We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ventura Beach Marriott

Save Saved
You added Ventura Beach Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ventura Beach Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Escondido, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Spent just one night on our way up the PCH. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Couple of things prevented a higher rating: 1) hotel layout is strange, difficult to reach the lobby from the SE side of the hotel 2) have to pay extra to park as a guest 3) Noise (loud guests) in the hallway comes right through the door (or under it). State Park just across the street and very close to the beach. In house bar and restaurant were adequate. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Menace03,

We are glad to know your quick, overnight stay was an enjoyable one for you. We appreciate you pointing out that our staff was friendly and helpful and that your room accommodations were to your liking. We can completely understand and share your frustration about the noise level of other guests who do not respect the fact that they are in close proximity to other individuals who may be trying to sleep or enjoy some quiet time. Unfortunately, we have no control over this. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope we can welcome you back again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    175
    93
    20
    15
See reviews for
108
112
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location was excellent!

The positives about this hotel. The restaurant manager and his staff are EXCELLENT! They deserve 5 stars.

The negatives about this hotel. Everything will cost you extra. You have to pay for regular television, there is no mini refrigerator in the room, there was no soap in the bathrooms, the carpet was a mess, there was no complimentary coffee in the lobby AND the mattress were noisy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear YourAverageJoe88,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive and negative thoughts of our hotel. We are glad to know you were happy with the location and that you enjoyed your meal and excellent service at our restaurant, Pacifico. We apologize for housekeeping issues you encountered and items such as soap should be left in the rooms on a daily basis. Requests such as a mini refrigerator can be provided if requested and available. Our rooms do come equipped with coffee makers for your convenience and each room includes a 32-inch flat-screen TVs with premium movie channels as well as CNN and ESPN, free of charge. Our front desk is always ready to assist and help if any questions arise and provide what you need to make your stay an enjoyable one. We hope you will come back again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Small concierge lounge with no view, but does offer the typicall Marriott amenities. The rooms are decent and the lobby looks modern. Lastly, this place is dangerously close to In & Out (literally across the street) LOL

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Deana I,

It makes us very happy that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor members and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for July 4th holiday weekend for 3 days. Loved it! This is night and day compared to sister hotel Residence Inn in Oxnard (which is the opposite of good)!

We come here for July 4th holiday each year and have stayed at the Crown Plaza, Sheraton in Ventura; also Resident Inn (Oxnard). This hotel is now our favorite hotel, lobby is spacious and updated, never felt crowded even though hotel is full for holiday weekend. Room is spacious and updated. I'm a Marriott Platinum member, so I have access to Executive Lounge on Friday (lounge is closed for the weekend) where we got free full breakfast buffet, juice, soda and water (Scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, waffles, bagels). Great value. On the weekends, because lounge is closed, got coupons for continental breakfast buffet in the restaurant (but an upgrade for $8 to include eggs and bacon/sausage).

Convenient Location: Right off the freeway and across the street from In n out Burger. Short walk from the beach. We were going to the Ventura Fairgrounds and hotel was close.

Parking: Plenty of parking and well lit. Always found a parking spot. Hotel even has valet parking and full service bell staff to help with the luggage.

Pet Friendly: Had our dogs with us, hotel welcome the pets. There's a doggie poop area in the back and poop bags for us to use. Hotel keeps the dog poop area clean and smells clean.

Compared to other nearby hotels:
1) Sheraton: I am a Platinum SPG member and I like the Sheraton a lot, but the last time I stayed here, while the lobby was updated, the rooms were not as new but much larger. Hotel is also not full service, so no bell staff to help with the luggage or valet parking. Location is close to the harbor but not as close to the beach or Ventura Fair Grounds.

2) Crown Plaza: Location is closest to the the Fairgrounds and right on the beach walk. Lobby and rooms are updated. Biggest downside is the parking, on site lot is very small and hotel does not given guest preference in parking, and beach goers can simply pay to use the lot. So on weekends, had to park in the parking structure across the walkway from the hotel. It was just annoying. Also no full service bell man and valet. Biggest plus is this hotel is walking distance from downtown and beach front.

