We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Rooms were somewhat updated, bathroom was not. Old, and fairly dirty. Breakfast was ok but the dining chairs were so dirty I hardly dared to sit on them. Pool area is loud right next to the freeway. Overall an ok hotel if your just staying the night and leaving early. Just don't expect much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    108
    60
    24
    21
See reviews for
67
98
23
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Attention everyone! Do not allow Country Inn & Suites by Carlton Ventura to assign you to room 226! My guess is they give it automatically to anyone who pre-pays! I though it was odd that the two beds were scrunched onto the far left side of the room and the left side corner was entirely bare of any furniture. It was not until the dead of night that the generator-like rhythmic hum in the corner was heard loud and clear. This sound cannot be drowned out with the in-room fan, earplugs and a pillow over one’s head. The entire staff feigns knowledge of the problem. I left the hotel at 12:30 a.m. and drove home over 80 miles rather than stay and listen to this all night.

Room Tip: Do not book a room at this facilty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your honest review! Comments of this nature help us pinpoint areas of the hotel that are in need of our attention. The hotel's maintenance staff has been assigned to room #226 today in order to locate and correct the problem.

I can personally assure you that we do not assign rooms based on method of payment! We are genuinely sorry that you were unable to sleep due to noise and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was a pleasure to open the door for the first time and see a big, clean room. Although we didn't need two queen sized beds, we got them and a comfortable recliner. The room was modern and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were perfect for a good night's sleep. The breakfast was very good, including sausage, eggs, bacon, waffles and assorted fruit and juices.
Very good hotel for vacationers or business travelers. Price was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason93308@aol.com
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First of all the staff is friendly. The balcony view isn't bad. There is a steel train trestle. A semi obstructed view of the beautiful pacific ocean. On the down side The 101 freeway is about 15 feet off the balcony. The anto noise is loud. Almost as loud as the 3 AM Freight train. An ocean view for less than a $100 this is what you can expect. Over all the room is average.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was a little unsure when booking this hotel because of the reviews on the noise from the freeway. Sure enough, the hotel is literally on the edge of the 101 freeway. I am a light sleeper so we showed up a little early and asked for a room away from the freeway and our stay was GREAT!! Walk two (short) blocks and you're in the middle of town with lots of shops and a ton of restaurants. On the last day, I walked half block to Thompson street, then one block to Ash (walk right and cross the train tracks) and found the foot bridge that all the locals were using that takes you over the freeway and right to the pier and beach. The sunset was beautiful and we though of dining at the restaurant on the pier, but had planned to eat in town so we walked back after sunset. The rooms are big and there was also a refrigerator and microwave in our room which is big plus for me. There is also a complimentary breakfast that's COMPLETE with bacon and eggs, fruits pastries and cooked oatmeal. I love this place BUT not sure if I could take the noise on the freeway side. AC/Heater unit is a little noisy in rooms. I will stay here again went visiting this area.

Room Tip: Request an inside room, away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We needed a short 3-day getaway, and also wanted to stay relatively close to home, so Ventura filled the bill perfectly. Our room was immaculate, and ready when we arrived to check in. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and huge - we loved the hard bed - we booked the king extra large room and it was perfect for our needs. Aaron, the breakfast attendant, and Jackie, the "Happy Hour" lady were both extremely efficient and attentive, being certain that everything was fresh, hot and tasty. We were astounded that the breakfast was SO sumptuous. We counted at least 19 different items. The maids were amazingly fast, courteous and thorough. The front desk staff was also top-notch, and were VERY good at baking chocolate chip cookies! They were right on top of all of our requests.There is an EXCELLENT restaurant (The Vagabond) within a very short walking distance. We will DEFINITELY be staying here again!!

Room Tip: The "ocean view" is through a train trestle.... We recommend the "boring" view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Front desk was not very happy to see us but it was Thanksgiving so...there's that. As our kids were going to sleep we called down to see if there was a corkscrew we could borrow so we could enjoy a holiday toast on the balcony together. Front desk said no. This didn't sit right with me as I knew they hosted a happy hour every night so I called back and pushed on that a bit and the woman said we could bring the wine down and open it. 5 minutes later she called and "suggested we hurry" bc the bartender was getting ready to leave. My husband went down with the wine and she had left. Are you kidding? So he walked to a nearby liquor store and bought one.

Otherwise: nice bedding, clean room, decent breakfast.

Oh- if you're sensitive to noise- the train goes by and is audible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. I have addressed your comments with my staff and we agree that having corkscrews available for our guests is the best thing moving forward.

We appreciate your comments and will use it to better our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Address: 298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.