We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and very run-down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rex Motel

Save Saved
You added Rex Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Rex Motel
2406 E. Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“overpriced and very run-down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel has free wi-fi, the rooms have a kitchenette with fridge and microwave, the bathroom and bedrooms are spacious. For the rest, the place is very run-down. Despite the several amenities, what I didn't like about this hotel is that it is very poorly kept, everything is old and, being cheap in the first place, it looks very shabby. That still wouldn't be a problem if not for the cost: is definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was quiet and it is close to the ocean front (by car) and many restaurants, stores, etc.
When I called about booking the reservation the woman was very abrupt w/me on the phone but when I stayed the woman who worked there was extremely pleasant and helpful about directions, etc. It is definitely a $50/night motel, nothing spectacular. But if you are travelling on a budget it was fine, big room and nice TV.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have had a great experience with Rex Motel, they rooms are very clean, the parking lot is great you have your own covered parking and a parking space in front of your motel room, some of the rooms have flat screen TV's. The people there are very friendly, and happy to accomodate your stay there, your are very close to everything, and your about 2 miles down from dowtown Ventura. I have been in alot of high end Hotels and I have had some of the worst stays at these places, staff with bad attitudes, room not clean, however this place VERY Nice! _Joe M.

Room Tip: Can call in advance if want the rooms with the flat screen TV's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great location.... close to the beach and alot of good dining. This was our second time staying at this hotel and it was once again a great experience. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. We will be staying again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

good value for money. Nice big private room. very clean. Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Right in the middle of ventura and if you have a car everything is just a minute away.
Very quiet environment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, Ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at this simple spot before when we just need a spot to sleep over night. The hotel is spartan at best, but will do in a pinch and is cheap. This time the hotel was the same. BUT, I left a bottle of wine, a bag with 4 huge home grown cucumbers and a whole flat of home grown tomatoes in the mini fridge when we left. I called from about 1 hr. away to ask if they had found it. As these items were to be a gift, I was willing to drive back to retrieve them. The desk person went to go check,but when I called back, she said all she found was the wine. The flat of tomatoes was on top of the wine, so they would have had to be moved to find the wine. The person repeatedly said there was nothing else in the refrigerator. I think they had tomato curry for lunch with a cucumber salad. We wont be staying there again no matter what the other hotels cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The room was spacious and clean, definitely a great deal for the price. Although the bathroom was a bit tight, the shower was newly tiled and the water pressure just fine. Management was very friendly. Location-wise, it only took minutes to drive to (and get free parking) in the downtown area where all the nice restaurants are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rex Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Motel

Address: 2406 E. Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93003
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex Motel is located in Ventura, California right off of Highway 101. Rex Motel is also just minutes from the beach—5 if you’re driving, 15 if you’re on foot. Our convenient location makes for easy access to great shopping and dining around Ventura. Make Rex Motel your Ventura, California lodging and our friendly staff will take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rex Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.