We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Family Place With Very Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spasso Cucina italiana

Spasso Cucina italiana
1140 S.Seaward Ave., Ventura, CA 93001
+1 805-643-2777
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 382 restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Zephyr Ct.
Description: Spasso Cucina Italiana is a delightful Italian/Roman cuisine located just steps from the Pacific Ocean. A great setting and great cuisine makes this a must visit for all destination diners. A great menu offers several of your favorites as well as some of ours. Outdoor seating is available and we welcome you to join us for your next dining encounter.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Solid Family Place With Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The main dining room is separated from the bar which made for a quiet, private feeling dinner.

There were six of us and everyone was very satisfied with his/her meal. The pasta was perfectly cooked, the sauce very good. The lasagna is particularly good.\The portions are huge.

The service was just on the edge of intrusive, but they kept an eye on everything. Wine list is not impressive.

Parking is tough, but the meal is worth the effort.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    58
    18
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“" Sweet charming neighborhood restaurant "”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I rented a small cottage for a week on the beach. The owners recommended it in their information book. The first night we ordered pizza and a caesar sale delivered. Totally pleased with the order especially the side red pepper and parmesan cheese served in a small container. We then decided to try the restaurant one evening and sat at the bar in the back. The food was quite good and the service and atmosphere together made us satisfied. We will be traveling again in February and definitely will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Authentic italian food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've been to Italy several times, and this place can beat some italian restaurants in Rome as well. Great Pizzas and solid Tiramisu. It needs more wine on the list but they have great cocktails. I've tried the Spasso Martini and I loved it, if you like Negroni that's what you want to order. Service was fantastic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, New Hampshire
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I discovered this hidden gem late august, we were delightly surprised about the food and the service, especially the thin crust italian pizza was just like Italy. We'll be back

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had dinner at the Italian place across the street from Spasso on our first night in town. It was not good. So we decided to try Spasso the next night, and were very pleased. We shared the eggplant parmesan appetizer. It was a huge serving size and every bite was cheesy deliciousness. One friend had pork chops, which she loved, and the other had osso busco, which he devored. I had the salmon with creamy mustard sauce. Excellent, fresh fish, with crispy skin: yum! We came back on our last night in town and had another great dining experience. We each tried something different: ravioli with pesto cream sauce, rigatoni with pancetta and I had polenta with sausage. The food was consistently excellent, followed by desert this time: creme brulee and lemon/berry zambaione. Superb! Would recommend this restaurant to any visitor of the Ventura area!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spasso Cucina italiana also viewed

 

Been to Spasso Cucina italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spasso Cucina italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.