We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ventura Beach Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ventura Beach Marriott to your Saves list
Ventura Beach Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Orange, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is okay. The location is good. Just 5 minutes to the beach. The beach is nice. The Harbor village is a five minutes drive.

The pool in the hotel is a bit small.

There is a starbucks in the hotel, so that is good. The room is of a nice size and the beds were very comfortable.

Overall a nice place to stay. It;s not that lavish like other Mariott.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear fnaanurag,

We are happy to know you had a nice stay with us recently. Glad to know that your comfortable room, the location and The Starbucks in the hotel all helped to make your stay with us more enjoyable. We hope you will come back to stay again with us some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    177
    94
    20
    16
See reviews for
109
116
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After a couple of years, i was surprised to return to the Marriott and find that it hasn't been updated. It's getting pretty tired. Rooms are still nice and big ;-) but as nearly everyone else notes, the charge to park and some of the other charges are a bit much. I notice that the management responds to every comment a little defensively - "Indeed we are competitive with other hotels in Ventura" -- the Crowne Plaza does NOT charge for parking, and even if it did, people aren't complaining that the Marriott is different than other hotels in this respect...they are just complaining that $13 to park is ridiculous when parking is not at a premium for hotel guests. Ventura is not exactly Santa Barbara and one wouldn't expect all kinds of premium charges, IMO.

The service and staff are very friendly, room service was quick and very good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear jhw516,

Thank you for posting your review of our property. We do our absolute best to maintain Marriott's high standards for service and hotel accommodations and we are glad you found everything to your liking. Our hotel fees, including the parking fees are consistent and competitive with other full-service hotels including the above mentioned property. We apologize if you did not feel you were receiving value for your money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed for two nights with my two teens for the Fourth of July weekend. The hotel was more than I anticipated for the Ventura area. The staff was friendly, courteous, and very helpful. The lobby was exceptionally bright and my kids and I each spend time there just relaxing and reading. The pool was ok and the workout facility was more than adequate but just needed some air conditioning or even a fan. The rooms were excellent with great beds, pillows and decor. What made it even better was how accommodating the hotel was regarding pets. I always felt comfortable walking our dog in and around the property. Also, they have Starbucks, a very nice dining room for breakfast and best of all . . . the beach is just a few minutes away. Yes, you have to pay for parking but you would have to at the beach anyway. Very pleased for our few days there. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear familyguy3436,

We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, this past 4th of July weekend. It makes us happy to hear that you found our staff friendly, courteous and helpful and that all of your accommodations were to your liking. So happy your dog was able to join you,too! Our hotel offers many amenities and is a favorite because of our close proximity to the beach. Glad you were all able to enjoy you Marriott stay with us. We hope to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Marriott offered something the rental house my friends were staying in didn't - air conditioning! The rooms were comfortable and similar to any other Marriott I've stayed in. The WiFi worked great, the hotel was very clean and it was within walking distance of the beach, stores and restaurants. The courtyard area was very nice and provided a nice place to sit, sip coffee and read the morning newspaper. I did not use the pool, but they do have one. The concierge lounge is open on weekdays, but not on weekends which was a downfall. I was happy, however, with my limited usage of the lounge on Thursday evening, Friday morning and Sunday evening. There is a restaurant in the hotel and it does serve Starbucks coffee :) Overall, a nice stay at an affordable rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the northwest / west side with a balcony so you can watch the sunset. It's al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Stullmuc,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your noting that your room was comfortable and that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities the hotel provides. Glad to know the air conditioning was a plus! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a couple of weekends ago while attending a wedding. The wedding was under the pier in Ventura and this hotel was very close by. I was pleased with the hotel location and with the room and the staff. It is a typical Marriott Property and I was pleased by my experience. However, my view was less than desireable, as I overlooked the parking lot. I had other family members staying a bit further away and they had incredible views of the ocean. I didn't have those views with this hotel. If you're staying in the area and wanting an ocean view I'd look for another property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kelly T,

We appreciate your review of our hotel and are glad that you found everything to your liking. Our staff works very hard to ensure guests feel welcome and we are glad our location was so convenient for you. We hope to welcome you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We came down for a brief visit to Ventura, and were very impressed by the quality of the hotel, and helpfulness of the staff. The internal courtyard has a beautiful waterfall and pond, which creates a great background noise rooms overlooking the courtyard. The staff were very friendly, and graciously accommodated our requests to have drinks outside by a firepit at night (even though they were busy with a wedding party), and breakfast at an outdoor table by the pond. Just a short walk from the beach, and a free trolley makes runs down to the Ventura harbor where we rented sea kayaks for an afternoon, and into town (great brewpubs!). Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard have a great view and best sound from the waterfall at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jim S,

We are so glad that your stay with us was so enjoyable. It makes us happy to hear you were impressed with the quality of the hotel and that our staff was helpful and took care of the special requests you had to add to your stay. Many love the location of the hotel and glad you were able to take the trolley to town to enjoy some of the sites. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went to the beach with family and spent one night at the Marriott. It looks so beautiful from the outside and the lobby I was so excited to stay here. Well it was not a very good stay. We happen to stay the same Saturday night as a lot of young kid ball players and their families. They took over the entire facility like they owned the place. We never even got to use the pool or hot tub. Other complaints, no free wifi, no fan in the bathroom,$13 a day parking, and one of the nosiest hotel I have ever stayed in. You could here a pin drop on the floor above us and in the hallway. My poor kiddos were so tired but had a very difficult time falling asleep because of all the noise. The one plus was the beds and pillows were comfy.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Melanie H,

We appreciate the time you took to share your opinions of our hotel. Clearly we did not live up to your expectations regarding Marriott's high standards for our hotels and for that we do apologize. We can completely understand and share your frustration about the noise level of other guests who do not choose to respect the fact that they are in close proximity to other individuals who may be trying to sleep or enjoy some quiet time. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues that you experienced and we are going to work hard to ensure that the ones within our control do get reviewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true California spirit of Ventura beach and the gracious hospitality and inviting accommodations of the Ventura Beach Marriott! Located an hour north of Los Angeles and 30 minutes south of Santa Barbara, the hotel provides an ideal location for your business, recreation and meeting needs in a quiet coastal setting. The hotel's 270 guestrooms and 15 suites feature Marriott's signature bedding and high-speed Internet access, making it easy for guests to relax and recharge. Enjoy fresh California cuisine in our restaurant, Pacific's Restaurant and Lounge and take advantage of ideal year-round weather to explore the sites, connect with nature or simply relax in our heated outdoor pool. 200 steps from the Pacific Oceana; bicycle rentals on property; room service, fitness center, business center, Home of Visions Gallery, a rotating exhibit of photographic works by Brooks Institute students and faculty. Steps to jogging trails. Whale Watching, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding nearby. 2 golf courses within 5 mile radius. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventura Beach Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.