We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location by the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ventura Beach Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ventura Beach Marriott to your Saves list
Ventura Beach Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
far away
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed two nights on a weekend, and the hotel was filled with young soccer players. But my room on the top (4th) floor was fairly quiet, except for people in the hot tub who seemed to be having an extremely good time late into the night. The room was typical Marriott, and I liked that it had a refrigerator and microwave. The concierge lounge was closed, but as a Marriott elite customer, I was offered a choice of continental breakfast or points. This hotel is about 30 minutes from Santa Barbara and offers a less expensive alternative than staying in that expensive location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Nznorm

Thanks so much for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you were disturbed by hotel guests in the hot tub. Unfortunately, we are not able to control the behavior of other guests or the fact that they don't always respect the hour when other guests may be trying to sleep. We can always ask them to keep it down, but whether they comply is another matter. For that we do extend our sincerest apologies. As an Elite Customer we truly appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    214
    108
    26
    17
See reviews for
127
140
24
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I contacted this place after discovering that I had booked the wrong dates where we were staying in Ojai. The staff at this Marriot were wonderful on the phone and were able to accommodate us with not one but two adjoining rooms last minute. Nothing so special in that you say? Well this was July 4th weekend - I was pretty impressed. And relieved.
I found the rooms to be standard, clean, perfectly fine.
The only surprise was that there was no view of the ocean, but they are adjacent to a park that fronts onto the beach.
Overall, what I can say about this place that's notible - they have an amazing staff. The went out of their way every step of the way to save our California vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Bsch,

Thank you so much for the glowing reviews you posted about our staff. Our staff is what truly makes our hotel. We provide easy access to the best of Ventura and the Pacific coastline and that is what makes us unique. We are so happy that we were able to save your July 4th vacation for you! And thanks for spreading the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were in a very well appointed refurbished room on the 3rd floor. However, the electronic key did not work until the third reiteration and maintenance alerted. Linens, bed, bath were all top notch and service was good. There is a problem with a room that is not cheap piling internet charge, water charge, parking charge and no mimi-fridge in room etc etc. this does not add up to first class accommodations or welcome. Maybe it's the beach atmosphere. We ate in the restaurant and had a better than average meal but service was spotty with too few waitstaff for the size of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear topnotch_10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our resort. We do feel it is important to note that this hotel is a full-service Marriott property and, as is standard within our brand, there are additional charges for these amenities which many guests do not mind paying for. In fact, it is standard practice for most hotels at the same level within the area to charge additional for these services. We have taken note about your complaint regarding the waitstaff and will review it with our management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived hoping to enjoy a night on our own after visiting family. Instead we were hit with a series of upcharges: Parking $16, Internet $10, Coffee $12, Breakfast $40, Water In The Room extra $3.50/bottle. Pay-per-view movies $20 each. The list goes on.

Although the staff were friendly enough, we felt nickel and dimed to death. The restaurant looked nice, and normally we would have tried it out for a few drinks at least, but not here. We felt so frustrated at the constant upcharges we just walked over to In and Out Burger! The location while close to the ocean, doesn't have ocean views and we felt the whole place was way overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Starfish223,

We are sorry that you were frustrated with your stay at our hotel. We are a full-service Marriott property versus a select service hotel where things like breakfast and Internet are included. We do not claim that we include breakfast, movies, Internet, etc. at our property so we are sorry with regard to where your confusion has come from that all of these amenities would be included. As is evidenced by most other guests who have stayed with us, they DO indeed feel as if they get a good value for their dollar and appreciate all that our property has to offer. Once again, we are sorry for your disappointment and hope that you enjoyed your Ventura visit overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times for business now, nothing special, just practical, ok price and the room usually has a fridge so I can stack up what I need for after work. Across the street you find IN&OUT burgers, and they are just delicious. I never eat at the hotel, I do not have time for slow breakfasts, I rather have a walk in the sunrise on the beach or to the pier of Ventura just nearby. This hotel works out well for me, and it also has pool and jacuzzi, but if you are looking for a special hotel experience you may want something much better than this.

Room Tip: As if the room has a fridge, and if you get second floor you may get lucky and see the sea from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear travelingtheworld201,

Thank you for your review about our property. Every guest travels differently and we welcome and appreciate that you choose to use our hotel in the way that works best for you. Our great location offers business and leisure guests the opportunity to experience the Ventura area in many ways — including a sunrise walk along the beach as you so enjoy. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Room Was Fine Except For The Bloody Mattress. Parking Extra 16, Internet Extra 10, Coffee 12, Breakfast 40, Water In The Room 3.50 Each. There Was More But I've Got Better Things To Do. Stay At Another Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Necrogeo,

We apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. We do feel it is important to point out that this property is not an all-inclusive resort and as with any other standard Marriott hotel — or pretty much any branded hotel — you will be charged additionally for parking, Internet, breakfast, etc. It is quite clear on our website that none of this is included so we are not sure where the misunderstanding may have occurred in that you thought all of this was included. Our property is not a select service brand in which some of these limited services are included in the price. If there was any type of misunderstanding, we do apologize, but most guests are well aware of the costs when they stay at our hotel and feel that they get a good value for their dollar and an excellent guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was much better than my last visit! I wish I could have stayed an extra day but I had to drive down to LA for another meeting. The valet was great he asked what time I needed my car the next day. When I went down the next day 10 minutes early, my car was there!

When I arrived, check in was smooth! My Marriott elite status was recognized and I was upgraded to the club level. Stopped by the club lounge to get a drink and a snack. Non alcoholic drink selection was great, didn't see any alcohol, but I'm sure someone would have got me something if I asked. It was 30 minutes before the lounge closed as well.

The room was a usual Marriott... Same anywhere you go unless its been recently remodeled. Much cleaner than last time and I love the fact that I didn't need to leave the main building. Overall a great experience and I would return again. I really wish this were closer to the ocean. Really wished this were located where the Crown Plaza is located.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the club level. You may need to be a Marriott Rewards member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_GM_VBM, General Manager at Ventura Beach Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear SFTripReviewer,

We are so glad that you came back to give our hotel another try! And that this time we exceeded your expectations. Our staff always goes above and beyond to accommodate guests and you were able to experience that first-hand. We are happy that you will return to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 21 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
6.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach - Hotel & Resort
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Beach Marriott

Address: 2055 East Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true California spirit of Ventura beach and the gracious hospitality and inviting accommodations of the Ventura Beach Marriott! Located an hour north of Los Angeles and 30 minutes south of Santa Barbara, the hotel provides an ideal location for your business, recreation and meeting needs in a quiet coastal setting. The hotel's 270 guestrooms and 15 suites feature Marriott's signature bedding and high-speed Internet access, making it easy for guests to relax and recharge. Enjoy fresh California cuisine in our restaurant, Pacific's Restaurant and Lounge and take advantage of ideal year-round weather to explore the sites, connect with nature or simply relax in our heated outdoor pool. 200 steps from the Pacific Oceana; bicycle rentals on property; room service, fitness center, business center, Home of Visions Gallery, a rotating exhibit of photographic works by Brooks Institute students and faculty. Steps to jogging trails. Whale Watching, kayaking, mountain biking, horseback riding nearby. 2 golf courses within 5 mile radius. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ventura Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Beach Marriott Hotel Ventura
Marriott Ventura
Ventura Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventura Beach Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.