3) Residence inn River Ridge Oxnard: Stayed here several years ago and never will again. This is the farthest from Ventura and while updated, staff here is the worst. The rooms are spread out over separate buildings. Last time we stayed here, we were given rooms in a faraway building on the second floor with stairs and no elevator. Luggage cart only in main building lobby so we had to lug our luggage pretty far from the parking lot. We had to leave some luggage at the base of the stairs while we carried other luggage up, in the short 5 mins, my briefcase with laptop at the base of the stairs was stolen. Hotel staff did not care (and apparently there was a theft earlier that evening and they didn't tell us not to leave our luggage unguarded even for one minute), I never heard from the hotel for any apology. This year, had a banquet dinner here and the food was terrible (the "steak" was more like rawhide), our friends who reserved a handicap accessible room here (i.e. no second floor room with stairs) arrived late (since they drove down from the Bay Area) and since hotel is full, hotel only had a second floor room left available. So our 80 year old friend who walks with a cane had to go up and down the stairs daily (it took two of use to help her go up and down those stairs). Management and staff just told her hotel was full and that was all they had even though she booked a handicap room. Unbelievable!!! Stay away from this hotel.

So for around the same price, Marriott Ventura is our top choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Luvtosafari,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your 4th of July stay with us. We thank you for being a Marriott Platinum member and we are glad our hotel was able to provide the service and amenities you have come to expect from Marriott. Our location, pet friendly policy and excellent customer service are just a few of the reasons people choose to stay with us and we are glad you have made it your top choice to stay when in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is okay. The location is good. Just 5 minutes to the beach. The beach is nice. The Harbor village is a five minutes drive.

The pool in the hotel is a bit small.

There is a starbucks in the hotel, so that is good. The room is of a nice size and the beds were very comfortable.

Overall a nice place to stay. It;s not that lavish like other Mariott.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear fnaanurag,

We are happy to know you had a nice stay with us recently. Glad to know that your comfortable room, the location and The Starbucks in the hotel all helped to make your stay with us more enjoyable. We hope you will come back to stay again with us some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After a couple of years, i was surprised to return to the Marriott and find that it hasn't been updated. It's getting pretty tired. Rooms are still nice and big ;-) but as nearly everyone else notes, the charge to park and some of the other charges are a bit much. I notice that the management responds to every comment a little defensively - "Indeed we are competitive with other hotels in Ventura" -- the Crowne Plaza does NOT charge for parking, and even if it did, people aren't complaining that the Marriott is different than other hotels in this respect...they are just complaining that $13 to park is ridiculous when parking is not at a premium for hotel guests. Ventura is not exactly Santa Barbara and one wouldn't expect all kinds of premium charges, IMO.

The service and staff are very friendly, room service was quick and very good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear jhw516,

Thank you for posting your review of our property. We do our absolute best to maintain Marriott's high standards for service and hotel accommodations and we are glad you found everything to your liking. Our hotel fees, including the parking fees are consistent and competitive with other full-service hotels including the above mentioned property. We apologize if you did not feel you were receiving value for your money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed for two nights with my two teens for the Fourth of July weekend. The hotel was more than I anticipated for the Ventura area. The staff was friendly, courteous, and very helpful. The lobby was exceptionally bright and my kids and I each spend time there just relaxing and reading. The pool was ok and the workout facility was more than adequate but just needed some air conditioning or even a fan. The rooms were excellent with great beds, pillows and decor. What made it even better was how accommodating the hotel was regarding pets. I always felt comfortable walking our dog in and around the property. Also, they have Starbucks, a very nice dining room for breakfast and best of all . . . the beach is just a few minutes away. Yes, you have to pay for parking but you would have to at the beach anyway. Very pleased for our few days there. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear familyguy3436,

We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, this past 4th of July weekend. It makes us happy to hear that you found our staff friendly, courteous and helpful and that all of your accommodations were to your liking. So happy your dog was able to join you,too! Our hotel offers many amenities and is a favorite because of our close proximity to the beach. Glad you were all able to enjoy you Marriott stay with us. We hope to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true California spirit of Ventura beach and the gracious hospitality and inviting accommodations of the Ventura Beach Marriott! Located an hour north of Los Angeles and 30 minutes south of Santa Barbara, the hotel provides an ideal location for your business, recreation and meeting needs in a quiet coastal setting. The hotel's 270 guestrooms and 15 suites feature Marriott's signature bedding and high-speed Internet access, making it easy for guests to relax and recharge. Enjoy fresh California cuisine in our restaurant, Pacific's Restaurant and Lounge and take advantage of ideal year-round weather to explore the sites, connect with nature or simply relax in our heated outdoor pool. 200 steps from the Pacific Oceana; bicycle rentals on property; room service, fitness center, business center, Home of Visions Gallery, a rotating exhibit of photographic works by Brooks Institute students and faculty. Steps to jogging trails. Whale Watching, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding nearby. 2 golf courses within 5 mile radius. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventura Beach Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.