We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rex Motel

Rex Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rex Motel to your Saves list
Rex Motel
2406 E. Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Frisco, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A trip back in time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had the handicap room and it was spacious, quiet, and comfortable. The bathroom was one big shower and completely tiled on all surfaces. The king-sized bed was clean and comfortable. The furnishings were coordinated if a bit retro. The property is really something out of the 60s with carports for each unit and a central court with small islands. One of the problems with that was the lack of electrical outlets due to old design. It was far from luxurious so, if your self-image suffers when you stay in such a place, then stay away. We had no problems with it although the price was just a tad high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
10
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I get that people have different standards for rooms, but in my opinion, lots of people just like to complain. My husband and I stayed here in room 1 with three of our friends in room 2. We have no real complaints. I would suggest they make the bedside plugs a little more accessible for phone charging, but I find this is an issue at most motels.

From start to finish.....
When I originally called to price things out in the area, the young man who answered was friendly and helpful, not mention patient. I originally booked 3 rooms at $80 a night for 2-4 nights, with people checking in at various times over the weekend. No issues. I eventually had to cancel one room because my group changed plans. Courteous service and no issues.

We were stuck in traffic on the way there so we called to assure them we'd be there but closer to 930-10pm. No issues. We checked in with the friendly young guy who originally booked us. Yes, parking is a little weird. But we never had an issue finding a spot in 5 days of coming and going. Yes some carports had furniture or supplies in them. But our friend was told she could park in any one that was empty. So it didnt seen to be a problem.

We were given a REAL KEY not a card :) Door had a deadbolt and a knob lock , the later of which locked automatically upon closing.

The room looked, smelled, and was clean. Zero issues with cleanliness. Fridge, shower, bathroom, bedding were all above standard. No smoke smell in rooms 1 or 2. We found nothing gross or questionable. Considering this place is very near the beach, it was still not "moist" or "sticky" like some places are. AC was excellent. 3 windows were in great working order. The bathroom window was good since there wasn't an exhaust fan. The towels were clean, no stains or smells. Bedding was excellent (we always check for bugs; we're from Vegas). No weird stains or smells. Carpet was as clean as one can expect, no signs of visible dirt or debris. Lota of lights! And great natural light too.

Shower was phenomenal. Give it a minute or two to get hot, but you won't be disappointed. Very enjoyable shower, tho a liiiitle dark because of the heavy curtain. Not that difficult to see tho.

Mattresses were comfortable and we are spoiled with memory foam at home. Pillows were foam and "gel foam" so a little dense, but we liked them.

In room two the bed was a little close to the door and sometimes rubbed against it. But the girls who stayed there said it wasn't a problem.

The only "complaint" I guess I have is, the remote worked 80% of the time for volume. We probably should have asked for new batteries or another remote but it wasn't a huge deal. The TV control on the back worked fine. Lots of channels (news, Spanish, sports, kids, movies etc)

Housekeeping was all right. We could have used new towels the last day before checkout, but it wasn't a problem. If we had asked I'm sure we would have gotten them. But we didn't *shrug* Beds were always made. Trash was taken out. Personal items weren't moved. We were there for a convention so we had costumes and props and those were never bothered. Laptop wasn't touched.

Locally there is a good Jack in the Box right next door, and the worst Carl's Jr. across the street. Denny's, In-and-Out, and Starbucks are all 3-5 minutes away on Harbor. 24-hour Vons is nearby.

Check out was 11am and everything was great from start to finish. No one shady hanging out. No fights we could hear. No police cars at 2am.

I will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over The Silver State
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We made our fifth trip to the Rex recently. We made a reservation and asked for our favorite room. We arrived and found that our room had been occupied for the last 2 weeks, and the resident was still there. The young lady at the front desk apologized profusely and upgraded us to a larger room with a kitchen (at no extra cost)! All the pluses of previous trips were still in effect. The new management was just as kind and helpful as Mr. & Mrs. Paul, who ran the place for years (we wish them the best in their retirement). The furniture and TVs have been upgraded. There seems to be a real effort to improve an already good place to stay. The word seems to be out; the Rex has been booked up the last few times we've stayed, so make reservations in advance, I seriously doubt you can show up on a weekend and get a room. but if you're in Ventura for an unplanned stop, try anyway!

Room Tip: Don't want to tip you off! We may be coming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I have no idea why this motel cost as much as it did. I picked it hoping it would be a step up from Motel 6, but it was absolutely disgusting. There was food left over from the previous occupant in the refrigerator, the microwave was covered in spattered food and there were granola bar wrappers next to the bed. If those things weren't cleaned, I shudder to think what else wasn't cleaned either. Save your money and stay someplace cheaper, because those places will likely be the same if not cleaner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First thing I want to do is thank my wife for not killing me for booking a room here. I don't know what happened since the last folks reviewed this place, but I guarantee if you were driving by and saw it, you would keep going. We drove up and there was furniture in the parking stalls, a mobile home at the end of the lot, and really crappy looking cars parked around. It also had full time residents living in some of the rooms. Never a good sign. The place needs a bath. I spoke to a nice lady in the office who said they were the new owners and were renovating the place. My advice is to look elsewhere until you see up to date pictures showing the "new" Rex.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friends almost killed me (I made the reservations) when we arrived. From the outside this place seems like Bates Motel..yes, the place is a million years old.! BUT, our stay was great! Many other harbor area hotels are noisy and parking is a hassle. Not here, the interiors are clean, recently upgraded, and great for a night on your way somewhere else!
WiFi works well, staff was really sweet, helpful. And quiet, ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My friends and I had such a great time here. The room was clean, smelled nice, spacious and the Room came standard with mini-fridge and microwave. Employee I encountered was helpful and nice. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here if they're on a budget because the location could not be more ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Motel

Address: 2406 E. Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93003
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex Motel is located in Ventura, California right off of Highway 101. Rex Motel is also just minutes from the beach—5 if you’re driving, 15 if you’re on foot. Our convenient location makes for easy access to great shopping and dining around Ventura. Make Rex Motel your Ventura, California lodging and our friendly staff will take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.