We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ventura Beach Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ventura Beach Marriott to your Saves list
Ventura Beach Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Palmdale, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here on the day before Labor Day to start our late weekend, and were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel and room were! I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area, on business or pleasure!! The bar area is small, but very pleasant, actually attached to the restaurant area. Location is perfect! Staff is great!!!! My only wish is that the hot tub was a little bigger as with the pool, but the hotel is not that large either. But then again, you are at the beach and can enjoy that water too as we did for part of the day - lovely beach and people!

Room Tip: ask for a corner room - extra room for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Annette H,
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. Guests do love the fact that we are so close to the beach and our size enables us to provide a more intimate, boutique hotel feel for guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    180
    96
    21
    16
See reviews for
112
118
22
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I live locally and was having some work done on the house and needed to vacate for a night so I picked here. I have been to the restaurant a bunch of times and always had great service and really good food. I checked in and everything in the lobby was clean and smooth. Not much to say about the overall stay except clean room, comfortable bed and great staff. I even met one of the managers by the name of Shannon (very helpful and friendly). I would recommend this place to anyone thinking about coming into Ventura for a stay. I will say that if you have never been to Ventura you would end up right in the middle between Harbortown and Downtown and would need a car or taxi to get to either but the beach is basically a stones throw away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jedimasterkush,

We are thrilled that our hotel made the fact that you had to vacate your home all that much easier. Thank you for your kind words and we are glad that you felt welcomed by Shannon and the rest of our staff and that you enjoyed our restaurant. We hope that your construction work is completed and all went smoothly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is really unremarkable in its overall function. Decent beds, although no queen available, only double. The staff are friendly and responsive, but constrained by policies that are quite annoying. And everything is extra: parking, Wifi in the room, microwave, mini-fridge. If their base rate were lower than the competition this might be understandable - but it is not. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Martin M,

We are sorry that you didn't feel that you got good value but we must remind you that this is a full-service Marriott hotel and not a select service property. Since we are the closest property to the beach in Ventura, and we are a full-service hotel with room service, a restaurant and lounge, etc., things like WiFi and microwaves are not included as they would be at the more limited service hotels in the area which are suited for extended stays and offer these amenities as they do not have room service and restaurants. We never profess to include any of these items on our website so this information was all readily available to you in advance. We do hope that you enjoyed your time here in Ventura anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great hotel, great staff...not enough outlets on the desk to accommodate the necessary electronics...the mini fridge is plugged into one, leaving the other for laptop...had to unplug the frig to make coffee in the morning...AND the telephone on the desk is positioned in the upper right hand corner and you cannot move it to make a call...big problem...when you have the laptop open and running webex, trying to use the phone (which doesn't reach because of it's locked down location)...positives, concierge has great food, close to the beach, quiet...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Joseph H,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments about the power outlets and telephone as we are planning a renovation for next year and will be sure to take this into consideration regarding the redesign of our guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at this property for a weekend as we were attending a family wedding in the area and it was the arranged "wedding guest" hotel. The property is beautiful and serene and conveniently located to the beach and anything else you would want to do or see. The exemplary customer service started as we pulled up to the front of the hotel and continued, unabated, until we drove away to go home. EVERYONE was friendly and helpful. The service was prompt and decisive. Our room was great, very clean and the bed was ever so comfy. We ate breakfast at the hotel and the food was very good. We had one little issue, which I attribute to an unfortunate problem in communication between service areas. The housekeeping staff attempted to clean our room at 8am on a Saturday morning (even though we were staying until Sunday. I asked the employee to postpone straightening the room until after 1pm (when I knew we would be at the wedding). Later that morning I cut my foot on a shard of glass I picked up in the room carpet. Not having band-aids I went to the front desk. The front desk person was very sorry, provided me a band-aid and arranged to have our room thoroughly vacuumed. When we returned later that evening it was absolutely clear that no one had serviced our room - either to straighten and replace towels or to vacuum. Ah well, things happen.One interaction I must mention was that a week before our stay, I received an email from the concierge to verify my special room requests (ADA for Mom, no feathers for my husband). I returned her inquiry by phone, reached her immediately, and she went out of her way to give us the room preferences we request. It was clear upon checking that they requirements had absolutely been communicated to the front desk in advance and so checking was a dream. I must mention that I was traveling will my elderly mother who doesn't get around very well. All our service (valet and bell cap especially) were so patient and helpful. It really made our trip. The property is a little pricey - rooms,plus parking or valet, and all the tipping, but for this occasion (and future occasions like it) it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear DivineMsHay,

Thank you very much for your review and appreciation of our staff. We are so sorry about the cut and have once again reminded our housekeeping staff to be sure to vacuum every room carefully. Unfortunately things like shards of glass can get caught in carpet fibers and not be picked up by the vacuum no matter how many times it passes over. We appreciate your willingness to overlook the little hiccups you experienced and are very happy that you had a most enjoyable stay while you were in town for the wedding. We do hope you will come back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Marriott in Ventura was one of 5 hotels we stayed at during our Summer Calif Coast Vacation and we were very glad to have added this stop to our itinerary. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach and as with all Marriott's it was beautifully landscaped and decorated. We continue to be very satisfied considering it is a chain hotel rather than boutique yet holds very personalized qualities. A recommended stop indeed...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Califcoastlover,

Thank you so much for providing your review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you found it to be a great addition to your California coast summer vacation and are so happy that you shared your positive experience with other members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Marriott Ventura is a god hotel in Ventura
Good location to visit Channel Island NP.
Hotel does not have ocean view, but is well maintained, clean and rooms are spacious.
Service are polite and breakfast were included and well served.

Room Tip: All room are good, clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Carmo_Brasil,

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and thrilled that you had the opportunity to visit the Channel Islands! They are indeed a spectacular outing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true California spirit of Ventura beach and the gracious hospitality and inviting accommodations of the Ventura Beach Marriott! Located an hour north of Los Angeles and 30 minutes south of Santa Barbara, the hotel provides an ideal location for your business, recreation and meeting needs in a quiet coastal setting. The hotel's 270 guestrooms and 15 suites feature Marriott's signature bedding and high-speed Internet access, making it easy for guests to relax and recharge. Enjoy fresh California cuisine in our restaurant, Pacific's Restaurant and Lounge and take advantage of ideal year-round weather to explore the sites, connect with nature or simply relax in our heated outdoor pool. 200 steps from the Pacific Oceana; bicycle rentals on property; room service, fitness center, business center, Home of Visions Gallery, a rotating exhibit of photographic works by Brooks Institute students and faculty. Steps to jogging trails. Whale Watching, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding nearby. 2 golf courses within 5 mile radius. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventura Beach Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.