We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All a tad tired...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Granada, Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“All a tad tired...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We decided to have a weekend in Ventura, CA, and decided that the Country Inn, a little way back from the beach, was a reasonable price. It was an easy walk to the beach, but after crossing a major freeway and a railway between the hotel and the beach! We paid for a sea-view, and could just about see it through the struts of the railroad bridge. And the noise of course was deafening.
Still the hotel was close to the town centre which made up for it somewhat...

The hotel itself was full. We got the impression the staff were rushed off their feet and tired, and it looked as if the cleaners could barely cope. We didn't help matters by lying in on Saturday morning, so they cleaned our room late. The bed was made and the towels changed but little else was tidied up, and the outside window was filthy and covered in bird-poo. The room as a whole had a tired feel and needed a good spring clean. There was no bottled water left in the room, even the stuff some hotels make you pay through the nose for.

Carlson are trying to emulate the very successful Hilton Homewood Suites model of complementary facilities including "free" breakfasts and a Happy Hour. But while the Hilton are generally relaxed about self service, Carlson are clearly worried about portion control. During Happy Hour a woman sat resolutely by the beer tap doling the precious substance out in small plastic glasses, and at breakfast another portion guardian doled out two transparent strips of bacon, two small greasy sausages and a couple of spoonfuls of scrambled egg. We thought about asking for more, but wondered whether we'd get the same reception Oliver Twist had in the orphanage "What, MORE?!?" Perhaps I'm being unfair to the hotel here, but the guardian was telling almost every hungry guest that it was NOT self-service. Additionally, there was a somewhat limited range of bread and fruit.

One last annoying thing. I have a painful back and find it hard to bend down. However, to plug in my computer I had to crawl under the desk and pull out the light socket. Sad, but the age of the rooms are probably pre-90s.

Good things to say? The bed was large and comfortable, the aircon worked well, and the shower was good. But I expect that as basic for the prices we paid.

Room Tip: Get away from the railroad and freeway. Don't pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    73
    48
    19
    20
See reviews for
45
71
18
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good - Staff friendly and helpful. Room big, clean and well presented, no problems there. Breakfast included hot food and really good. Very good value. Nice fish restaurant in town, within walking distance.

Not so Good - Location not great. Huge railway bridge and freeway flyover just to the side of the hotel. We asked for a room on the opposite side to this, so less noise. Did not use the outdoor pool as so much noise from the freeway and trains.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you're looking for a spacious, clean room, on budget, this is it. The furniture an bedding were relatively new, and nice looking. A big flat screen TV hung on the wall. The bathroom was lower end (fiberglass tub and Corian countertops), but clean. Carpet was newer. The complementary breakfast was better than some I've had at other hotels and offered biscuits, gravy, sausage links, bacon, scrambled eggs, hash browns, oatmeal, assorted breads, juices, coffee, dry cereal, and fresh fruit. My room was quiet, on the railroad side of the hotel, and I only heard the train go by once while I was still awake. (when I checked in, the office clerk asked me if I wanted the "quiet" side of the hotel, and I did. I think the other side might be noisier because it faces the freeway.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The outside isn't super nice, but the inside is great! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable! Very spacious! The breakfast was awesome. Getting a spread like that would make the stay worth it. It's near downtown and relatively in walking distance from the pier. We had one train go by but it really wasn't that loud at all. The rooms don't really get good views, but for the price and all you get it is a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Spacious king suite with all the amenities: Micro, mini fridge, big flat screen with lots of TV stations, some HD. Ocean view. Others complained about train bridge between room and view, but I actually liked that. Appreciated the very early checkin. Beware: they charge extra if you want to connect an apple tv or other device, first time I've run into this in 7 years of traveling almost full time! And it isn't worth it, the wifi here is embarrassingly slow, it won't stream video, you can't even pull up photos on Flicker.

I could not get either computer in the lobby to work. Parking can be an issue, especially if you are oversized and can't fit into garage. Well located within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Reviews were mixed on this property, so wasn't sure what to expect. Older property, but well maintained. The area is littered with lovely old homes from the 1900's. Warm inviting lobby with large fireplace and chairs. Coffee and tea available at all times in the lobby and in the spacious hospitality room. Full breakfast bar in a.m. Fruit and wine in the p.m. Rooms were spacious with large TV, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Vanities were spacious and actually had room to unpack my cosmetic bad. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. We had to sign a waiver that we would be charged $250 if we smoked in the room. Very quiet at night. Will definitely stay there again. Close to Fairgrounds, pier and downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Address: 298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Carlson, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.