We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but rooms a little tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ventura Beach Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ventura Beach Marriott to your Saves list
Ventura Beach Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
philadelphia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but rooms a little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The location worked out well for me as I was in town for business meetings. I am a loyal Marriott patron, but was a little disappointed with my stay here. The hotel looks as though there was a recent update to the lobby area, however the hotel still seems old. The rooms were a little worn out and would benefit from a make-over.

Didn't get a chance to hit the fitness center, but did go for along run around the area, which was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear creece007,

Thank you for your loyal Marriott patronage. We appreciate that you stayed at our hotel here in Ventura and that it was a convenient location for your business meetings. We apologize if our accommodations did not live up to your expectations for Marriott's high standards of hospitality. We do our best to maintain our facilities and try to ensure that our associates provide that added warmth and personalized service to turn a good stay into a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    196
    101
    21
    17
See reviews for
117
126
23
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The staff I found to be very fine, very helpful. The property is getting dated, but not
seedy. The room is adequate, but there was a ten dollar charge for wifi. There was no refrigerator in the room. Pleasant bar area. I was part of a group and the food was excellent, even for those with special dietary requirements.

Green Features: The hotel wastes precious California water in every room. The shower heads pour the water down, the toilets are not low flush, I estimate that the hotel uses twice as much water as necessary.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Dr. Sam Platts,


We appreciate that you took time from your busy schedule to post your review of our hotel. We are very glad that you found the food for your group acceptable -- even when it came to special dietary restrictions. Our associates work hard to ensure that special requests are always accommodated as much as possible. We hope to welcome you back again one day here in Ventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel-open and airy. The rooms are large, and the staff is wonderful. The restaurant serves great food, and there is a wonderful ambience to the entire property. Parking is extra. We were very close to where we were visiting, and the hotel is very near to the ocean and to restaurants. This is the second time that we have stayed there, and we will definitely look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear GEOHCleveland_OH,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. Every one of our associates appreciates it when guests like you take the time to recognize them for their efforts. We are happy to have you here as a loyal guest and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Well appointed hotel with great staff! Stayed for two nights and strolled from the hotel to the beach front. Enjoyed the ambience and close proximity to the beach, pier and downtown. Relaxing stay and a great start to our California holiday!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear pleasureseeker2235,

We are so glad that you found our hotel a great start to your California holiday. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and sharing your experiences with our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent four nights and five days at the Marriott for a professional meeting. Our room was clean and comfortable; free wi-fi, and a reduced self-parking fee (should be free for a large meeting such as ours!) were provided as part of the group rate. Our meals were buffet style so we did not eat in the restaurant. The food that was served was tasty and well prepared, although with five days of meals, things did begin to get a bit repetitious. It would have been nice to have a greater selection of breakfast items such as fresh pastries, cheese and fresh strawberries (grown just down the road!). From the hotel we took very enjoyable afternoon excursions including walks on the adjacent beach, whale watching from nearby Ventura Harbor, a visit to the Reagan Presidential Library, a wine-tasting tour and a walking tour of Ventura, including the mission and city hall. Location of the hotel adjacent to the entrance to Route 101 facilitated our daily trips. While not a luxury hotel, it was a very pleasant venue for a week-long meeting. We would come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear AlbanyProf,

We are glad that you found your week-long meeting here enjoyable. Ventura offers a great location for meetings and we are happy that you found our hotel to provide a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is just a slightly below average Marriott in a not great location. Rooms are stale and not very clean. The bathroom had hair tangled in the shower knob as well as old blood stains on the shower curtain. I would have changed if I wasn't so tired. I would not recommend this place.
Oh, and they put us in a room across from what appeared to be where they stored all the tools and started working around 6 am. I expected more with gold status.

Room Tip: Not 2408-- it's across from a workers closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mhanlin,

It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way and clearly we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We apologize for the housekeeping issues that you experienced and also for the fact that you were disturbed by the early morning activity outside of your room. We will be reviewing this incident with our team so that we can implement procedures and policies so that this does not happen in the future. We hold ourselves to high standards as well and are sorry that as a gold status loyalty member, we were not able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We only stayed one night but could have spent the weekend. The front desk was very accommodating to the 4-5 rooms in our party by placing us all near each other as requested. The lobby was very welcoming with areas to relax and socialize. The beach is amazingly close and shopping/nightlife a short drive. The only reason I knocked them was the dull attitude of some front desk employees and the room felt a little dated. The beds were extremely springy, which made it hard to sleep with another person. I can't comment on the pool area/restaurant since I did not experience them but I would definitely stay again.

Oh and the self parking charge was a little annoying but I understand so...whatever.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_H_GM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Jessica L,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you found the hotel and our staff accommodating. Our parking fees are indeed competitive with other hotels in the area which offer the same level of services, amenities, and accommodations. Additionally, we are the closest hotel in Ventura to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true California spirit of Ventura beach and the gracious hospitality and inviting accommodations of the Ventura Beach Marriott! Located an hour north of Los Angeles and 30 minutes south of Santa Barbara, the hotel provides an ideal location for your business, recreation and meeting needs in a quiet coastal setting. The hotel's 270 guestrooms and 15 suites feature Marriott's signature bedding and high-speed Internet access, making it easy for guests to relax and recharge. Enjoy fresh California cuisine in our restaurant, Pacific's Restaurant and Lounge and take advantage of ideal year-round weather to explore the sites, connect with nature or simply relax in our heated outdoor pool. 200 steps from the Pacific Oceana; bicycle rentals on property; room service, fitness center, business center, Home of Visions Gallery, a rotating exhibit of photographic works by Brooks Institute students and faculty. Steps to jogging trails. Whale Watching, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding nearby. 2 golf courses within 5 mile radius. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventura Beach Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.