We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good straightforward selections and very nice, reasonable wine list” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoals Restaurant at The Cliff House Inn

Shoals Restaurant at The Cliff House Inn
6602 Old Pacific Coast Hwy, Ventura, CA 93001
8056840025
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 379 restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
las vegas, nv, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“very good straightforward selections and very nice, reasonable wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place is really good, and it's been around for over 20 years. They could charge more; they are RIGHT on the ocean and for the hotel guests, there are no other dining options that do not involve a car ride. Having said that, I noticed on both evening that we dined there, there were also locals at the resraurant. my husband and I ate there two evenings in a row and all four of the entrees we had were really good. If you are burned out on seafood, their ribeye is superb! Super friendly service. Casual atmosphere yet high quality food. We would definately return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    28
    12
    5
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very High Prices for very mediocre food----stay away!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had dinner at this now named "Island Grill" Saturday evening 7/30/11, with another couple who had joined us for good and reasonably priced dinners several times in the past few years. What a huge disappointment for all four of us! It is not the same restaurant in any way. There are many fewer entrees and they are all in the high $20's to the mid $30's price range---and there is now nothing at all to distinguish the presentation and uninspired taste of the food at such high priceDuring the summer season the Cliff House Inn attracts a lot of tourists and it seems like management feels like they can soak these probable one time visitors and get away with it. But as locals---we will never go there again!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Views and food always a treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

When the fog clears and I’m in the mood for incredible seafood, I head to the Shoals restaurant at the Cliffhouse. If it’s low tide you can peruse Mussel Shoals for crabs, sea stars and anemones. A view table on the patio will give you the opportunity to see surfing dolphins, or at the least, surfers. The best mussels appetizers are served for lunch or dinner. Ask for extra fresh bread to soak up the amazing sauce. I've eaten here numerous times and ordered several different entrees and I have never been disappointed. They also have a nice wine selection. Don’t miss out on their banana reef for dessert.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great food in a magical setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The Shoals is one of those hidden gems that I love to go to again and again. Located at the Cliff House Hotel, it is one of the best spots to have an ocean side lunch or dinner in Ventura County. The food is fresh and wonderfully prepared. The wait staff is friendly and knows the menu- don't be afraid to ask for suggestions. The wine list is small but interesting. Lunch on a sunny day is best at the outside tables. Heaters over the outside tables let you enjoy a surf-side dinner in comfort even on chilly nights, or you can relax in the dining room- either way the sound of the surf will be a dinner companion!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch on a sunny day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I finally stopped at the Shoals today at 2 pm and had a very pleasant late lunch.

Just a Caesar salad with shrimp and a Coke for $19 with tip. The salad was very good and maybe with about 4 more shrimp it would have been perfect, but it was topped with fresh cheese, nicely grilled shrimp and toast with tomatoes and cheese on top.
I enjoyed the view of the big waves from my table. There was not a crowd, and everyone was eating outdoors.

There was some work being done on the tile around the pool, but they weren't loud or distracting. There was water in the pool but it need to be cleaned. Once they are finished it should be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoals Restaurant at The Cliff House Inn also viewed

 

Been to Shoals Restaurant at The Cliff House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoals Restaurant at The Cliff House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.