We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine. Just that.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine. Just that.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Front desk was not very happy to see us but it was Thanksgiving so...there's that. As our kids were going to sleep we called down to see if there was a corkscrew we could borrow so we could enjoy a holiday toast on the balcony together. Front desk said no. This didn't sit right with me as I knew they hosted a happy hour every night so I called back and pushed on that a bit and the woman said we could bring the wine down and open it. 5 minutes later she called and "suggested we hurry" bc the bartender was getting ready to leave. My husband went down with the wine and she had left. Are you kidding? So he walked to a nearby liquor store and bought one.

Otherwise: nice bedding, clean room, decent breakfast.

Oh- if you're sensitive to noise- the train goes by and is audible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenturaCountryInn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. I have addressed your comments with my staff and we agree that having corkscrews available for our guests is the best thing moving forward.

We appreciate your comments and will use it to better our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    94
    53
    20
    21
See reviews for
61
79
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a lovely old town! Quite quaint. There are big soulless resort hotels along the Northern beach but you are well out of town. We had a good look round this neat appealing town. Hotel choice seemed good but closer inspection revealed some disappointments. We settled on Country Inn as we could easily walk into town. We had a balcony view of the hills on the third floor. Beware, the rooms on the coastal side are next to the railroad and the freeway. Complimentary wine and beer between 5 and 7 p.m. but they are offered in the bare breakfast room. Free acceptable breakfast. You could do a lot worse than this in Ventura !

Room Tip: Balconies only on third floor. Always ask for town side.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location is perfect: close to downtown, close to the beach, and right next to highway 101. Facilities seem old, but everything was clean and in working condition, so for the price 10/10. The complimentary breakfast was simple, but good: cereal, fruits, eggs... the usual, great if you want to eat and get going. Rooms were very clean, and service was quick.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are away from the highway, so quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The room was quite large and clean and the breakfast good also.
The girl at check in was not terribly friendly and really didn't explain about free Internet or talk about breakfast .
The remote did not work and the windows needed cleaning . The elevator was a little iffy.
The location is convenient, and overall it is ok..but just not the Country Inn we are used to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have stayed here many times over many years. The facility appears clean and pleasantly staffed, the rooms are large and very well appointed including microwaves and refrigerators.
Breakfasts are plentiful and convenient. If you want an elegant breakfast go to an elegant restaurant and pay for it. This meal is included. There is a wine and snack hour every afternoon included.
The pool is small but the beach is only about a 5 minute walk. Take your choice. The freeway goes by beneath you so it can be noisy.
The rooms face either the ocean or the mountains, so they say. The ocean view is well obstructed by a steel train bridge that is well used and quite noisy when a train goes over. If you like trains, that view is for you. If you like quiet, the mountain view is for you. It is not much of a view but more of the city. Besides, one does not go to Ventura to sit in their hotel room.
Parking is free and access to the rooms from the garage is only with a room key.
Ventura is a lovely and still sort of quaint town that is near Los Angeles but far enough away to feel you are away. It is only a 30 minute drive to Santa Barbara and about half the room cost as Santa Barbara. Enjoy Santa Barbara but stay in Ventura

Room Tip: The ocean view is well obstructed by a steel train bridge that is well used and quite noisy when a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jellico, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Country Inn & Suites in Ventura, California, is located somewhat close to the beach -- except there is a busy freeway in between. If you could remove the freeway, it would be a good place to stay. But with it there, it hinders a nice view of the ocean, and what's worse, you hear the noise from the highway all night long. Another hotel chain located their property on the beach side of the freeway (but I don't know what they did about the highway noise).

But the bed was nice, and the breakfast was very good. The staff seemed friendly, and I had no other problems during my stay there.

If you choose to stay at this hotel, I highly recommend that you bring ear plugs if you want a good night's sleep. I'm NOT a light sleeper, and I had a difficult time getting a good night's sleep there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura

Address: 298 Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Carlson, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura Hotel Ventura
Country Inn Ventura
Ventura Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;