stopped here overnight on my way back from the MotoGP at Laguna Seca. Nothing particularly fancy, but well maintained and clean. Got a prepaid rate of only about $100/night before taxes.

Little awkard to find, as it shares its entrance with that of the southbound entrance to the 101 freeway, but that also makes it an easy-on if you are going back south.

Room was quite large with a sitting area with a couch. If I remember correctlly it had a refrigerator as well, but dont' hold me to it.

There are some good restaurants on S. Calfornia street only about 2-3 blocks north of the hotel so you've got choices of a place to eat. The complimentary breakfast was not bad either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Having stayed here several times through the years, I was pleased to see the hotel and rooms have been refreshed and updated. New carpet throughout, and new furniture. Comfortable, clean room. Friendly check in staff. Breakfast very good, with friendly helpful staff making sure all needs were met. Yes, there is the train and freeway, but lucky for us, we are sound sleepers, so no bother there. Will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is older. Hallways and lobby have no air conditioner smells damp. Very noisy room facing freeway try to get other side of Hall. The one elevator is used by the staff that cleans and maintains hotel as well as guests seems like it needs maintenance. I used stairs half the time. Breakfast is good. Location to downtown is good. Beach access is close but this part of beach is very dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were decent, but the halls smelled damp and as if they tried to musk the smell of depression with off brand Lysol. Of course the lobby smells of old Indian food, and the staff members are extremely rude and yell all night to where you can't even understand what's going on. We won't be staying here again I'd rather dig a ditch out in the field somewhere and lie than deal with this service again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. We value all of our guests and everyone's opinion. We hope for another opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Address: 298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Carlson, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.