We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste is what it's all about at Wood Ranch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill

Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill
3449 East Main Street, Ventura, CA 93003
805.620.4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 387 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Taste is what it's all about at Wood Ranch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

You can smell wood ranch from a mile off, and that's a good thing. Their rolls and mac and cheese are write-home-about-worthy, and the bbq (ribs, pulled pork, try-tip) are all stellar. Best $19 sirloin steak in town for sure. They always get the cooking temperature right, and the service is always friendly and fast. They are sometimes VERY busy, and don't take reservations. Show up, get your name on the list, and have a drink at the bar or hang out under the heat lamps by the entry way. For a full scale high end bbq chain, these guys nail it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Mac n cheese, tri tip and sweet smashed potatoes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always order exactly what I said in the title. Mac n cheese so creamy and rich you can't help but make those mmmmm noises. This place is always busy on the weekends, expect a long wait, or take-out!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wood Ranch has a great family friendly environment. Delicious food and huge portions. We like to go with the grandparents and kids for a fun night out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Manager at Wood Ranch Ventura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from dinner at Wood Ranch in Ventura, CA. Prior to this visit I had an issue with a gift card/promotional card that was not accepted by any of the staff, including a prior manager. I was not a happy customer and I wrote a rather negative review of my experience. I am happy to report that the restaurant manager, Brian Watson, was able to resolve the issue. I told Brian that I had purchsed a gift card for a colleague for $50 and by doing so I earned a $10 promotional card. When I tried to use the card at a dinner on another night, my waitperson informed me the car could not be used on a Friday or Saturday night even though nowhere on the card any limits on the card usage were printed. Tonight Brian gave me credit for the card and now I'm a happy customer. Brian understands the concept of keeping the customer happy and by accepting my promotional card that other Wood Ranch employees failed to do, has made me want to eat at the restaurant once again. Thanks Brian for being a real professional. ( I found out during our conversation that Brian is a graduate of Pepperdine University with a marketing and advertising degree. The Wood Ranch people were smart enouth to hire him. People like Brian in management make Wood Ranch the quality restaurant that owners of other restaurants try to emulate. ) Jim Steele, Ventura CA

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy Ribs and BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great atmosphere and yummy food. The Chicken BBQ salud is so yummy and so is the baby back pork ribs. Price is a little high but then you get a great place to celebrate or visit and hey don't forget the garlic butter bisquits they give you....sooooo good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wood Ranch BBQ & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.